Class of '38

( 2 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (6) from $2.50   
  • New (5) from $5.40   
  • Used (1) from $2.50   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 8/26/2008
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313208777
  • Catalog Number: 8572087
  • Sales rank: 282,198


Disc 1
  1. 1 Symphony No. 15 ("Homage to Mozart"): 3. What Are Stars! - Gloria Coates & ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra (5:41)
  2. 2 A Black November Turkey, for chorus - John Corigliano & Klaus Heymann (2:47)
  3. 3 Fantasia for strings - José Serebrier & José Serebrier (12:08)
  4. 4 North American Ballads (4) for piano: No. 4, Winnsboro Cotton Mill Blues - Frederic Rzewski & Klaus Heymann (9:55)
  5. 5 Piano Trio [No. 1] - John Harbison & Klaus Heymann (7:13)
  6. 6 Tambor, for orchestra - Joan Tower & Klaus Heymann (13:57)
  7. 7 Sonata for cello & piano: 2. Adagio Semplice - William Bolcom & Norman Fischer (7:53)
  8. 8 Josquiniana, for string quartet - Charles Wuorinen & Sarah Rothenberg (3:14)
  9. 9 Classical Music Spotlight: Interview with Joan Tower - Spoken Word & Joan Tower (10:47)
  10. 10 Classical Music Spotlight: Interview with William Bolcom - Spoken Word & William Bolcom (10:51)
  11. 11 Classical Music Spotlight: Interview with John Corigliano - Spoken Word & John Corigliano (10:59)
  12. 12 Classical Music Spotlight: Interview with Charles Wuorinen - Spoken Word & Charles Wuorinen (10:52)
  13. 13 Classical Music Spotlight: Interview with John Harbison - Spoken Word & John Harbison (10:49)
  14. 14 Classical Music Spotlight: Interview with José Serebrier - Spoken Word & José Serebrier (10:57)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great primer for modern composers

    The eight composers on this compilation were all born in 1938, and then went in every direction away from each other. This overview is actually a great jumping-in point for learning the range and bold moves of modern experimental classical music. Gloria Coates' &quot Symph. 15 III What Are Stars?&quot has the stately frame of an urban anthem, with simple majesterial horns and tumbling drums, but the strings fidget frequencies like an atonal hive underneath. John Corigliano's &quot A Black November Turkey&quot springs out spritely on its way before worrying itself into a tentative uncertainty, then finally jumping back onto the path determined. Jose Serebrier's &quot Fantasia (For Strings)&quot is one of his seminal works, a darkly lush rumination that is at times romantic and desperate. Frederic Rzewski's &quot Four North American Ballads: No. 4 Cotton Mill Blues&quot rises and falls in modal piano variations that recall a train crossing different landscapes, including deconstructed barrelhouse blues passages. John Harbison's &quot Trio (1968)&quot spins dissonant viola, violin, and piano in circles, at times sparring and others wounded. Joan Tower's &quot Tambor&quot is rhythmic and declarative, like a reconsidered Copland, before moving into atmospheric interludes over soft vibes and dappling strings, always swooping and evocative. William Bolcom's &quot Cello Sonata II Adagio Semplice&quot is a night fever of serpentine piano and cello, sometimes relaxing into bittersweet beauty. Charles Wuorinen's &quot Josquiniana&quot builds in serial swells that are akin to a medieval folk melody, courtly and yet pastoral. There's also a second disc included with intervies of six of the composers to round out the education. A choice primer all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A stunning sampler

    Naxos has in the past few months released a number of excellent samplers of alternative classical music, all loosely based around a more or less unifying theme. Their latest offering in this vein is this collection of pieces written by eight composers who were born in 1938, which, on the musical evidence here, can be considered something of an annis mirabilis in 20th century music. Despite their shared chronological beginnings, these composers are as different from one another as night is to day. All the selections are, in a word, stunning, including the brilliantly sustained dissonance of Gloria Coates&#8217 Symphony #15 (Third Movement), the chilly lyricism of John Harbison&#8217 s Piano Trio #1, and the mind-bending trance music that is Frederic Rzewski&#8217 s Winnsboro Cotton Mill Blues. The icing on the cake is a bonus disc of interviews with all of the featured composers save two, in which they talk about their influences and the development of their individual styles. Their informative comments help contextualize the music and provide intriguing insights into the creative process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews