Chief Rhino to the Rescue!

Overview

Chief Rhino is the bravest person in Whoops-a-Daisy World, so when he sees the flicker of flames in a window, he knows he must race to the rescue. If anyone can save the day, Chief Rhino can!

In this new adventure from Whoops-a-Daisy World, children can spot their old friends from Doctor Meow’s Big Emergency in the background and make new friends, too.

Sam Lloyd’s humorous, brightly colored art is thoroughly ...

See more details below
Available in stores.

Pick Up In Store Near You

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Note: This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but may have slight markings from the publisher and/or stickers showing their discounted price. More about bargain books
Sending request ...

Overview

Chief Rhino is the bravest person in Whoops-a-Daisy World, so when he sees the flicker of flames in a window, he knows he must race to the rescue. If anyone can save the day, Chief Rhino can!

In this new adventure from Whoops-a-Daisy World, children can spot their old friends from Doctor Meow’s Big Emergency in the background and make new friends, too.

Sam Lloyd’s humorous, brightly colored art is thoroughly kid-friendly and will appeal to fans of Curious George and Richard Scarry’s Busytown books.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 1—Spotting what looks to be a fire at Number One House Row, brave Chief Rhino is determined to save the day. The crew—a moose, giraffe, zebra, and lion—quickly suits up, dashes to the house in their fire engine, and deploys a ladder. Chief Rhino climbs up to Great-Granny Wrinkle's second-floor home with his hose ready—and blasts the 100 candles on her birthday cake with water. There are no hard feelings, since they all share soggy cake and Great Granny knits a horn-warmer for our hero. Lloyd deftly uses puns ("What the blazes?" or "Great balls of fire!") to keep adults amused. The flat-styled cartoons, energized in reds, yellows, and blues, alternate between large elements and highly detailed views, keeping readers fully engaged. The town portraits are gems: Mama Rabbit pushes a six-kit stroller, two pigs ride a scooter and sidecar, and several critters take a dip at the town pool. Chief Rhino's slightly off-kilter eyes and Giraffe's gangly grace make for comic scenes. A fun rescue romp.—Gay Lynn Van Vleck, Henrico County Library, Glen Allen, VA
From the Publisher
“Filled with amusing details, the lively retro-styled cartoon illustrations, in bright colors from a limited palette, add lots of zip. Children will enjoy this return visit to the town introduced in Doctor Meow’s Big Emergency (2008).”—Booklist

“A fun rescue romp.”School Library Journal

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780594260691
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
  • Publication date: 10/5/2011
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 3 - 6 Years
  • Product dimensions: 10.00 (w) x 10.90 (h) x 0.60 (d)

Meet the Author

SAM LLOYD is the author of anotherWhoops-a-DaisyWorld adventure, Doctor Meow’s Big Emergency, and Mr. Pusskins, which was a New York Times bestseller. She also works on art projects with children at a school near her home in England and paints large murals.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Cute book

    This is a decent sequel but not as good as Dr. Meow's Big Emergency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)