Chaosbound (Runelords Series #8)
  • Alternative view 1 of Chaosbound (Runelords Series #8)
  • Alternative view 2 of Chaosbound (Runelords Series #8)

Chaosbound (Runelords Series #8)

4.4 31
by David Farland
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Borenson is set on a quest to save the devastated world from certain destruction. But the land has been altered forever: in the change, Borenson has merged with a mighty and monstrous creature from the other world, Aaath Ulber, and he begins to be a different person, a berserker warrior, as well as having a huge new body. Thousands have died, lands have sunk

…  See more details below

Overview

Borenson is set on a quest to save the devastated world from certain destruction. But the land has been altered forever: in the change, Borenson has merged with a mighty and monstrous creature from the other world, Aaath Ulber, and he begins to be a different person, a berserker warrior, as well as having a huge new body. Thousands have died, lands have sunk below the sea and elsewhere risen from it. And the supernatural rulers of the worlds are part of a universal evil, yet play a byzantine game of dark power politics among themselves. And Aaath Ulber is now the most significant pawn in that game.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“Stark, dark, and elegiac. . . . Farland ponders the fuzzy line between honor and obsession in a world where compassion comes with a high price. . . . Complex machinations soaked in mud and blood.” —Publishers Weekly on Chaosbound

“David Farland has written a series that rivals the best of Terry Brooks, Terry Goodkind and Orson Scott Card.” —SF Revu on Worldbinder

“The suspense is real, the action is nonstop, and the characterizations continue to convince. . . . [this is] a series that has put Farland on high-fantasy readers' maps.” —Booklist on The Lair of Bones

“Fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind will enjoy Farland's Runelords.” —Romantic Times Book Reviews on The Lair of Bones

“The author's imaginative approach to magic, coupled with a richly detailed fantasy world and a cast of memorable heroes and villains, adds depth and variety to this epic tale of war and valor.” —Library Journal on Wizardborn

“Sure, Brotherhood has incredible edge-of-your-seat, nail-biting battle scenes--the finale being an exceptional example--but Gaborn’s struggle to make a decision, and then facing the consequences, is equally thrilling.” —Starlog on The Brotherhood of the Wolf

“When I reached the end of this first volume, The Runelords, and saw grace arise from a devastating battlefield where too many great hearts lay dead, Farland had earned the tears that came to my eyes. It was not sentiment but epiphany.” —Orson Scott Card, author of Ender in Exile

“Farland has created a vivid, detailed, different world that becomes perfectly believable.” —David Drake, author of The Legions of Fire

“David Farland's Runelords books are among the best fantasies on the market today. Great characters, a fascinating concept, and some really nasty monsters make each novel a pleasure to read.” —Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of The Winds of Dune

Publishers Weekly
The stark, dark and elegiac eighth installment of Farland's Runelords fantasy saga (after 2008's The Wyrmling Horde) centers on heroes Borenson and Myrrima, fresh from a gallant fight against unspeakably evil world dominators. Flameweaver Fallion, trying to unite the shattered One World, binds Borenson with Aaath Ulber, a giant horned berserker warrior. As their worlds and personalities merge, Borenson loses his human identity and family, but acquires a superhuman mission: to help Fallion bind all the worlds, uniting humans and defeating the wyrmlings forever. In this somber celebration of brutality, Farland ponders the fuzzy line between honor and obsession in a world where compassion comes with a high price. As the series grows in complexity, its appeal narrows, mostly drawing readers who like philosophy and complex machinations soaked in mud and blood. (Oct.)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780765361400
Publisher:
Tom Doherty Associates
Publication date:
12/28/2010
Series:
Runelords Series, #8
Pages:
432
Sales rank:
298,631
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.20(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

David Farland is the author of the bestselling Runelords series, including The Wyrmling Horde and Worldbinder. He also writes science-fiction as David Wolverton. He won the 1987 Writers of the Future contest, and has been nominated for a Nebula Award and a Hugo Award. Farland also works as a video game designer, and has taught writing seminars around the U.S. and Canada. He lives in Saint George, Utah.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Chaosbound 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
ReadaBill More than 1 year ago
The Runelords series is very engrossing, and a recommended read. The early books in the series are better than the newer ones. With the additional of alternate worlds, the author has created an inexhaustable number of stories and characters, but lost many readers interest by making the stories too complex. The real issue is the author himself ... this series is taking forever to write. It's been almost 2 years since the last book. I wouldn't have started the series if I had known it wasn't complete. My advice -- if you think you will live long enough -- wait for all of the books befoe starting this series. Once you start, you won't want to stop, and waiting 2 years for a sequel is ridiculous.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Flameweaver Fallion Orden continues his struggle to consolidate the splintered One World before it is too late following recent harrowing fights by his allies to rescue him from Lord Despair (see The Wyrmling Horde). Two of his supporters, warriors Borenson and Myrrima have no time for respite though they could use some. Fallion has used some magic in a desperate ploy for a super warrior on a critical quest; he consolidates into one warrior Borenson with berserker Aaath Ulber, a horned giant from the other side. However that amalgam proves to be a two edged blade. While Myrrima observes in horror and angry helpless understanding, Borenson increasingly loses much of his human essence with each passing moment while undergoing mission impossible to be Fallion's prime tool to unite humans against the wyrmlings. The Eighth Book of the Runelords is a profound fantasy that explores deep complex philosophical themes of what is a human, when does honor and patriotism turn myopic, and finally when does the sacrifice of another go too far. To fully grasp the complexities of the Farland universe, it is imperative to read the previous three books (see SONS OF THE OAK) that make up the second saga as each leads to the next. Not for everyone, though there is plenty of action as expected when a berserker runs wild, CHAOSBOUND is still a deep reflective tale with timely applications our world. Harriet Klausner
dieseldog333 More than 1 year ago
My husband doesn't read much but he read this series with me and we both loved it. Read them all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The series has made for great reading.  I finished Book 8 today and was a bit let down at the finish.  This cant be how the series ends .. does anyone know what to expect from here? Title to the next book if there is one? 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago