Coming of Dragons (The Darkest Age #1)
  • Coming of Dragons (The Darkest Age #1)
  • Coming of Dragons (The Darkest Age #1)

Coming of Dragons (The Darkest Age #1)

4.1 16
by A.J. Lake
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Edmund, a king's son in disguise, and Elspeth, a sea captain's tomboy daughter, are the only two survivors of a terrible shipwreck. They just want to go home, but fate has other plans as they are drawn into the fight against an evil warlord terrorizing their homeland. Accompanied by a mysterious minstrel and haunted by magical powers they did not seek, Edmund and

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

Edmund, a king's son in disguise, and Elspeth, a sea captain's tomboy daughter, are the only two survivors of a terrible shipwreck. They just want to go home, but fate has other plans as they are drawn into the fight against an evil warlord terrorizing their homeland. Accompanied by a mysterious minstrel and haunted by magical powers they did not seek, Edmund and Elspeth journey across a savage land of wild boars, fierce rogue knights, and black magic. Fantasy fans will devour this dramatic tale of mystery, wonder, and the power of friendship.

Editorial Reviews

VOYA
Evil appears unleashed in the form of a dragon amidst the already horrifying torment of a storm that threatens to wreck the ship. The danger of drowning moves Elspeth to tether herself to the mainsail. But only luck can save her and Edmund from the dragon's fire that threatens to burn them and the boat to cinders in the middle of the raging rainstorm. They become the only survivors of the ship along with a mysterious trunk filled with ancient magic, which alters their destiny by pitting them against the evil Orgrim. Elspeth, the tomboy daughter of the ship's Captain, becomes the magical crystal sword bearer, while Edmund, a King's son in disguise, discovers his own Ripente powers, as one who could look into a man's mind and out through his eyes. In this debut novel, Lake skillfully kicks off a quest series, The Darkest Age, with a page-turner that will leave readers eagerly awaiting the next installment. This early medieval tale that blends adventure, suspense, friendship, and magic as well as the savage world of wild boars, malevolent knights, dragons, and ancient evil will appeal to boys and girls alike. Middle school and junior high readers who enjoyed Christopher Paolini's books, Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke (The Chicken House/Scholastic, 2004/VOYA October 2004), and The World of Eldeterra: The Dragon Conspiracy by P. R. Moredun (Eos/Harper Collins, 2005/VOYA October 2005) will appreciate this fearsome dragon saga. VOYA CODES: 4Q 4P M J (Better than most, marred only by occasional lapses; Broad general YA appeal; Middle School, defined as grades 6 to 8; Junior High, defined as grades 7 to 9). 2006, Bloomsbury, 250p., Ages 11 to 15.
—Ava Ehde
Kirkus Reviews
A disguised young prince and a mariner's daughter survive shipwreck, relentless pursuit, a power-hungry sorcerer and dragon attacks in this well-knit series opener. Sole survivors of a mysterious, fire-laced tempest, Edmund and Elspeth are cast ashore together. When Elspeth numbly opens an old trunk that washes up too, she finds herself unwillingly bonded to an invisible gauntlet that flares into sight at need, wielding a bright sword. Suddenly, armored minions of Orgrim, a powerful "repente" able at will to see through the eyes of others, are harrying her and Edmund, himself dismayed to discover that he has strange magical powers, across the countryside. The two fugitives make a good team; Edmund shuttles between arrogance and scared innocence, but shows a good heart and deep reserves of courage, while Elspeth, more mature despite being about the same age, brings a practical turn of mind to the mix, along with enough spirit to cope with loss and reversals. Lake gives her tale an early medieval setting, populates it with a supporting cast featuring both an enigmatic Harper and a huge dragon and closes with hints of a dangerous plot to free a long-fettered god. A promising set-up, conveyed with above average skill. (Fantasy. 11-13)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781582349022
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Publication date:
03/06/2007
Series:
Darkest Age Series, #1
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
240
Product dimensions:
5.12(w) x 7.78(h) x 0.71(d)
Lexile:
790L (what's this?)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >