Cleo's Color Book

Cleo's Color Book

5.0 1
by Caroline Mockford, Stella Blackstone, Caroline Mockford
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Meagan Albright
Cleo's book has an excellent rhyme scheme and good vocabulary (a mix of more difficult-to-pronounce words, such as bicycle and submarine, with common and easy-to-say words like ball, small, and dog). Children will enjoy their visit to Cleo's world; it is full of bright colors and cute characters. Parents, librarians, and educators will especially appreciate three things in the book. One, the language is very fluid, fun, and easy to read aloud. Two, each item being described (ball, bicycle, flower, etc.) is repeated towards the end of the book in a series of small close ups on the items. Educators can test the listeners' reading comprehension by asking them to point out, for example, the moon and submarine. Three, the book comes with a guide at the end (complete with more charming illustrations) for creating new colors. Combining a pair of red socks and a yellow sun creates an orange cat, while mixing a red ladybug and a white glass of milk makes a pink heart. If children enjoy this title, be sure to refer them to the companion books featuring Cleo the Cat.
School Library Journal - School Library Journal
PreS-Fans of Cleo's Alphabet Book and Cleo's Counting Book (both Barefoot, 2003) will be happy to see the kitten return. This time, the rhyming text and bright, uncluttered illustrations offer a joyful introduction to color. During the course of a day, Cleo sees various objects, including a red bicycle, pink ice cream, and an orange ball, ending with "the white moon shining over the town." The book concludes with a spread that shows what happens when colors are mixed; for slightly older children, this is a fun extension. A perfect selection for toddler programs.-JoAnn Jonas, Chula Vista Public Library, San Diego, CA Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781905236305
Publisher:
Barefoot Books
Publication date:
03/01/2006
Series:
Cleo the Cat Series
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
10.10(w) x 9.80(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range:
1 - 4 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >