Cold Winter Rain

( 4 )

Overview

Slate, a recovering lawyer who lost his family to an accident, lives on a sailboat, owns a beach bar, and occasionally helps clients recover things they have lost. Children, for example. Kris Kramer, the nineteen-year-old daughter of a Birmingham lawyer, Don Kramer, has been missing for two days when her father visits Slate in his beach bar, which isn't very busy on a raw day in January. Kramer engages Slate to try to find Kris. But two days after Slate arrives in Birmingham, Leon Grubbs, captain of the Homicide ...
See more details below
Paperback
$14.42
BN.com price
(Save 3%)$14.95 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (8) from $6.77   
  • New (4) from $10.99   
  • Used (4) from $6.77   
Cold Winter Rain

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.99
BN.com price

Overview

Slate, a recovering lawyer who lost his family to an accident, lives on a sailboat, owns a beach bar, and occasionally helps clients recover things they have lost. Children, for example. Kris Kramer, the nineteen-year-old daughter of a Birmingham lawyer, Don Kramer, has been missing for two days when her father visits Slate in his beach bar, which isn't very busy on a raw day in January. Kramer engages Slate to try to find Kris. But two days after Slate arrives in Birmingham, Leon Grubbs, captain of the Homicide Division of the Birmingham Police Department, calls Slate just after midnight. A murder victim lies across the railroad tracks in the no-man's-land between North and South Birmingham, Slate's business card in his pocket.

Fans of John D. MacDonald and Robert Parker will find themselves on familiar ground in this first novel of a series.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
01/27/2014
Attorney Gregory utilizes a legal background to create a complex and suspenseful slice of hard-boiled noir that honors without imitating the stylistic and thematic influences of Dashiell Hammett. Eschewing over-simplistic views of morality, the characters here wade through a dark ambiguity mirrored by bleak atmosphere, descending into homicide and emotional bankruptcy. In Birmingham, Ala., Slate, the cynical but decent lawyer-investigator struggling with the deaths of his wife and son, agrees to locate attorney Don Kramer’s daughter, Kristina, unwittingly accepting an invitation into conspiracy and cover-ups. When a murdered man is discovered with Slate’s business card, police captain Leon Grubbs casts an eye on our hard-luck hero and a routine missing person’s case becomes a race against the clock and possibly the New Orleans mob. Slate is not a mere parody of classic genre detectives. Rather, his personality is convincing and complex, skillfully revealed without slowing the action-driven plot. Clean and sharp prose delivers maximum emotional effect, and the dialogue rings true. Though he doesn’t bring anything particularly new to the genre, Slate is nevertheless destined to become a series character welcomed by aficionados of John D. MacDonald and Raymond Chandler.
Kirkus Reviews

In this debut detective novel, a kidnapping case in Birmingham, Ala., forces a retired attorney into action. High-profile lawyer Don Kramer asks Slate, his former colleague, to help him find his missing 19-year-old daughter. Slate, a beachside-bar owner, lives a quiet existence alone on a Gulf Coast houseboat, where he moved following traumatic events in his own life. He pilots his old private plane, the Albatross, to Birmingham and, almost immediately, a friend on the local police force informs him that a body was found with Slate's business card in its pocket. From that moment on, Slate digs himself deeper into the case, building tenuous relationships with the police, the FBI and people close to Kramer's family. Soon he uncovers links between them and a far-reaching oil and gas industry crime. Along the way, Slate's past follows him like a shadow, informing his movements and coloring his sense of trust. Although he has some friends and connections, he remains palpably isolated, cups of coffee as his only companions. His lone-wolf attitude leaves him vulnerable, and as the story progresses, his long-term emotional trajectory becomes entwined with the case. However, the book's imposing, rainy-season mood may be too heavy and slow-paced for some readers. Slate is a well-drawn protagonist, but most of the secondary characters lack the depth required to keep readers interested. Unlike more swiftly plotted crime novels that reach a crescendo before the final reveal, this story instead suddenly and unsatisfyingly drops off, promising to answer in a planned sequel the many questions left hanging. That said, Gregory's prose is solid, and he vividly describes both the exterior Southern landscape and the insular, interior spaces Slate inhabits. An uneven detective story with a memorable main character.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780985992811
  • Publisher: Oak Mountain Press, LLC
  • Publication date: 7/9/2013
  • Pages: 238
  • Sales rank: 1,010,198
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.54 (d)

Meet the Author

Steve Gregory was born in a cotton-mill town in north Georgia. His parents moved to the family farm when he was nine. Steve earned a Master of Fine Arts degree in creative writing from the University of Alabama in the early 1980s. He worked as a stockbroker for a few years, then earned a J.D. from the University of Alabama School of Law and practiced law for more than twenty years.

As a lawyer, Steve defended a couple of gentlemen facing capital murder charges. He finds writing about murder much less stressful.

Cold Winter Rain is Steve's first novel and the first of a series featuring the man called Slate.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 3 of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    To Leaf

    Can I rp Ravenkit? Please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Lilypelt

    Ran in with rasberry leaves, borage leaves, and a stick. "Bite the stick when in pain. Eat the borage leaves and rasberry leaves." She mewed placing a paw on her belly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Leaf

    Sure. I still need some one to rp Jaykit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 3 of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)