Chicago's Headmistress [NOOK Book]

Overview

Chicago’s Headmistress was recently named a finalist in the "Soon to be Famous Illinois Author Project."

Step back in time to Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring Twenties. Follow Giulietta Bracca's notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Chicago's most popular and innovative men's club in the 1920s. Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of ...
See more details below
Chicago's Headmistress

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price

Overview

Chicago’s Headmistress was recently named a finalist in the "Soon to be Famous Illinois Author Project."

Step back in time to Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring Twenties. Follow Giulietta Bracca's notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Chicago's most popular and innovative men's club in the 1920s. Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of one-upmanship with men who use her, abuse her, and fall head-over-heels in love with her. This quick-study seductress soon learns to give as good as she gets, and with few regrets—those so devastating they will haunt her into eternity. But there is one man Giulietta will never forget: the immigrant bootlegger she gave up too soon and will stop at nothing to lure him back, even if it means jeopardizing all she holds dear.

A prequel and partial parallel to Giacoletto’s Italian/American saga, The Family Angel, Chicago’s Headmistress can also stand alone. Every story has more than one side and within a generational saga many stories link and overlap. And as in real life, their endings rarely dissolve into happily ever after. Chicago’s Headmistress is told from the perspective of two of The Family Angel's most intriguing characters. In the words of one of them, Ugo Sapone: "Never did I think I'd find myself involved in forward-thinking education. Never did I think I'd find myself involved in an illegal activity that has given so many people such joy. Yet, here I am, right hand man to Giulietta Bracca."

A must-read for fans of The Family Angel, Family Deceptions, The Godfather, and HBO's Boardwalk Empire.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Goodreads - Catherine Lea
I picked this book up looking for something a little different, and after reading the first few pages, I had to check that it was indeed fiction. Giacoletto writes with such authority that as you follow the characters from the sordid and filthy streets of Genoa, Italy, then on to New York and finally to Chicago, you'd swear this is heavily researched non-fiction - or that the author was there. A marvellous read, I thoroughly recommend it.
Goodreads - Daniel Smith
Ms. Giacoletto with an economy of words and highly visual imagery, drives a fast pace literary look into the life of a young Italian girl, daughter of a prostitute, running from a murder. The story follows a frightened US immigrant’s evolution from a crafty lady-of-the-night to the headmaster of her own brothel.

The story of Chicago’s seedy underside in the 1920s has been told many times. All of which come from the perspective of the male-dominated mob world.
Amazon.com - Susan Estes
Wonderful story of how a woman during difficult times can survive even the harshest of situations. The author's style made it flow and easy to read. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Amazon.com - Bonnie Turner
How wonderful it was to get back into Ms. Giacoletto's *voice* in her recent historical novel, Chicago's Headmistress. Having read all of this author's books, I've found each new story better than the last. Ms. Giacoletto has a unique command of both the English and the Italian languages, adding many fine details to bring her characters and settings to life. I highly recommend this book, as well as Ms. Giacoletto's other family sagas.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940015784046
  • Publisher: Marelwood Publishing
  • Publication date: 11/25/2012
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 216
  • Sales rank: 14,758
  • File size: 288 KB

Meet the Author

Loretta Giacoletto divides her time between the St. Louis Metropolitan area and Missouri's Lake of the Ozarks where she concentrates on writing fiction, essays, and her blog Loretta on Life while her husband cruises the waters for bass and crappie. Their five children have left the once chaotic nest but occasionally return for her to-die-for ravioli and roasted peppers topped with garlic-laden bagna càuda. An avid traveler, she has visited numerous countries in Europe and Asia but Italy remains her favorite, especially the area from where her family originates: the Piedmont region near the Italian alps.

Loretta's novels are filled with bawdy characters caught up in problems they must suffer the consequences for having created. In LETHAL PLAY a grieving widow is suspected of killing her son's coach, a man with more enemies than friends. FAMILY DECEPTIONS follows two generations of earthy characters who learn to thrive and/or survive through a series of misdeeds, the worst against those they love the most. FREE DANNER features a cynical young man whose troubled past and deadly encounters hinder his search for the father he has yet to meet. THE FAMILY ANGEL is an Italian/American saga about the Americanization of an immigrant family of bootleggers, coalminers, winemakers and priests, and a mysterious black angel who enjoys sticking his nose in the family business. CHICAGO'S HEADMISTRESS, a prequel and partial parallel to THE FAMILY ANGEL, follows a 1905 Italian street urchin's notorious rise to wealth and power as the headmistress of Night School, Prohibition Chicago's most popular and innovative men's club in the 1920s. Loretta is also the author of A COLLECTION OF GIVERS AND TAKERS, an anthology of twisted stories about the good, the bad, the self-centered and the disillusioned

In addition to the horror anthologies, Damned in Dixie and Hell in the Heartland, Loretta's short stories have appeared in a number of publications including The MacGuffin, Futures Mystery Anthology Magazine, The Scruffy Dog Review, Allegory and Literary Mama, which nominated her story "Tom" for Dzanc's 2010 Best of The Web.

An associate editor for Allegory ezine, Loretta is also a member of Backspace Writers.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    You can Skip this One

    I didn't care for this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    I think this story gives a picture of the "gritty" tim

    I think this story gives a picture of the "gritty" times many immigrants suffered coming to the "promise land"
    of America. It was entertaining reading, even though I didn't care for the ending. I have to give Giulietta
    credit for her bravery and smarts under terrible conditions. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)