×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Children of the Star
     

Children of the Star

5.0 3
by Sylvia Engdahl
 

See All Formats & Editions

An omnibus reprint of the classic trilogy:
This Star Shall Abide (published in the UK as Heritage of the Star)
Beyond the Tomorrow Mountains The Doors of the Universe

From the early seventies through the early eighties each of the three novels in this trilogy were eagerly awaited from the award-winning author Sylvia Engdahl. Unfortunately long out of

Overview

An omnibus reprint of the classic trilogy:
This Star Shall Abide (published in the UK as Heritage of the Star)
Beyond the Tomorrow Mountains The Doors of the Universe

From the early seventies through the early eighties each of the three novels in this trilogy were eagerly awaited from the award-winning author Sylvia Engdahl. Unfortunately long out of print, they are now back for you to read, enjoy, discuss, and treasure. Updated and with a new afterword from the author, this edition of Children of the Star is once again slated to become a required title for everyone's library.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781892065148
Publisher:
Meisha Merlin Publishing, Inc.
Publication date:
01/10/2000
Edition description:
1ST MM PUB
Pages:
728
Product dimensions:
8.08(w) x 7.96(h) x 1.50(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Children of the Star 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first read this as three books from the library, in the 1980's. Since then I've tried multiple times to purchase them but found they were out of print. Imagine my delight to learn of this newly printed omnibus edition! In my opinion, this is one of the most important works of fiction ever written, though not many are familiar with Ms. Engdahl or her stories. She is one of the few to emphasize the importance of our space program in a way that should touch everyone interested in the future of humankind. I think that everyone should take it upon themselves to read this deeply intriguing and wonderfully crafted story.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Once upon a time, ignorant people not realizing what they called forth cast a spell. Now what they called forth wait for the Chosen One to arrive so they can begin causing mischief. No one residing in xenophobic Summitsville, Colorado knows what lives along side them as these Others are very good at hiding their existence from their human enemies. Mark Howell knows he is too shy and obese to be anything but an outsider. Already disturbed by his family¿s constant moves, the fifteen year-old despairs that he will ever find a place where he fits. He becomes a victim of the school bullies who severely beat him and leave him bleeding on a special stone in the nearby woods.

From that moment on, Mark becomes marked as the Chosen One and they subtly begin to change him physically and mentally. Mark starts making friends and even finds a girl who care about him as much as he does her. His enemies start disappearing or dying in horrific inhuman ways. Though Mark is not the perpetrator, he is the cause because no one messes with anyone under the protection of Them. The Hunter knows he must stop Them, hopefully without sacrificing an innocent lamb named Mark.

Fans of THE SHINING and PHANTOMS will welcome James A. Moore into the ranks of horror master. UNDER THE OVERTREE is fresh, complex, and totally enthralling. Summitsville is an intriguing town that should serve as the backdrop for future novels. Though the characters are fascinating, what makes Mr. Moore¿s novel so entertaining is the author¿s ability to make the supernatural seem so scientifically natural. Fans of urban fantasy and horror need to put this on there must read list.

Harriet Klausner