×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Charming Quirks of Others
     

The Charming Quirks of Others

3.3 34
by Alexander McCall Smith, Davina Porter (Narrated by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this latest, felicitous addition to the Isabel Dalhousie series, our inquisitive heroine comes to see that there are very few of us who are not flawed . . . herself included.
 
A couple who are old friends of Isabel’s ask for her help in a rather tricky situation: A successor is being sought for the headmaster position at

Overview

In this latest, felicitous addition to the Isabel Dalhousie series, our inquisitive heroine comes to see that there are very few of us who are not flawed . . . herself included.
 
A couple who are old friends of Isabel’s ask for her help in a rather tricky situation: A successor is being sought for the headmaster position at their alma mater. The board has four final candidates but has received an anonymous letter alleging that one of them has a very serious skeleton in the closet. Could Isabel discreetly look into it? And so she does. What she discovers about all the candidates is surprising, but what she discovers in herself turns out to be equally revealing—and she finds that she has also unwittingly upset Jamie, the father of her young son.
 
Isabel’s investigation will have her exploring issues of charity, forgiveness, and humility as she moves nearer and nearer to some of the most hidden precincts of the heart.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal - Library Journal
In McCall Smith's (www.mccallsmith.com) seventh Isabel Dalhousie mystery—following The Lost Art of Gratitude (2009), also available from Recorded Books—the Scottish philosophy scholar investigates three candidates for a school administrator's position while continuing her work as a journal editrix, as Charlie the toddler's mom, and as fiancée to younger beau Jaime. McCall Smith does an admirable job of keeping the story lines distinct from one another, merging them when appropriate. A subtle, well-written, and often humorous story that will please fans of both the author and this series. Fans of Agatha Christie, Ruth Rendell, and M.C. Beaton, too, may find it worth investigating. British actress/Audie Award-winning series narrator Davina Porter breathes life into Isabel and the various other Scottish characters. ["Pure comfort reading," read the largely positive review of the Pantheon hc, LJ Xpress Reviews, 9/10/10.—Ed.]—Nicole A. Cooke, Montclair State Univ. Lib., NJ

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781449845995
Publisher:
Recorded Books, LLC
Publication date:
10/15/2010
Series:
The Isabel Dalhousie Sunday Philosophy Club Series

Meet the Author

ALEXANDER MCCALL SMITH is also the author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, the Portuguese Irregular Verbs series, and the 44 Scotland Street series. He lives in Scotland. Visit his Web site at www. alexandermccallsmith.com.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Edinburgh, Scotland
Date of Birth:
August 24, 1948
Place of Birth:
Zimbabwe
Website:
http://www.randomhouse.com/features/mccallsmith/index.html

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Charming Quirks of Others 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Snoflinga More than 1 year ago
I was originally turned on to the Isabel Dalhousie series after falling in love with Precious Ramotswe. To my delight, I found Isabel to be just as loveable and meaningful a character to me as Precious. I have eagerly awaited eery book out in the series and this was no exception. Smith comes through again in installment #7 with his instantly recognizeable prose. Many of the conflicts in this novel are the same ones faced over and over by Isabel and friends before: Isabel finds herself drawn into helping people in the community solve problems by doing a little detective work, almost against her better judgement. Isabel struggles with her own insecurties about her relationship with Jamie, despite his obvious affection for her and Charlie. Cat struggles to find a semi-respectable, stable boyfriend. Jamie struggles to do the right thing as always. Isabel comes up, again, against Lettuce and Dove and has to decide the morally correct way to handle herself with them. So the themes are quite familiar in this work, even if the problems themselves have new details. As is often the case for me with Smith's mysteries, I was taken completely by surprise by the solution to the problem Isabel is working on, which leaves one with a pleasant feeling of completion at the end. Essentially this novel will be no surprise to readers of the other 6 issues in the series. However, that doesn't in any way make it disposable; it is quite a good read and spending a day immersed in it is delightful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MermaidApples More than 1 year ago
Under the guise of "charm", Alexander McCall Smith once again teaches us a profound lesson on the nature of love and the human condition.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JessLucy More than 1 year ago
I love this series because the books are fun and well-written. Very interesting to read a series that takes place in Scottland (or Bostwana!) I enjoy reading about Isabel's moral dilemnas as well as her forays into detection among her friends and neighbors. At times sad and at others quite amusing, this series of books is always highly entertaining!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago