BN.com Gift Guide

Comes A Wind

( 1 )

Overview

Ever since they were little, Clement and Clyde had tried to best each other. But on Mama's birthday, they vow to get along and keep the peace. And they do... until a gently breeze stirs up their imaginations and blows away their common sense. Then these two can't resist topping each other with one windy tale after another ("You call that a wind? Why, one day it was so windy...") until, having been completely oblivious to how windy it's become, they finally notice that the wind has picked up practically everything...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (18) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $15.81   
  • Used (14) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing 1 – 3 of 4
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$15.81
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(3057)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
2000 Hardcover New

Ships from: San Jose, CA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$55.64
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(310)

Condition: New
Brand New Item.

Ships from: Chatham, NJ

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$80.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(194)

Condition: New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing 1 – 3 of 4
Close
Sort by
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Ever since they were little, Clement and Clyde had tried to best each other. But on Mama's birthday, they vow to get along and keep the peace. And they do... until a gently breeze stirs up their imaginations and blows away their common sense. Then these two can't resist topping each other with one windy tale after another ("You call that a wind? Why, one day it was so windy...") until, having been completely oblivious to how windy it's become, they finally notice that the wind has picked up practically everything in sight—the chickens, cows, outhouse, even Mama herself! Clement and Clyde do stop squabblin', at least long enough to work together to rescue Mama, in this wry, funny tale about sibling rivalry and one-upmanship. Illustrated in blazing southwestern colors and full of witty details, this is a tall tale that will have young and old alike laughing out loud. Yahoo!

)

Author Biography: Linda Arms White is the author of Too Many Pumpkins, an ABA Pick of the Lists and a Children's Choice Book. She lives in Loveland, Colorado. Tom Curry's first picture book, The Bootmaker and the Elves by Susan Lowell, was an ABA Pick of the Lists and a Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book. He lives in Alpine, Texas.

While visiting their mother's ranch, two brothers who constantly try to best each other swap tall tales about big winds and are surprised by the fiercest wind they have ever seen.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Houston Chronicle
Clyde and Clement's tall tales must have been spawned in Texas; Tom Curry's illustrations capture the spirit.
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
The longhorn flavor of the tall-taling brothers is droll and appealingly childlike... If you're focusing on weather or looking for an offbeat tall tale, this'll be a breath of fresh air.
Kids' Pick of the Lists
A great tale of sibling rivalry, western style, with bright, zany, and wonderfully detailed illustrations that are absolutely perfect for the story.
Grand Rapids Press
The cowboy-talkin' , slapstick story and the hilarious illustrations by Tom Curry make this a fun read-aloud.
Inland Valley Daily Bulletin
In the tradition of Pecos Bill and Paul Bunyan... Comes A Wind is fun from start to finish.... sure to be a hit with youngsters, and with parents who have their own Clyde and Clement.
New York Times Book Review (Starred Review
Clement and Clyde promise Mama that for her birthday they will behave nicely. They sit on the porch boasting, cowboy style, till a real wind comes up and they have to cooperate to rescue their mother.
Children's Literature - Children's Literature
Two cowboy brothers, Clement and Clyde, carry sibling rivalry more than a little bit too far. Since they were children, in fact, they've been one-upping each other. No matter what they compare, each one always simply has to outdo the other. Their mother invites them to come home for her birthday, and in her letter says that the best birthday present they could give her would be to get along while they're with her. And the two, being loving, obedient boys, vow that they'll try. We wonder how sincere they are the minute they show up. Clement "shambled toward the house like a hound dog on its way to a flea dip." Clyde "shuffled toward the house like a calf on the end of a branding rope." Their pickup trucks, while different, are both as gaudy as can be. Clement has a ten-gallon hat; Clyde has made sure his is...a fifteen-gallon hat! It looks like the boys are doomed to failure. Or are they? Help comes from an unusual source, and they're forced to cooperate to save their mother's life. Terrific word choices lead quickly to the happy solution to a semi-serious situation. A really fun romp. 2000, Dorling Kindersley, Ages 4 to 8, $15.95. Reviewer: Judy Silverman—Children's Literature
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 3-Brothers Clement and Clyde have spent their lives one-upping each other. Just before her birthday, their mother invites her grown sons to her ranch, requesting that, "Just once, I'd like to pass the day with you two boys and no squabblin'!" When a wind comes up as they sit on Mama's porch, the brothers can't resist telling tales about winds they've experienced: "You call that a wind?-Why, one day it was so windy, it ripped our clothes plumb off the line-My Mimi's dainties landed on that Texas Ranger statue in front of town hall. Now that was a wind!" When the real wind tops all the tall tales, blowing Mama and her birthday cake up onto the weathervane, Clement and Clyde cooperate to rescue her, pleasing the woman with their efforts and causing all three to agree, "Now that was a wind!" Curry's folk-art style acrylic paintings, featuring chickens whose feathers have been plucked by the gale, a tuba player who has had his instrument blown around his body, exaggerated bowlegs on the brothers, and electric-blue hair on Mama, make a perfect accompaniment to White's witty tall tale. In a subtle touch, Curry's illustrations remain within the frame except when that real wind starts a-blowin. Even if they've never experienced a determined prairie wind or sibling rivalry, readers will be blown away by this amusing book.-Ginny Gustin, Sonoma County Library System, Santa Rosa, CA Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information.|
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780789426017
  • Publisher: DK Publishing, Inc.
  • Publication date: 2/28/2000
  • Series: Melanie Kroupa Bks.
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 4 - 8 Years
  • Lexile: AD650L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 9.24 (w) x 9.64 (h) x 0.44 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2000

    great book!

    We have two boys and are from the south, this book is a must for any misplaced southerner! Not to mention fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)