The College Writer's Handbook: A Guide to Thinking, Writing, and Researching / Edition 1

The College Writer's Handbook: A Guide to Thinking, Writing, and Researching / Edition 1

by Randall VanderMey, Verne Meyer, John Van Rys, Patrick Sebranek
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0618776958

ISBN-13: 9780618776955

Pub. Date: 04/10/2006

Publisher: Cengage Learning

Continuing in the tradition of The College Writer, The College Writer's Handbook offers a proven at-a-glance page format, practical writing instruction, and an inviting design—everything today's students need for college and career writing. In addition, the authors' established use of humor as a pedagogical tool and their entertaining visuals, quotations,

Overview

Continuing in the tradition of The College Writer, The College Writer's Handbook offers a proven at-a-glance page format, practical writing instruction, and an inviting design—everything today's students need for college and career writing. In addition, the authors' established use of humor as a pedagogical tool and their entertaining visuals, quotations, anecdotes, and models enhance learning and humanize the rich content, setting this handbook apart.The compact handbook balances clear and concise explanations with an abundance of useful hints and compelling examples. It also includes extended coverage of critical topics such as the writing process as well as critical-reading and critical-thinking skills. An easy-to-use CD and companion web site enrich the handbook's instruction, providing useful learning tools for the modern writer.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780618776955
Publisher:
Cengage Learning
Publication date:
04/10/2006
Pages:
608
Product dimensions:
6.65(w) x 8.54(h) x 0.87(d)

Table of Contents

Tab 1: Critical Thinking Critical Thinking Through Reading Critical Thinking in Writing Critical Thinking Through Visual Images Understanding Argument and Persuasion Assessing Writing Tab 2: The Writing Process Getting Started Planning Drafting Revising Editing and Proofreading Submitting, Publishing, and Portfolios Tab 3: Style Issues Writing Strong Paragraphs Writing Effective Sentences Strengthening Word Choice A Glossary of Word Usage Tab 4: Design Issues Designing Documents Designing and Using Visuals Writing and Designing for the Web Tab 5: Grammar Nouns and Pronouns Verbs Other Parts of Sppech Tab 6: Sentences Sentence Basics Using Phrases Using Clauses Solving Sentence Prob. Agreement Errors Sentence Problems Tab 7: Punctuation and Mechanics Using End Punctuation Commas Other Punctuation Capitalization Spelling and Plurals Numbers and Abbreviations Tab 8: Multilingual and ESL Guidelines Surviving College Understanding Words[ Understanding Sentences Understanding Idioms and Mixed Pairs WAC & Research Tab 9: Writing Across the Curriculum Forms of College Writing: An Overview Personal Essays Analytical Essays Persuasive Essays Literary Analyses Business and Application Writing Oral Presentations Objective and Essay Tests Tab 10: Research Writing Planning Your Research Project Note-Taking Strategies Doing Primary Research Doing Library Research Doing Internet Research Drafting Papers with Documented Research Tab 11: MLA The MLA System and Sample Paper MLA In-Text Citations MLA Works Cited Tab 12: APA, Chicago, and CSE The APA System and Sample Paper APA In-Text Citations APA References Chicago (CMS) and Turabian Format and Documentation CSE (CBE) Format and Documentation

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >