×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Closer Than They Appear
     

Closer Than They Appear

3.0 1
by Jess Riley
 
With appeal for fans of Jonathan Tropper and Emily Giffin, this quirky novella from the author of Driving Sideways follows two people who are perfect for each other ... if only they would meet.
~~~
Personal chef Harper and aspiring writer Zach have never met, but they see one another at the same stoplight every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday on their morning

Overview

With appeal for fans of Jonathan Tropper and Emily Giffin, this quirky novella from the author of Driving Sideways follows two people who are perfect for each other ... if only they would meet.
~~~
Personal chef Harper and aspiring writer Zach have never met, but they see one another at the same stoplight every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday on their morning commutes. Harper turns left, Zach turns right, and gradually, they each begin to wonder about the person they see every other morning. The person with the smile that could fuel an empty heart for miles.

Reminiscent of Attachments and Sliding Doors, CLOSER THAN THEY APPEAR is an irreverent, sweet mix of lad lit and chick lit. A charming "he said, she said" comedy of missed connections that will fill your heart with the wistful hope and secret joy of a nearly impossible crush.

BONUSES: This novella also includes ten vegetarian recipes inspired by Harper and her clients, as well as the actual templates for Festival Bingo, inspired by Zach's roommate Josh.

Product Details

BN ID:
2940016337388
Publisher:
Jessica Riley
Publication date:
02/06/2013
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
373,936
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Wisconsin native Jess Riley spent much of her childhood being punished for lying and passing notes during class, both of which qualified her for a future as a novelist. She won her first short story contest in high school for a tale told through the point of view of a seven-year-old black boy living in Cabrini Green because as a middle-class white teenager, she knew a lot about that kind of life.

Jess has been a waitress, a blue cheese packager, and a grant writer. She worked at a toy store during the Tickle Me Elmo craze and lived to tell about it. She's also worked at a medium-security men's prison, which was much less stressful. She shares a drafty old house in Oshkosh, Wisconsin with her husband and a neurotic dog that despises public radio.

Her debut novel, DRIVING SIDEWAYS, was released by Random House in 2008. Selected as a Target Breakout Book, it returned to press four times within three months of release. Jess drank lots of wine to celebrate. Her second novel, ALL THE LONELY PEOPLE, was released in fall 2012; CLOSER THAN THEY APPEAR, her first novella, is available now. For more about Jess and her books, visit jessriley.blogspot.com or find her on Facebook: facebook.com/jessrileywrites.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Closer Than They Appear 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only about 98 pages which was kind of disappointing.