The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale: 1925-1977

Overview

A majestic translation of one of the Nobel Prize-winning masters of twentieth-century poetry.Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles he had previously established. His poems chart an adventure of consciousness and conscience in response to the shocks of modernity, fascism, and two ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$48.08
BN.com price
(Save 3%)$49.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (11) from $24.00   
  • New (7) from $28.68   
  • Used (4) from $24.00   
Sending request ...

Overview

A majestic translation of one of the Nobel Prize-winning masters of twentieth-century poetry.Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles he had previously established. His poems chart an adventure of consciousness and conscience in response to the shocks of modernity, fascism, and two world wars, and they also present several of the greatest erotic sequences in modern poetry.The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale publishes for the first time in English William Arrowsmith’s pellucid translations of Poetic Diary 1971, 1972, and the Poetic Notebook, as well as his previously published translations of four volumes: Cuttlefish Bones, The Occasions, The Storm and Other Things, and Satura. With the wide range of Montale’s poetry at last available to the English reader, this collection reveals Montale to be the greatest Italian poet of the twentieth century.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Perhaps the major poet of 20th-century Italy, Montale (1896–1981)—who won the Nobel Prize in 1975— now seems like three poets in one. His first book, Cuttlefish Bones, announced a vividly sensuous yet self-skeptical man closely tied to Liguria, the dry coastal region where Montale grew up: “Bring me the sunflower, I’ll plant it here,” he announced, “in my patch of ground scorched by salt spume.” Montale’s next phase spanned WWII and its aftermath; odes on a vital yet damaged Europe (such as “The Eel”) abut tormented, crystalline sets of love poems about two lost women, one called Clizia, the other the Vixen. Enormously influential on the Continent, these poems can seem overwhelming, but also melodramatic, in English, even in the hands of the much admired career translator and classicist Arrowsmith, who died in 1992. This new facing-page edition could make its greatest mark with the third, disillusioned, astringent Montale, the author of “Xenia”—spare elegies for his wife—and of several collections afterwards; these last books traffic in disillusion, offhand flatness, caustic sadness, their “Muse... dressed like a scarecrow/ awkwardly propped on a checkerboard of vines.” Montale is no stranger to U.S. tastes: Robert Lowell championed him, and earlier translations by Arrowsmith and by Jonathan Galassi received wide notice. This big book, though, appears to be the first collection in English to include everything Montale chose to publish in Italian; it will surely get this complex, grand, ambitious and finally disillusioned poet a fresh burst of posthumous fame. (Jan.)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780393080636
  • Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
  • Publication date: 1/30/2012
  • Pages: 832
  • Sales rank: 1,464,312
  • Product dimensions: 6.50 (w) x 9.40 (h) x 2.30 (d)

Meet the Author

Eugenio Montale (1896-1981) won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1975.

William Arrowsmith was a renowned translator and classics scholar.

Rosanna Warren, the author of four collections of poetry, has received awards from the Academy of Arts and Letters and has won the Lamont Poetry Prize. She teaches at the University of Chicago and lives in Chicago.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)