×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cold Winter Rain
     

Cold Winter Rain

5.0 2
by Steven Gregory
 

See All Formats & Editions

Slate, a recovering lawyer who lost his family to an accident, lives on a sailboat, owns a beach bar, and occasionally helps clients recover things they have lost. Children, for example. Kris Kramer, the nineteen-year-old daughter of a Birmingham lawyer, Don Kramer, has been missing for two days when her father visits Slate in his beach bar, which isn�t very busy on a

Overview

Slate, a recovering lawyer who lost his family to an accident, lives on a sailboat, owns a beach bar, and occasionally helps clients recover things they have lost. Children, for example. Kris Kramer, the nineteen-year-old daughter of a Birmingham lawyer, Don Kramer, has been missing for two days when her father visits Slate in his beach bar, which isn�t very busy on a raw day in January. Kramer engages Slate to try to find Kris. But two days after Slate arrives in Birmingham, Leon Grubbs, captain of the Homicide Division of the Birmingham Police Department, calls Slate just after midnight. A murder victim lies across the railroad tracks in the no-man�s-land between North and South Birmingham, Slate�s business card in the pocket of his business suit.

Fans of John D. MacDonald and Robert Parker will find themselves on familiar ground in this first novel of a series.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Attorney Gregory utilizes a legal background to create a complex and suspenseful slice of hard-boiled noir that honors without imitating the stylistic and thematic influences of Dashiell Hammett. Eschewing over-simplistic views of morality, the characters here wade through a dark ambiguity mirrored by bleak atmosphere, descending into homicide and emotional bankruptcy.

Product Details

BN ID:
2940149098743
Publisher:
Oak Mountain Press, LLC
Publication date:
12/11/2013
Series:
Slate , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
225
Sales rank:
839,857
File size:
165 KB

Meet the Author

Steven Gregory was born in a cotton-mill town in north Georgia. His parents moved to the family farm when he was nine. Steve earned a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from the University of Alabama in the early 1980s, serving on the editorial staff of the Black Warrior Review. Later, he worked as a stockbroker for a few years, then earned a J.D. from the University of Alabama School of Law and practiced law for more than twenty years. As a lawyer, Steve defended a couple of clients facing capital murder charges. He finds writing about murder much less stressful. ? You can read Steve's flash fiction story "Legal Mail" now in Out of the Gutter magazine:

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cold Winter Rain 0 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 0 reviews.