Children of the Star

( 3 )

Overview

Back in print! One-volume edition of the trilogy including the three novels This Star Shall Abide (known in the UK as Heritage of the Star), Beyond the Tomorrow Mountains, and The Doors of the Universe.

Noren knew that his world was not as it should be--it was wrong that only the Scholars, and their representatives the Technicians, could use metal tools and Machines. It was wrong that only they had access to the mysterious City, which he had always longed to enter. Above all, it...

See more details below
Paperback
$20.06
BN.com price
(Save 8%)$22.00 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (7) from $16.99   
  • New (5) from $16.99   
  • Used (2) from $20.05   
Sending request ...

Overview

Back in print! One-volume edition of the trilogy including the three novels This Star Shall Abide (known in the UK as Heritage of the Star), Beyond the Tomorrow Mountains, and The Doors of the Universe.

Noren knew that his world was not as it should be--it was wrong that only the Scholars, and their representatives the Technicians, could use metal tools and Machines. It was wrong that only they had access to the mysterious City, which he had always longed to enter. Above all, it was wrong for the Scholars to have sole power over the distribution of knowledge. The High Law imposed these restrictions and many others, though the Prophecy promised that someday knowledge and Machines would be available to everyone. Noren was a heretic. He defied the High Law and had no faith in the Prophecy's fulfillment. But the more he learned of the grim truth about his people's deprivations, the less possible it seemed that their world could ever be changed. It would take more drastic steps than anyone imagined to restore their rightful heritage.

Although these three novels were originally published as Young Adult books, the second and third are primarily of interest to older teens and adults; the omnibus edition has therefore been issued as adult science fiction.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780615625232
  • Publisher: Ad Stellae Books
  • Publication date: 4/6/2012
  • Pages: 644
  • Sales rank: 1,039,049
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 1.42 (d)

Meet the Author

Sylvia Engdahl is best known as the author of highly-acclaimed Young Adult novels, one of which was a Newbery Honor book and a finalist for the 2002 Book Sense Book of the Year in the Rediscovery category. However, her Children of the Star trilogy , originally written for teens, was republished as adult SF, and she has written two adult novels. Although all her fiction takes place in the distant future on hypothetical worlds and thus is categorized as science fiction, it is directed more to mainstream readers than to avid science fiction fans and is enjoyed by a wider audience than seekers of the genre.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    Children of the Star - Sylvia Engdahl

    I first read this as three books from the library, in the 1980's. Since then I've tried multiple times to purchase them but found they were out of print. Imagine my delight to learn of this newly printed omnibus edition! In my opinion, this is one of the most important works of fiction ever written, though not many are familiar with Ms. Engdahl or her stories. She is one of the few to emphasize the importance of our space program in a way that should touch everyone interested in the future of humankind. I think that everyone should take it upon themselves to read this deeply intriguing and wonderfully crafted story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A shining horror tale

    Once upon a time, ignorant people not realizing what they called forth cast a spell. Now what they called forth wait for the Chosen One to arrive so they can begin causing mischief. No one residing in xenophobic Summitsville, Colorado knows what lives along side them as these Others are very good at hiding their existence from their human enemies. Mark Howell knows he is too shy and obese to be anything but an outsider. Already disturbed by his family¿s constant moves, the fifteen year-old despairs that he will ever find a place where he fits. He becomes a victim of the school bullies who severely beat him and leave him bleeding on a special stone in the nearby woods. <P>From that moment on, Mark becomes marked as the Chosen One and they subtly begin to change him physically and mentally. Mark starts making friends and even finds a girl who care about him as much as he does her. His enemies start disappearing or dying in horrific inhuman ways. Though Mark is not the perpetrator, he is the cause because no one messes with anyone under the protection of Them. The Hunter knows he must stop Them, hopefully without sacrificing an innocent lamb named Mark. <P>Fans of THE SHINING and PHANTOMS will welcome James A. Moore into the ranks of horror master. UNDER THE OVERTREE is fresh, complex, and totally enthralling. Summitsville is an intriguing town that should serve as the backdrop for future novels. Though the characters are fascinating, what makes Mr. Moore¿s novel so entertaining is the author¿s ability to make the supernatural seem so scientifically natural. Fans of urban fantasy and horror need to put this on there must read list. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)