BN.com Gift Guide

Change Your Age: Using Your Body and Brain to Feel Younger, Stronger, and More Fit

Overview

In the tradition of Thomas Hanna’s Somatics and Pete Egoscue’s Pain Free, Frank Wildman’s Change Your Age offers a proven program for improving health, vitality, and fitness at any age. By integrating the body and mind to achieve greater coordination, agility, balance, and performance, you can improve every aspect of your life, from everyday to high-performance activities. No matter your age or condition, Change Your Age will add years of easy mobility to your life, and promises that you can stay fit, healthy, ...

See more details below
Paperback
$13.68
BN.com price
(Save 27%)$18.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (21) from $3.99   
  • New (12) from $9.55   
  • Used (9) from $3.99   
Change Your Age: Using Your Body and Brain to Feel Younger, Stronger, and More Fit

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 44%)$18.95 List Price

Overview

In the tradition of Thomas Hanna’s Somatics and Pete Egoscue’s Pain Free, Frank Wildman’s Change Your Age offers a proven program for improving health, vitality, and fitness at any age. By integrating the body and mind to achieve greater coordination, agility, balance, and performance, you can improve every aspect of your life, from everyday to high-performance activities. No matter your age or condition, Change Your Age will add years of easy mobility to your life, and promises that you can stay fit, healthy, toned, and active throughout midlife and beyond, without injury or pain.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Infodad.com, 4/15/10
Change Your Age will not, of course, alter your chronological standing, but it can help you develop habits that, if they will not make you become younger, can make you feel younger than the calendar says you are—and that, after all, is one thing that people most value as time goes on.”

June 2010
New York Book Festival winner in the "how-to" category

Curled Up with a Good Book, 5/26/10
Change Your Age is a gift that keeps on giving. The structure of the book is as thoughtfully designed as the method itself, and the instructions are simple enough for even a foggy-brained Boomer to follow. Now that we’ve outgrown the frantic and manic fitness fads of our middle years, Change Your Age is just the thing to keep us grooving smoothly for the rest of our lives.”

Sacramento Book Review, June 2010
“[Wildman’s] patient, nurturing tone makes it easy to follow, exploring the possibility of feeling and moving as though one is years younger…Recommended for people approaching middle age.”

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780738213637
  • Publisher: Da Capo Press
  • Publication date: 3/30/2010
  • Pages: 240
  • Sales rank: 1,401,426
  • Product dimensions: 6.90 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.70 (d)

Meet the Author

Frank Wildman, PhD, is founder and director of the Feldenkrais Movement Institute and past President of the Feldenkrais Guild of North America. He is based in Berkeley, California.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Foreword: Aging Isn't What It Used To Be—But It's Not Yet What It Could Be Ken Dychtwald xi

Introduction: You Really Can Change Your Age xv

1 How to Assess Your Current Exercise Program: Is Your Current Exercise Routine Helping or Harming You? 1

2 A State of the Body Report: How Is Your Body Today? How Do You Want Your Body to Be Tomorrow? 19

3 The Change Your Age Program: The Everyday Ultimate Body-Brain Conditioning Program—30 Basic Exercises 37

4 Your Body, Your Time: Customizing the Program to Fit Your Individual Needs 151

5 Using the Program in Your Everyday Life: How to Transform Your Habits to Avoid Pain and Injury 165

6 Change Your Age for Life 193

About the Author 201

Acknowledgments 203

Notes 205

Index 207

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)