Cold Tuscan Stone: A Rick Montoya Italian Mystery by David Wagner, NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Cold Tuscan Stone: A Rick Montoya Italian Mystery

Cold Tuscan Stone: A Rick Montoya Italian Mystery

3.6 3
by David P Wagner
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Rick Montoya has just moved from New Mexico to Rome, embracing the life of a translator. He's beginning to settle in to la dolce vita when a school friend who is now senior in the Italian Art Squad recruits Rick for an unofficial undercover role. Armed with a list of galleries, suspects, and an expense account, Rick would arrive in Tuscany posing as a buyer for a

Overview

Rick Montoya has just moved from New Mexico to Rome, embracing the life of a translator. He's beginning to settle in to la dolce vita when a school friend who is now senior in the Italian Art Squad recruits Rick for an unofficial undercover role. Armed with a list of galleries, suspects, and an expense account, Rick would arrive in Tuscany posing as a buyer for a Santa Fe gallery and flush out priceless burial urn traffickers.
But before sunset on Rick's first day, a gallery employee dies in a brutal fall from a high cliff. Has the trade in fraudulent artifacts upgraded to murder? Are the traffickers already on to Rick?
The local Commissario and his team consider Rick an amateur, and worse, a foreigner. Plus Rick is a suspect in the dead man's murder. While the Volterra squad pursues its leads, Rick continues to interview his list: a museum director, a top gallery owner, a low-profile import/export businessman and his enterprising color-coordinated assistant, and a sensuous heiress with a private art specialty and clientele. When Rick's girlfriend Erica arrives from Rome to visit him, she rekindles a friendship with an alluring, maybe dangerous, acquaintance. Has Rick's role made him the target of both cops and criminals?

Editorial Reviews

Publisher Weekly - Publishers Weekly
Wagner's appealing debut introduces Rick Montoya, who's moved from Santa Fe, N.Mex., to Rome, where he's just launched a translation business.... The intriguing art milieu, mouthwatering cuisine, and the team of the ironic Conti and the bemused but agile Montoya are bound to attract fans.
Library Journal
*Starred review*
VERDICT Wagner hits all the right notes in this debut. His likable protagonist engages, plus the Italian angle is always appealing. Perfect for readers who enjoy a complex puzzle, a bit of humor, and a fairly gentle procedural. Don't miss this one.
Kirkus Reviews
Like the Etruscan urns he seeks, Rick's debut is well-proportioned and nicely crafted.
Booklist - David Pitt
The first in a new series, this should appeal to fans of Jonathan Gash's Lovejoy novels and Iain Pears' Italy-set art-theft series starring Jonathan Argyll and Flavio diStefano.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940148524403
Publisher:
Poisoned Pen Press
Publication date:
09/01/2013
Series:
Rick Montoya Italian Mysteries , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
220
Sales rank:
706,131
File size:
2 MB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

David P. Wagner, a retired Foreign Service Officer, spent nine years in Milan and Rome during his career and now writes tourist materials about Italy. He earned his BA in English from Michigan State Univerisity, served in the Peace Corps in Chile, and taught high school English before entering the diplomatic service. He lives in New Mexico with his wife and their four cats. ww.davidpwagnerauthor.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Cold Tuscan Stone: A Rick Montoya Italian Mystery 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Throughly enjoyable read. The writer has agreat way with words. He lets you visualize the locale and characters with his discriptions. No sexual narratives or bloody and gory addons, yet it was hard to put down as the flow of the story keeps your attention.
Janmaus More than 1 year ago
American Rick Montoya has moved to Italy, his mother's birthplace, to make his way as a translator. But what should be a cut and dried career move, takes on sinister overtones when he is recruited by the Italian Art Squad for an undercover assignment in Volterra to look for Etruscan forgeries and antiquities smugglers. Bodies pile up in the medieval town, and no one is to be trusted. This mystery is fast paced, filled with fascinating detail, and features a setting to send any reader in search of a good travel agent. A fine read and a great introduction to a new series. 
BasingstoneBook More than 1 year ago
Steady but not thrilling, this adventure into the criminal art world takes in Tuscany, one of my favourite places in Italy. Translator Rick Montoya works undercover to lure out the criminals stealing precious artefacts of Tuscan history. Working with the local police chief it starts to get nasty. Who is the mastermind behind the stealing and how will it end? Good questions and you are kept guessing until the end. Worth reading but not high priority.