The College Writer's Handbook: A Guide to Thinking, Writing, and Researching / Edition 1

Multimedia Set (Print)
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $1.99
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 97%)
Other sellers (Multimedia Set)
  • All (4) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $14.00   
  • Used (3) from $1.99   

Overview

Continuing in the tradition of The College Writer, The College Writer's Handbook offers a proven at-a-glance page format, practical writing instruction, and an inviting design—everything today's students need for college and career writing. In addition, the authors' established use of humor as a pedagogical tool and their entertaining visuals, quotations, anecdotes, and models enhance learning and humanize the rich content, setting this handbook apart.The compact handbook balances clear and concise explanations with an abundance of useful hints and compelling examples. It also includes extended coverage of critical topics such as the writing process as well as critical-reading and critical-thinking skills. An easy-to-use CD and companion web site enrich the handbook's instruction, providing useful learning tools for the modern writer.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780618406760
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Company College Division
  • Publication date: 8/14/2003
  • Edition description: Older Edition
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 700
  • Product dimensions: 6.90 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Meet the Author

Dr. Randall VanderMey (Ph.D. University of Iowa, M.F.A. in Fiction, Iowa Writers' Workshop, M.A. University of Pennsylvania) is Professor of English and English Department Chair at Westmont College in Santa Barbara, California. He has taught composition, literature, and technical writing at Iowa State University, Dordt College, and the University of Iowa and led several off-campus programs in Europe through Westmont. VanderMey has received numerous fellowships, grants, and awards for teaching and writing. He has published two books of poems, KENOSIS: A SONG CYCLE, and CHARM SCHOOL: FIVE WOMEN OF THE ODYSSEY, as well as a book of personal essays, GOD TALK: TRITENESS AND TRUTH IN CHRISTIAN CLICHES. He was co-author of a psychiatric trade book, GENES AND THE MIND. In Spring 2013 Westmont College produced the world premiere of his full-length play, PLATINUM CIRCLE: A PLAY IN THREE ONE-ACTS.

Dr. Verne Meyer is a businessperson and an educator who has taught in high schools and in college. In 1977, he co-founded Write Source Educational Publishing House, now a subsidiary of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Supplemental. A graduate of Calvin College, Marquette University, and the University of Minnesota, he has co-authored FUSION 1, FUSION 2, WRITE 1 SENTENCES TO PARAGRAPHS, WRITE 2 PARAGRAPHS TO ESSAYS, and more than a dozen English handbooks, including WRITE SOURCE 2000, WRITERS INC, WRITE FOR COLLEGE, THE COLLEGE WRITER, WRITE FOR BUSINESS, THE BUSINESS WRITER, and WRITING EFFECTIVE E-MAIL. Today, Dr. Meyer is a contributing editor for Write Source, Houghton Mifflin, and UpWrite Press. He also leads writing workshops across the United States.

Dr. John Van Rys is a Professor of English at Redeemer University College, in Ancaster, Ontario. A graduate of The University of Western Ontario and Dalhousie University, Van Rys has taught a wide range of writing courses for more than twenty-five years in Canada and the United States: Freshman Composition, Expository Writing, Argumentation, Creative Nonfiction, and Business Writing. Van Rys also teaches literature courses, primarily in Canadian literature. While he does scholarly work on Canadian authors such as Alice Munro, he has also co-authored several writing texts, including The College Writer (now in its fifth edition), The Business Writer, and COMP. He is the lead author of The Research Writer: Curiosity, Discovery, Dialogue; the Canadian edition of COMP; and Writing Life: A Canadian Student's Guide to Thinking, Writing, and Researching.

Pat Sebranek is a businessperson and an educator who co-founded Write Source in 1977. Prior to founding Write Source, Mr. Sebranek taught writing and speaking at the high school level for 16 years, where he developed several courses aimed at helping students use the writing process more effectively. He has co-authored Fusion 1, Fusion 2, Write 1 Sentences to Paragraphs, Write 2 Paragraphs to Essays, and many more English handbooks, including Write Source 2000, Writers INC, Write for College, The College Writer, Write for Business, The Business Writer, and Writing Effective E-Mail. He continues to contribute to products that will help individuals improve their communication skills.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Tab 1: Critical Thinking Critical Thinking Through Reading Critical Thinking in Writing Critical Thinking Through Visual Images Understanding Argument and Persuasion Assessing Writing Tab 2: The Writing Process Getting Started Planning Drafting Revising Editing and Proofreading Submitting, Publishing, and Portfolios Tab 3: Style Issues Writing Strong Paragraphs Writing Effective Sentences Strengthening Word Choice A Glossary of Word Usage Tab 4: Design Issues Designing Documents Designing and Using Visuals Writing and Designing for the Web Tab 5: Grammar Nouns and Pronouns Verbs Other Parts of Sppech Tab 6: Sentences Sentence Basics Using Phrases Using Clauses Solving Sentence Prob. Agreement Errors Sentence Problems Tab 7: Punctuation and Mechanics Using End Punctuation Commas Other Punctuation Capitalization Spelling and Plurals Numbers and Abbreviations Tab 8: Multilingual and ESL Guidelines Surviving College Understanding Words[ Understanding Sentences Understanding Idioms and Mixed Pairs WAC & Research Tab 9: Writing Across the Curriculum Forms of College Writing: An Overview Personal Essays Analytical Essays Persuasive Essays Literary Analyses Business and Application Writing Oral Presentations Objective and Essay Tests Tab 10: Research Writing Planning Your Research Project Note-Taking Strategies Doing Primary Research Doing Library Research Doing Internet Research Drafting Papers with Documented Research Tab 11: MLA The MLA System and Sample Paper MLA In-Text Citations MLA Works Cited Tab 12: APA, Chicago, and CSE The APA System and Sample Paper APA In-Text Citations APA References Chicago (CMS) and Turabian Format and Documentation CSE (CBE) Format and Documentation

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)