Comes A Wind

Comes A Wind

5.0 1
by Linda Arms White, Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff, Tom Curry
     
 

Ever since they were little, Clement and Clyde had tried to best each other. But on Mama's birthday, they vow to get along and keep the peace. And they do... until a gently breeze stirs up their imaginations and blows away their common sense. Then these two can't resist topping each other with one windy tale after another ("You call that a wind? Why, one day it was so…  See more details below

Overview

Ever since they were little, Clement and Clyde had tried to best each other. But on Mama's birthday, they vow to get along and keep the peace. And they do... until a gently breeze stirs up their imaginations and blows away their common sense. Then these two can't resist topping each other with one windy tale after another ("You call that a wind? Why, one day it was so windy...") until, having been completely oblivious to how windy it's become, they finally notice that the wind has picked up practically everything in sight—the chickens, cows, outhouse, even Mama herself! Clement and Clyde do stop squabblin', at least long enough to work together to rescue Mama, in this wry, funny tale about sibling rivalry and one-upmanship. Illustrated in blazing southwestern colors and full of witty details, this is a tall tale that will have young and old alike laughing out loud. Yahoo!

)

Author Biography: Linda Arms White is the author of Too Many Pumpkins, an ABA Pick of the Lists and a Children's Choice Book. She lives in Loveland, Colorado. Tom Curry's first picture book, The Bootmaker and the Elves by Susan Lowell, was an ABA Pick of the Lists and a Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book. He lives in Alpine, Texas.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Houston Chronicle
Clyde and Clement's tall tales must have been spawned in Texas; Tom Curry's illustrations capture the spirit.
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
The longhorn flavor of the tall-taling brothers is droll and appealingly childlike... If you're focusing on weather or looking for an offbeat tall tale, this'll be a breath of fresh air.
Kids' Pick of the Lists
A great tale of sibling rivalry, western style, with bright, zany, and wonderfully detailed illustrations that are absolutely perfect for the story.
Grand Rapids Press
The cowboy-talkin' , slapstick story and the hilarious illustrations by Tom Curry make this a fun read-aloud.
Inland Valley Daily Bulletin
In the tradition of Pecos Bill and Paul Bunyan... Comes A Wind is fun from start to finish.... sure to be a hit with youngsters, and with parents who have their own Clyde and Clement.
New York Times Book Review (Starred Review
Clement and Clyde promise Mama that for her birthday they will behave nicely. They sit on the porch boasting, cowboy style, till a real wind comes up and they have to cooperate to rescue their mother.
Children's Literature - Children's Literature
Two cowboy brothers, Clement and Clyde, carry sibling rivalry more than a little bit too far. Since they were children, in fact, they've been one-upping each other. No matter what they compare, each one always simply has to outdo the other. Their mother invites them to come home for her birthday, and in her letter says that the best birthday present they could give her would be to get along while they're with her. And the two, being loving, obedient boys, vow that they'll try. We wonder how sincere they are the minute they show up. Clement "shambled toward the house like a hound dog on its way to a flea dip." Clyde "shuffled toward the house like a calf on the end of a branding rope." Their pickup trucks, while different, are both as gaudy as can be. Clement has a ten-gallon hat; Clyde has made sure his is...a fifteen-gallon hat! It looks like the boys are doomed to failure. Or are they? Help comes from an unusual source, and they're forced to cooperate to save their mother's life. Terrific word choices lead quickly to the happy solution to a semi-serious situation. A really fun romp. 2000, Dorling Kindersley, Ages 4 to 8, $15.95. Reviewer: Judy Silverman—Children's Literature
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 3-Brothers Clement and Clyde have spent their lives one-upping each other. Just before her birthday, their mother invites her grown sons to her ranch, requesting that, "Just once, I'd like to pass the day with you two boys and no squabblin'!" When a wind comes up as they sit on Mama's porch, the brothers can't resist telling tales about winds they've experienced: "You call that a wind?-Why, one day it was so windy, it ripped our clothes plumb off the line-My Mimi's dainties landed on that Texas Ranger statue in front of town hall. Now that was a wind!" When the real wind tops all the tall tales, blowing Mama and her birthday cake up onto the weathervane, Clement and Clyde cooperate to rescue her, pleasing the woman with their efforts and causing all three to agree, "Now that was a wind!" Curry's folk-art style acrylic paintings, featuring chickens whose feathers have been plucked by the gale, a tuba player who has had his instrument blown around his body, exaggerated bowlegs on the brothers, and electric-blue hair on Mama, make a perfect accompaniment to White's witty tall tale. In a subtle touch, Curry's illustrations remain within the frame except when that real wind starts a-blowin. Even if they've never experienced a determined prairie wind or sibling rivalry, readers will be blown away by this amusing book.-Ginny Gustin, Sonoma County Library System, Santa Rosa, CA Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information.|

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780789426017
Publisher:
DK Publishing, Inc.
Publication date:
02/28/2000
Series:
Melanie Kroupa Bks.
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
9.24(w) x 9.64(h) x 0.44(d)
Lexile:
AD650L (what's this?)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Comes a Wind 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
We have two boys and are from the south, this book is a must for any misplaced southerner! Not to mention fun to read.