Cold Tuscan Stone: A Rick Montoya Italian Mystery

Cold Tuscan Stone: A Rick Montoya Italian Mystery

3.6 3
by David P Wagner
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Rick Montoya has just moved from New Mexico to Rome, embracing the life of a translator. He’s beginning to settle in to la dolce vita when a school friend who is now senior in the Italian Art Squad recruits Rick for an unofficial undercover role. Armed with a list of galleries, suspects, and an expense account, Rick would arrive in Tuscany posing as a buyer for… See more details below

Overview

Rick Montoya has just moved from New Mexico to Rome, embracing the life of a translator. He’s beginning to settle in to la dolce vita when a school friend who is now senior in the Italian Art Squad recruits Rick for an unofficial undercover role. Armed with a list of galleries, suspects, and an expense account, Rick would arrive in Tuscany posing as a buyer for a Santa Fe gallery and flush out priceless burial urn traffickers.
But before sunset on Rick’s first day, a gallery employee dies in a brutal fall from a high cliff. Has the trade in fraudulent artifacts upgraded to murder? Are the traffickers already on to Rick?
The local Commissario and his team consider Rick an amateur, and worse, a foreigner. Plus Rick is a suspect in the dead man’s murder. While the Volterra squad pursues its leads, Rick continues to interview his list: a museum director, a top gallery owner, a low-profile import/export businessman and his enterprising color-coordinated assistant, and a sensuous heiress with a private art specialty and clientele. When Rick’s girlfriend Erica arrives from Rome to visit him, she rekindles a friendship with an alluring, maybe dangerous, acquaintance. Has Rick’s role made him the target of both cops and criminals?

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Booklist - David Pitt
The first in a new series, this should appeal to fans of Jonathan Gash’s Lovejoy novels and Iain Pears’ Italy-set art-theft series starring Jonathan Argyll and Flavio diStefano.
Kirkus Reviews - Staff Reviewer
Like the Etruscan urns he seeks, Rick’s debut is well-proportioned and nicely crafted.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940148524403
Publisher:
Poisoned Pen Press
Publication date:
09/01/2013
Series:
Rick Montoya Italian Mysteries , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
220
Sales rank:
268,149
File size:
2 MB

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >