×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Colonial Histories, Postcolonial Memories
     

Colonial Histories, Postcolonial Memories

by Abdelmajid Hannoum
 

ISBN-10: 0325002533

ISBN-13: 9780325002538

Pub. Date: 09/19/2001

Publisher: ABC-CLIO, Incorporated

No other North African legend had been adopted, transformed, and used by as many social groups as that of the Kahina myth. In this book, Abdelmajid Hannoum examines the role the myth played in what may be called an ideological conquest. Since its inception in the 9th century, the Kahina legend has provided the ideological armature for use in anticolonial struggles,

Overview

No other North African legend had been adopted, transformed, and used by as many social groups as that of the Kahina myth. In this book, Abdelmajid Hannoum examines the role the myth played in what may be called an ideological conquest. Since its inception in the 9th century, the Kahina legend has provided the ideological armature for use in anticolonial struggles, North African nationalism, Berber nationalism, and Arab feminism. But the Kahina story has also provided the ideological justification for incursions into North Africa by various groups who used the legend to articulate the region as Arab, sometimes French, sometimes Berber, and sometimes Jewish. His book further explores the processes and context in which memories of the past are transformed and shaped, not only by those recounting the legend orally, but by historians writing about North Africa, Islam, and French colonial rule in the region.

In the tradition of Edward Said's Orientalism, Abdelmajid Hannoum's study of the Kahina myth is a vibrant account of the spread of Islam, Arab, and French colonialism in the North African region. Colonial Histories, Postcolonial Memories, through its innovative methodology and extensive use or oral accounts, is also an illuminating exploration of the complexities involved in the production of historical knowledge.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780325002538
Publisher:
ABC-CLIO, Incorporated
Publication date:
09/19/2001
Series:
Studies in African Literature Series
Pages:
240
Product dimensions:
6.14(w) x 9.21(h) x 0.56(d)

Table of Contents

Introduction
From Memory to History
Colonial Histories
From History to Fiction
Post-Colonial Memories
Literature and History
Conclusion
Bibliography
Index

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews