Cold Tuscan Stone: A Rick Montoya Italian Mystery

Cold Tuscan Stone: A Rick Montoya Italian Mystery

3.6 3
by David Wagner
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Rick Montoya has just moved from Santa Fe to Rome, embracing the life of a translator. He’s beginning to embrace la dolce vita when school friend Beppo, now senior in the Italian Art Squad, recruits Rick for an unofficial undercover role. Armed with a list of galleries, suspects, and an expense account, Rick would arrive in Tuscany posing as a buyer for a… See more details below

Overview


Rick Montoya has just moved from Santa Fe to Rome, embracing the life of a translator. He’s beginning to embrace la dolce vita when school friend Beppo, now senior in the Italian Art Squad, recruits Rick for an unofficial undercover role. Armed with a list of galleries, suspects, and an expense account, Rick would arrive in Tuscany posing as a buyer for a Santa Fe gallery and flush out traffickers in priceless burial urns.

But, before sunset on his first day in Volterra, the challenge intensifies. Rick has one quick conversation with a gallery employee who dies minutes later in a brutal fall from a high cliff. Has the trade in fraudulent artifacts upgraded to murder? Are the traffickers already on to Rick?

The local Commissario and his team consider Rick an amateur, and worse, a foreigner. Plus Rick is a suspect in what proves to be the dead man’s murder. While the Volterra squad pursues its leads, Rick and the Volterra museum director continue to interview his list: a top gallery owner, a low-profile import/export businessman and his enterprising color-coordinated assistant, a sensuous heiress with a private art specialty and clientele. When Rick’s lover Erica, an art history professor, arrives from Rome to visit him, she rekindles a friendship with an alluring, maybe dangerous, heiress. Has Rick’s role made him the target of both cops and criminals?

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Wagner’s appealing debut introduces Rick Montoya, who’s moved from Santa Fe, N.Mex., to Rome, where he’s just launched a translation business. When Beppo Rinaldi, an old friend working for the Ministry of Culture, asks Rick to pose as a representative of a New Mexico gallery to flush out purveyors of items stolen from a tomb in Volterra, Rick, with his fluent Italian and a well-placed uncle in Italian law enforcement, agrees. When Rick’s promising first contact falls to his death from a wall in Tuscany, a veritable parade of alluring women and shady characters besiege him for clandestine meetings. Neither he nor local commissario Carlo Conti knows whether these people are legitimate dealers or something less savory like art forgers, thieves of priceless Etruscan antiquities, and even murderers. The intriguing art milieu, mouthwatering cuisine, and the team of the ironic Conti and the bemused but agile Montoya are bound to attract fans. (Sept.)
Library Journal
Both museums and collectors prize Etruscan antiquities from western Tuscany, and collectors are sometimes willing to buy them on the black market. Art thefts—and forgeries—abound, and, in Wagner's engrossing debut, the Italian police are determined to get to the bottom of an uptick in sales of stolen objects. Rick Montoya, an Italian American translator with dual citizenship who has recently moved back to Italy from Santa Fe, is recruited to be the bait in a sting operation. Posing as an art buyer from New Mexico, Rick is tasked with approaching various members of the art community to see if anyone will respond to his discreet inquiries about purchasing illegal urns. It's all perfectly safe, his police buddy assures him—but then a gallery employee is killed soon after Rick speaks to him. With the unsolved murder hanging over Rick, the proceedings take a more dangerous tone. Rick will have to talk himself out of a tight situation or two to avoid becoming the next victim. VERDICT Wagner hits all the right notes in this debut. His likable protagonist engages, plus the Italian angle is always appealing. Perfect for readers who enjoy a complex puzzle, a bit of humor, and a fairly gentle procedural. Don't miss this one.
From the Publisher

“David P. Wagner gives us a compelling new character in a setting so romantic and redolent of history it pulls us in immediately and holds us until the surprising ending…. This is a wonderful start to a series, which should  have immediate legs, and surely will thrill everyone who has lived in Italy, been to Italy, or would like to visit. As a boy I lived in both Firenze and Napoli, and reading Wagner takes me back deeply and instantly.”--Joseph Heywood, Author of The Woods Cop Mystery Series, The Snowfly and The Berkut.

""If you are interested in Italian art and artifacts, Italian history and culture, Italian food and wine, or even just good storytelling, then COLD TUSCAN STONE -- the first in what will hopefully become a series of Rick Montoya Italian mysteries -- will be right up your cobblestone alleyway. Set in the ancient Tuscan town of Volterra, David P. Wagner's atmospheric debut novel delivers all of the above and more... Simply put, this exciting, intriguing, well-written mystery extends an offer no reader should refuse. Capiche?""— Amanda Matetsky, author of The Paige Turner Mysteries

""The first in a new series, this should appeal to fans of Jonathan Gash’s Lovejoy novels and Iain Pears’ Italy-set art-theft series starring Jonathan Argyll and Flavio diStefano.""—Booklist

""Wagner hits all the right notes in this debut. His likable protagonist engages, plus the Italian angle is always appealing. Perfect for readers who enjoy a complex puzzle, a bit of humor, and a fairly gentle procedural. Don’t miss this one.""—Library Journal starred review
 
""The intriguing art milieu, mouthwatering cuisine, and the team of the ironic Conti and the bemused but agile Montoya are bound to attract fans""—Publishers Weekly

Kirkus Reviews
2013-09-01
An American translator finds danger and excitement helping a Roman friend crack a ring of art thieves. Although he grew up in Rome, his mother's home, Rick Montoya has always felt more American than Italian. So Beppo Rinaldi, one of the few full-blooded Romans to attend the American Overseas School of Rome, thinks Rick would be the perfect guy to help him find out who's stealing Etruscan burial urns from the graves around Volterra and smuggling them to discreet private collectors around the world. Rick came to Rome about six months ago from New Mexico, his father's home, to work as a translator. Beppo, who works for the art squad of the Italian Ministry of Culture, wants Rick to pose as a buyer for a New Mexico art gallery looking for handcrafted items to supplement its stock of Navajo artifacts. Rick is happy to spend some time in the ancient Tuscan hill town. He quickly makes contact with the three suspects on Beppo's list: gallery owner Antonio Landi, importer-exporter Rino Polpetto and private art dealer Donatella Minotti, a college friend of Rick's girlfriend, Erica. A quick tour of the local museum led by curator Arnolfo Zerbino gives Rick enough background in Etruscan art to make his cover story credible. But his investigation quickly hits a snag when local police discover that Rick was the last person to see Landi's employee Orlando Canopo before the unfortunate workman plunged to his death. Commissario Carlo Conti of the Volterra Police has little patience for the art squad and even less for Rick, who may have signed up for a more difficult lesson in Italian police culture than he bargained for. Like the Etruscan urns he seeks, Rick's debut is well-proportioned and nicely crafted.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781464201929
Publisher:
Poisoned Pen Press
Publication date:
09/03/2013
Series:
Cold Tuscan Stone Series, #1
Pages:
250
Sales rank:
873,917
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.60(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >