Chicken Socks: And Other Contagious Poems

Overview


Here's a book with a sure-fire guarantee for laughter. Chicken Socks And Other Contagious Poems by Brod Bagert takes a whimsical look at the world around us--from little caterpillars to the big night sky. Brod Bagert's poems will set children laughing--and thinking about things like they've never done before.

A collection of humorous poems about school, behavior, learning to ride a bike, and more.

...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (8) from $1.99   
  • New (2) from $18.50   
  • Used (6) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$18.50
Seller since 2009

Feedback rating:

(105)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
PAPERBACK New 156397861X Special order direct from the distributor.

Ships from: Victoria, Canada

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$59.55
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(217)

Condition: New

Ships from: Chicago, IL

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview


Here's a book with a sure-fire guarantee for laughter. Chicken Socks And Other Contagious Poems by Brod Bagert takes a whimsical look at the world around us--from little caterpillars to the big night sky. Brod Bagert's poems will set children laughing--and thinking about things like they've never done before.

A collection of humorous poems about school, behavior, learning to ride a bike, and more.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Jan Lieberman
Brod Bagert has the zeal of a preacher and the passion of an orator when he demonstrates how children should perform poetry. His humorous poems for children's voices are the ideal vehicle to help children interpret poetry. They are short, funny, often outrageous and easy to learn. His other books include Let Me Be...The Boss, Elephant Games and his latest The Gooch Machine. Adults can profit from Bagert's philosophy: Smile! Be enthusiastic! Have Fun!
School Library Journal
Gr 2-5-A collection of 22 poems, some of which are nonsense verse while others feature activities typical of many youngsters learning to ride a bike, summer vacation boredom, dyeing Easter eggs, etc.. While simple and infectious in tone, some of the rhymes are forced, some mix singular and plural forms, and others have uneven rhythmic qualities. Bagert also relies on informal language, such as ``cuz'' and ``real,'' that seems to be used to keep the beat rather than to reflect the language of a child. Bright watercolor and colored-pencil illustrations accentuate the lighthearted, sassy tone of most of the poems. All of the children are depicted with large eyes, apple cheeks, droopy socks, and chagrined expressions. While not an essential purchase, this book will appeal to fans of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky's verse.-Barbara Chatton, College of Education, University of Wyoming, Laramie
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781563978616
  • Publisher: Highlights Press
  • Publication date: 2/28/2000
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 7 - 9 Years
  • Product dimensions: 7.98 (w) x 10.01 (h) x 0.16 (d)

Meet the Author

Brod Bagert is the author of the popular Let Me Be the Boss. He lives in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Tim Ellis has provided illustrations for Highlights for Children, Humpty Dumpty, and many other children's magazines. He lives with his wife and their daughter in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)