Christmas with the Holy Fathers

Christmas with the Holy Fathers

by Peter Celano
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Spend this Christmas in the good company of the Holy Fathers

“I am an old Christmas person and cannot imagine a more spiritual and impressive way than spending the Christmas season with the popes. This is a marvelous book to give anyone who has a real sense of the Church and of the significance of the teachings of the bishops of Rome. I highly

Overview


Spend this Christmas in the good company of the Holy Fathers

“I am an old Christmas person and cannot imagine a more spiritual and impressive way than spending the Christmas season with the popes. This is a marvelous book to give anyone who has a real sense of the Church and of the significance of the teachings of the bishops of Rome. I highly recommend it.”

—Fr. Benedict J. Groeschel, C.F.R.
Author & TV host on EWTN

There is nothing more beautiful than the Christmas season as it is celebrated at St. Peter’s Basilica and throughout Vatican City. The dark nights, glowing candles, incense and music infuse the season with the spirit of God. This book will help you mark the events of the season. Guided by the Holy Fathers, you will hear the meaning of Advent, honor the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, adore with the shepherds on Christmas Eve, experience the morning of the Nativity itself, listen to a call to holiness on Christmas Night, understand the mystery of suffering on St. Stephen’s Day, crown the Virgin as the Mother of God, and with the Magi, worship the Christ Child.

“The yearly return of Advent offers to us a sequence of days in which we may turn our thoughts to a particularly rich series of events touching on the drama of our Redemption. Each event discloses a mystery, since in each case we find that what is played out on the stage of our own history reaches through the scrim that veils eternity from time, and presents to us mortals, in effect, the Love of God at work. The whole season bids us reflect on the coming of God’s Love to us in the person of His only begotten Son, Jesus Christ our Lord….”

—Thomas Howard, from the Foreword

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781612614137
Publisher:
Paraclete Press
Publication date:
10/01/2013
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
128
Product dimensions:
4.90(w) x 7.40(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range:
15 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Peter Celano is a writer and editor at Paraclete Press in Massachusetts.

Thomas Howard is one of the most popular and eloquent Catholic authors today, writing in the tradition of C.S.Lewis. Formerly and English professor at Gordon college, Dr. Howard was raised in a prominent evangelical Christian family. In 1985 at the age of  50, he was received into the Catholic Church after what he calls a "20 year pilgrimage." Howard is the author of many books including Lead, Kindly Light: My Journey to Rome, On Being Catholic, and most recently, The Night Is Far Spent: A Treasury of Thomas Howard.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >