Cinderella Smith: The Super Secret Mystery [NOOK Book]

Overview

Stephanie Barden has created a great role model for tweens. Cinderella Smith is confident, smart, and very real. Fans of Junie B. Jones and Clementine will love watching Cinderella conquer the problems of third-grade life, and parents will appreciate the vocabulary-enhancing words Stephanie Barden sprinkles through the story.
 
In The Super-Secret Mystery, third in the Cinderella Smith chapter-book series, Cinderella is excited to write a ...

See more details below
Cinderella Smith: The Super Secret Mystery

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price

Overview

Stephanie Barden has created a great role model for tweens. Cinderella Smith is confident, smart, and very real. Fans of Junie B. Jones and Clementine will love watching Cinderella conquer the problems of third-grade life, and parents will appreciate the vocabulary-enhancing words Stephanie Barden sprinkles through the story.
 
In The Super-Secret Mystery, third in the Cinderella Smith chapter-book series, Cinderella is excited to write a report on an endangered species. She can’t wait to investigate this important environmental issue. But every book she needs to do her research has disappeared from the library! That won’t stop Cinderella. She won’t be stopped by the mean-girl bullies and will follow every clue until she solves the mystery of the missing books.
 
Illustrations by Caldecott Honor winner Diane Goode add to the appeal of Cinderella’s story.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Patricia Reilly Giff
praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: “Funny and clever! Readers will love this modern day Cinderella. It’s a delight…with the most satisfying ending.”
The Bulletin of the Center for ChildrenThe Bulletin of the Center for Children
praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: “Cinderella’s narration carries this early chapter book, and her upper-elementary woes are perfectly captured in her eager and personable voice… Goode’s energetic sketchwork adds to the spirited narrative.”
ALA Booklist
praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: THE MORE THE MERRIER: "Cinderella is back and as irrepressible as ever. A simple joy of a book, Barden’s story has given third-graders their very own hero whose final decision of inclusiveness is warming."
Seattle Times
“Cinderella continues to charm with her positive ways of making peace in her third-grade classroom.”
Horn Book Magazine
praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: "Cinderella’s bouncy energy, captured expertly in Goode’s emotive line drawings, is infectious…It’s hard to leave Cinderella behind."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children
praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: "Cinderella’s narration carries this early chapter book, and her upper-elementary woes are perfectly captured in her eager and personable voice… Goode’s energetic sketchwork adds to the spirited narrative."
Children's Literature - Justina Engebretson
When it comes to misplacing a shoe, third grade Cinderella is the expert. She does not need a book to teach her how; she just comes by it naturally. Unfortunately, this is not the case with ocelots, Cinderella's chosen topic for her upcoming research project on an endangered animal. For this, she will need to consult the experts. Something strange is underfoot, however, when all of the books in the school's library about ocelots are suddenly checked out. Is someone trying to sabotage Cinderella's report? Suspicion builds when the books are returned only to get stolen and a mysterious note is left in Cinderella's notebook. With the help of her friends, will Cinderella be able to solve the mystery of the missing books and shock everyone with her amazing report? This chapter book is the third book in the "Cinderella Smith" series, and young fans of the first two books will not want to miss another one of Cinderella's misadventures. This newest addition is full of charm enough to match its loveable main character, a girl that anyone would willingly loan a shoe, as long as the shoe was not part of a favorite set. Mystery, humor, friendship, teamwork, honesty, and forgiveness are woven throughout the lighthearted plot. The accompanying black-and-white sketches add visual appeal for young readers, helping ease their reading journey from short picture books to chapter books. Overall, this book will be a fun, enjoyable read for young girls and fans of Cinderella Smith. Reviewer: Justina Engebretson
Kirkus Reviews
Cinderella Smith, shoe-losing third-grader, is back, now facing the challenges of a research project. Third-grade is the year when some kids (the Rosemarys, in this case) appoint themselves too old for childish things, while others (Cinderella and her posse) are still happy to jump and hop and slither when the zoo docent instructs them to. Alas! It's hard to know what to do if you are Cinderella Smith. When the class is assigned a research project on animals, the children decide they want to shock and amaze their classmates. This turns out to be harder than they thought. Cinderella wants to study ocelots, but the books she needs mysteriously disappear from the library. She and her friends, the self-named Group in Cahoots, come up with a cooperative way to shock and amaze everyone, even the Rosemarys. Fans of this series will appreciate the subtle changes that happen in these sunny stories: The boys and girls are growing up and noticing each other in different ways--they solve problems and forgive each other, even when the Rosemarys conspire to ruin things. Goode's black-and-white illustrations add humor and emotion to the story and, in the end, even make a lovely visual reference to the real Cinderella story when Charlie puts his basketball shoe on Cinderella's bare foot. Charming. (Fiction. 7-10)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062208415
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 4/23/2013
  • Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 144
  • Sales rank: 973,262
  • Age range: 6 - 10 Years
  • File size: 6 MB

Meet the Author

In between tripping over abandoned shoes, chasing after escaped pets, and searching for lost belongings, Stephanie Barden wrote her first book, Cinderella Smith, which was followed by Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier. The author teaches classes at Woodland Park Zoo in Seattle, where she lives with her husband, Tom; son, Joe; and eighty-pound lapdog, Otis.

Diane Goode is the illustrator of more than fifty beloved and critically acclaimed picture books, including the Caldecott Honor Book When I Was Young in the Mountains by Cynthia Rylant. Inspired by the handwritten letters of the Founding Mothers, she begins with their quill and sepia handwriting and spins out the line to re-create their images and the remarkable events of their lives for a new generation of young readers.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)