×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cheer Up, Mouse!
     

Cheer Up, Mouse!

by Jed Henry
 

Mouse feels lower than low. His forest friends, including Badger, Hedgehog, Rabbit, and Mole all knock themselves out trying to cheer up the little guy, to no avail. In the end, all Mouse really needs is a hug! Jed Henry’s wonderful illustrations, in watercolor pastels and colored pencils, beautifully complement the spare text. Readers will love seeing all

Overview

Mouse feels lower than low. His forest friends, including Badger, Hedgehog, Rabbit, and Mole all knock themselves out trying to cheer up the little guy, to no avail. In the end, all Mouse really needs is a hug! Jed Henry’s wonderful illustrations, in watercolor pastels and colored pencils, beautifully complement the spare text. Readers will love seeing all the exuberant animal antics in trees, ponds, and even underground tunnels as they try to distract their gloomy friend. A charming antidote for the blues.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
It can be a little dangerous to be depressed in Mouse’s neck of the woods. When his merrymaking animal friends realize that he’s sad, they assume that something akin to extreme sports is in order. They throw him in the deep end (“Splash and paddle, wash and wade—Cheer up, Mouse!”), toss him in the air (“Leap and lope, hop and jump—Cheer up, Mouse!”), and, believing “Hearty grub is what he needs,” offer to stuff him full of, well, grubs. But Chipmunk, who’s been on the sidelines, realizes what Mouse really needs: a simple but heartfelt hug. Henry (I Speak Dinosaur!) creates a lush but smartly distilled woodland setting and expertly choreographs a large cast, which includes gloriously hued bluebirds, a handsomely striped frog with big yellow eyes, and a soft furry mole. The emotional pitch is just right: Mouse never looks mad or scared at his friends’ antics, which are clearly meant with the best of intentions. When that hug comes—an action that Henry beautifully unfolds over three spreads—it’s a great moment in the history of empathy. Ages 4–8. Agent: Shannon Associates. (Jan.)
From the Publisher

"The emotional pitch is just right."
Publishers Weekly

"The 'Cheer Up, Mouse!' refrain and winsome illustrations carry the day."
Horn Book

"Simple and satisfying."
Kirkus

"A solid story about friendship that is sure to cheer readers."
School Library Journal

"Youngsters will enjoy the simple phrases and delightful illustrations . . . Perfect for fans of Dori Chaconas' One Little Mouse."
Booklist

"This might be fun to partner with Alborough's Hug and/or Schmid's Hugs from Pearl for a squeeze-filled storytime."
Bulletin

Children's Literature - Lisa Colozza Cocca
When Mouse is feeling low, all of his friends in the forest want to cheer him up. Each of the well-meaning creatures tries cheering Mouse up with activities they themselves enjoy. Bird takes Mouse flying, Frog takes him swimming, and Bear finds some grubs for them to eat. Mouse does not enjoy the flying, flipping, splashing, and hopping his friends like to do. Many of the activities downright scare him. In the end, Chipmunk knows exactly what his friend needs—a hug. He gives him one and all is well in the forest again. This delightful story is illustrated with a mix of pastels, watercolors, colored pencils, and digital paintings. This title will make a great addition to a collection of books on friendship. It will be enjoyed independently and as part of a story hour. In the classroom, the series of events in the book would support a lesson on making predictions. Reviewer: Lisa Colozza Cocca
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 1—Henry introduces a sad Mouse and his concerned friends. Determined to make him smile, the other woodland animals are sure that their special skills are just what the little creature needs to be happy. A black bird takes Mouse on a flight. A frog is sure that "dizzy heights are for the birds./I can wash those tears away./Splash and paddle, wash and wade-Cheer up, Mouse!" as he takes him for a swim in the pond. The pattern continues as each creature, including a rabbit and a squirrel, tries to improve Mouse's mood, to no avail. The animals have concerned or smiling expressions yet they are realistic and recognizable in the illustrations that were created digitally and with colored pencils, watercolors, and pastels. The simple sentences relate how each animal plays with Mouse, and readers will repeat the refrain. The satisfying resolution comes in several wordless spreads as the chipmunk realizes what Mouse needed all along-a hug. A solid story about friendship that is sure to cheer readers.—Kristine M. Casper, Huntington Public Library, NY
Kirkus Reviews
Who doesn't love a parade? In this book, the parade starts on the copyright page. A badger juggles ripe plums. Birds toss flower petals into the crowd. A squirrel plays a fiddle made out of a walnut shell. Sitting in the middle is the saddest mouse in the world, staring at his feet. He won't cheer up even when his friends bounce him through the air on a blanket. He's not a parade sort of mouse. He spends several pages of the book just looking wordlessly down at the ground. (The story is a better study of depression than some textbooks.) The narrative sometimes shifts suddenly from pages filled with dialogue to pages with no words at all. The contrast is sometimes shocking, but the book teaches readers as they turn the pages. Each animal has an elaborate cure for sadness, and their expressions alone tell the story every time they try a new scheme. The message of the book is a little slight: Sometimes a mouse just needs a hug. But every squirrel, mole and badger on every page feels genuinely alive. And it's true: Sometimes a mouse does just need a hug. Simple and satisfying. (Picture book. 4-8)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780547681078
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
01/15/2013
Pages:
32
Sales rank:
593,183
Product dimensions:
9.10(w) x 9.30(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range:
4 - 7 Years

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher
"The emotional pitch is just right."
Publishers Weekly

"The 'Cheer Up, Mouse!' refrain and winsome illustrations carry the day."
Horn Book

"Simple and satisfying."
Kirkus

"A solid story about friendship that is sure to cheer readers."
School Library Journal

Meet the Author

Jed Henry has always had an affinity for animals. As a child, he preferred zoos to museums, and Shark Week was more fun than Christmas. Now that he’s mostly grown up, Jed still loves animals. His favorite critters are his two little girls, who are about as wild as they come.      Jed Henry has published with many publishers including Harper Collins, Simon and Schuster, and Penguin. He illustrated the NYT Bestselling Can't Wait Till Christmas, written by Mike Huckabee, published in October 2010. In February 2011, he published Pick a Pup by Marsha Wilson Chall with Margaret K. McElderry Books. Jed lives by the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, in Provo, Utah. This is his first book with Houghton Mifflin. Visit Jed Henry's blog at http://jedart.blogspot.com and while your on the web, visit his official website, too, at www.jedhenry.com.  

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews