Circle of Heroes (Familiars Series #3)

Circle of Heroes (Familiars Series #3)

4.6 60
by Adam Jay Epstein, Andrew Jacobson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Aldwyn, a street-smart alley cat, pretended he had telekinetic powers so young wizard Jack would chose him as a familiar. Aldwyn then learned that he and two other familiars—Skylar the blue jay and Gilbert the tree frog—were destined to undertake a perilous quest to defeat Paksahara, an evil hare who’d been familiar to the queen.
 
In

Overview

Aldwyn, a street-smart alley cat, pretended he had telekinetic powers so young wizard Jack would chose him as a familiar. Aldwyn then learned that he and two other familiars—Skylar the blue jay and Gilbert the tree frog—were destined to undertake a perilous quest to defeat Paksahara, an evil hare who’d been familiar to the queen.
 
In Circle of Heroes, the third book of The Familiars series for middle-grade readers, Paksahara and her undead animal army control the Shifting Fortress. Aldwyn and his friends have to recapture it to return magic to the queendom of Vastia.
 
Fans of The Guardians of Ga’hoole series and Erin Hunter’s Warriors books will love the mix of humor, magic, and animal adventure story in Circle of Heroes by Adam Jay Epstein and Andrew Jacobson.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 3–6—What if everyone thought you were destined to save the world, but you thought the prophecy wasn't true? Aldwyn, a black cat, struggles with these thoughts even as he continues on the quest with his two friends and fellow familiars, Skylar the blue jay and Gilbert the tree frog. They need to rescue the queendom of Vastia from the evil gray-haired rabbit Paksahara, who has built a zombie animal army. In this third installment in the series, readers find themselves in a world in which magical human wizards (loyals) have animal companions (familiars) who possess extraordinary magical powers of their own. In order to restore peace and harmony between animals and humans, Aldwyn, Skylar, and Gilbert must gather seven descendants from different animal families to call the Shifting Palace and overcome Paksahara's magic. Unfortunately, she has taken away human magic and so the familiars must complete the task on their own. This leads to many adventures, great danger, and the discovery of the true history and role animals have played in Vastia, all culminating in a climactic battle. Readers need to start at the beginning of the series, since earlier characters and plotlines are not reintroduced. Though much of the plot will be predictable for any fantasy reader, the interaction of the animals and the personalities associated with the different species are highly entertaining. The implied promise of more books to come will keep interest in this series high. A perfect recommendation for fans of Kathryn Lasky's "Guardians of Ga'hoole" (Scholastic) and Erin Hunter's "The Warriors" series (HarperCollins).Clare A. Dombrowski, Amesbury Public Library, MA
Children's Literature - Rachelle Andrade
When an evil rabbit wizard and her army of zombie animals threaten to take over the queendom of Vastia, there seems to be little chance of stopping her. After casting a disenchantment spell to remove magical powers from all human wizards, Paksahara, the diabolical hare, has commandeered the nearly invincible Shifting Fortress. This invisible floating fort can only be accessed through a magical union of seven descendants of the original heroes of Vastia. Since the realm has become too dangerous for their human loyals to navigate, the ?Prophesized Three' animal familiars seem to be Vastia's only hope. Aldwyn the cat, Skyler the blue jay, and Gilbert the tree frog must bravely embark on a quest to enlist the help of each of the seven needed species. They encounter resistance and peril at every turn as they race against the clock to complete their mission before the three glyphstones are destroyed and the Fortress can never be summoned again. This fast-paced and entertaining juvenile fiction story is the third in the enchanting saga of "The Familiars." While the book makes mention of many of the events and experiences of the previous two books, it is not necessary to read the entire series in order to enjoy this epic tale. Black-and-white illustrations scattered throughout the book help the reader to visualize the scenes and action sequences. Children will be fascinated by imaginative creations of the author, such as the lightmare, an electrified horse-type creature, and "neveryawn" nuts (used for staying awake, of course). Wit and humor are used well in the story, and it is easy to identify with the very human hopes, fears, and emotions that the animals experience. Teamwork, loyalty, and finding courage and greatness within oneself are a few of the moral lessons imparted by the story. Young readers with an interest in magic and fantasy will be spellbound by the adventures of this unlikely trio. Reviewer: Rachelle Andrade
Kirkus Reviews
Despite obvious new injections of suspense and complexity, this quest-ender is mediocre. The "Prophesized Three"--telekinetic cat Aldwyn, illusion-summoning blue jay Skylar and frog Gilbert, who sees the future in puddles--leave their human "loyals" behind for safety (human magic's been stolen) and journey to collect "[d]escendants of the seven species that formed the First Phylum." In their way stands an army of ravaging zombie animals, raised from the Tomorrowlife by evil hare Paksahara. Paksahara claims she wants animals to rule themselves rather than being enslaved by humans, but it's clear that in this world a human-animal alliance is the morally superior goal. Obstacles are variable and sometimes adorable ("very, very small hippopotamuses….no taller than cucumbers wearing body armor and carrying blowguns"), but they're incredibly easy to defeat. (Knife thrown? Aldwyn's telekinesis will turn it aside. Exhausted? A neveryawn nut offers "a full night's sleep in mere seconds.") Beginning a sentence with the word "Amazingly" can't force excitement, nor can superlatives ("the fake glyphstone must have been their cleverest trick yet"). Welcome notes of unpredictability--an alternate-history concept and the question "what if… prophecies d[o]n't always come true?"--buckle before the obvious ending. The prose doesn't live up to the nuance it attempts, and narrative thrust is weak; hand this off to readers who crave episodic danger that doesn't feel too dangerous. (Fantasy. 7-11)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062190116
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/04/2012
Series:
Familiars Series , #3
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
121,124
Lexile:
880L (what's this?)
File size:
5 MB
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Adam Jay Epstein spent his childhood in Great Neck, New York, while Andrew Jacobson grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, but the two met in Los Angeles. They have been writing together for film and television ever since.

Their interest in space dates back to their early years, when Adam attended Space Academy in Huntsville, Alabama (and won the Right Stuff Award!), and Andrew went to a movie theater (for the first time) to see a rerelease of Star Wars.

Adam Jay Epstein lives in Los Angeles with his wife, Jane, and their daughters, Penny and Olive. Andrew Jacobson, his wife, Ashley, their son, Ryder, their daughter, Willa, and their two dogs live close by.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Circle of Heroes (Familiars Series #3) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You should read these books.they are so awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want the book sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo bad!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
They sould make a tv sires
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG I give this infinity stars i read all the books in two days i totally love it! It is so funny ! Somtimes i will laugh or somtimes it will make me cry . It is a good book i recommend i say it is for 8-20 it has a good age group there is no cuss words or any thing "wrong".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant wait to read this book u just finushed book #2. :)
KKetch More than 1 year ago
Though better than the second Familiars, Secrets of the Crown, I wasn’t exactly thrilled with the beginning or the end of Circle of Heroes. First off, I found it strange that certain characters introduced in the last chapter of the second novel – characters I thought were supposed to be vital to the plot – were suddenly dead within the first few chapters of the Circle of Heroes. It didn’t make sense to me. I wasn’t even sure why they were introduced in the first place if they were just to be killed off. Also, the beginning felt stretched a little with all the “good-byes” and information that didn’t seem to play too much of a roll in the novel. As for the ending, it too seemed to be stretched just a bit, especially when it came to the face off against Paksahara herself. Unfortunately, I do not wish to give any spoilers, but as I read the ending of the battle, it was definitely too long. I wanted it to move a little bit faster. I did, however, enjoyed the path to search for the circle of heroes which Aldwyn, Skylar, and Gilbert take on their intriguing adventure. It introduced wonderful new characters. I especially loved Orion, a nightmare; Marati, a mongoose; and Navid, a cobra. These creatures were refreshing, breathing new life into the original group of friends. Especially since I missed the initial sense of humor main characters, like Gilbert, had in the prior books. This was an intriguing middle-grade series to read with the first novel, The Familiars, being my absolute favorite. It’s probably not at the top of my list, but I would recommend reading the series if you have the chance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sooooooooooooooop Awsome!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsome bok lov it lotes
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You should read it but read the first two first
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best seires I've ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you people like these series survivors or warriors woukd be a nice series to go to they are books written by Erin hunter and survivors is the new series its a dog serues and warriors is the cat series they grab your attention and suck u in its a really a fabulous series but dont watch youtube videos about it because of spoilers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not telling! You could be lying and try and find out privet info!!!!! Im not responding to you any more nomatter what!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all the books in this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
P.s i thiniif you like this book you should resd warriorsk
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These books are amazing!!!! Everybody should read these books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Need more books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous 9 months ago
Are these cats getting high or some s<_>hit lol!
Anonymous 11 months ago
Kiss your hand three times then post this on three other books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want this book super bad!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From the moment i opened the third book i knew it would be good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"So what if I'm an orphan? I am still fine."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yeah.^_^
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to res 8 and i will show you around