The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale: 1925-1977 by Eugenio Montale, Hardcover | Barnes & Noble
The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale: 1925-1977

The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale: 1925-1977

by Eugenio Montale
     
 

A majestic translation of one of the Nobel Prize-winning masters of twentieth-century poetry.Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles

Overview

A majestic translation of one of the Nobel Prize-winning masters of twentieth-century poetry.Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles he had previously established. His poems chart an adventure of consciousness and conscience in response to the shocks of modernity, fascism, and two world wars, and they also present several of the greatest erotic sequences in modern poetry.The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale publishes for the first time in English William Arrowsmith’s pellucid translations of Poetic Diary 1971, 1972, and the Poetic Notebook, as well as his previously published translations of four volumes: Cuttlefish Bones, The Occasions, The Storm and Other Things, and Satura. With the wide range of Montale’s poetry at last available to the English reader, this collection reveals Montale to be the greatest Italian poet of the twentieth century.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Perhaps the major poet of 20th-century Italy, Montale (1896–1981)—who won the Nobel Prize in 1975— now seems like three poets in one. His first book, Cuttlefish Bones, announced a vividly sensuous yet self-skeptical man closely tied to Liguria, the dry coastal region where Montale grew up: “Bring me the sunflower, I’ll plant it here,” he announced, “in my patch of ground scorched by salt spume.” Montale’s next phase spanned WWII and its aftermath; odes on a vital yet damaged Europe (such as “The Eel”) abut tormented, crystalline sets of love poems about two lost women, one called Clizia, the other the Vixen. Enormously influential on the Continent, these poems can seem overwhelming, but also melodramatic, in English, even in the hands of the much admired career translator and classicist Arrowsmith, who died in 1992. This new facing-page edition could make its greatest mark with the third, disillusioned, astringent Montale, the author of “Xenia”—spare elegies for his wife—and of several collections afterwards; these last books traffic in disillusion, offhand flatness, caustic sadness, their “Muse... dressed like a scarecrow/ awkwardly propped on a checkerboard of vines.” Montale is no stranger to U.S. tastes: Robert Lowell championed him, and earlier translations by Arrowsmith and by Jonathan Galassi received wide notice. This big book, though, appears to be the first collection in English to include everything Montale chose to publish in Italian; it will surely get this complex, grand, ambitious and finally disillusioned poet a fresh burst of posthumous fame. (Jan.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780393080636
Publisher:
Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date:
01/30/2012
Pages:
832
Sales rank:
740,865
Product dimensions:
6.50(w) x 9.40(h) x 2.30(d)

Meet the Author

Eugenio Montale (1896-1981) won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1975.

William Arrowsmith was a renowned translator and classics scholar.

Rosanna Warren, the author of four collections of poetry, has received awards from the Academy of Arts and Letters and has won the Lamont Poetry Prize. She teaches at the University of Chicago and lives in Chicago.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >