Coming of Dragons (The Darkest Age #1)
  • Coming of Dragons (The Darkest Age #1)
  • Coming of Dragons (The Darkest Age #1)

Coming of Dragons (The Darkest Age #1)

4.1 16
by A.J. Lake
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Edmund, a king's son in disguise, and Elspeth, a sea captain's tomboy daughter, are the only two survivors of a terrible shipwreck. They just want to go home, but fate has other plans as they are drawn into the fight against an evil warlord terrorizing their homeland. Accompanied by a mysterious minstrel and haunted by magical powers they did not seek, Edmund and

…  See more details below

Overview

Edmund, a king's son in disguise, and Elspeth, a sea captain's tomboy daughter, are the only two survivors of a terrible shipwreck. They just want to go home, but fate has other plans as they are drawn into the fight against an evil warlord terrorizing their homeland. Accompanied by a mysterious minstrel and haunted by magical powers they did not seek, Edmund and Elspeth journey across a savage land of wild boars, fierce rogue knights, and black magic. Fantasy fans will devour this dramatic tale of mystery, wonder, and the power of friendship.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“This is an extraordinary adventure. Swordplay, guns, helicopters, fast cars and a striking conclusion make for a headlong, interesting read for teenagers.” —CurledUpKids.com
VOYA
Evil appears unleashed in the form of a dragon amidst the already horrifying torment of a storm that threatens to wreck the ship. The danger of drowning moves Elspeth to tether herself to the mainsail. But only luck can save her and Edmund from the dragon's fire that threatens to burn them and the boat to cinders in the middle of the raging rainstorm. They become the only survivors of the ship along with a mysterious trunk filled with ancient magic, which alters their destiny by pitting them against the evil Orgrim. Elspeth, the tomboy daughter of the ship's Captain, becomes the magical crystal sword bearer, while Edmund, a King's son in disguise, discovers his own Ripente powers, as one who could look into a man's mind and out through his eyes. In this debut novel, Lake skillfully kicks off a quest series, The Darkest Age, with a page-turner that will leave readers eagerly awaiting the next installment. This early medieval tale that blends adventure, suspense, friendship, and magic as well as the savage world of wild boars, malevolent knights, dragons, and ancient evil will appeal to boys and girls alike. Middle school and junior high readers who enjoyed Christopher Paolini's books, Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke (The Chicken House/Scholastic, 2004/VOYA October 2004), and The World of Eldeterra: The Dragon Conspiracy by P. R. Moredun (Eos/Harper Collins, 2005/VOYA October 2005) will appreciate this fearsome dragon saga. VOYA CODES: 4Q 4P M J (Better than most, marred only by occasional lapses; Broad general YA appeal; Middle School, defined as grades 6 to 8; Junior High, defined as grades 7 to 9). 2006, Bloomsbury, 250p., Ages 11 to 15.
—Ava Ehde
Kirkus Reviews
A disguised young prince and a mariner's daughter survive shipwreck, relentless pursuit, a power-hungry sorcerer and dragon attacks in this well-knit series opener. Sole survivors of a mysterious, fire-laced tempest, Edmund and Elspeth are cast ashore together. When Elspeth numbly opens an old trunk that washes up too, she finds herself unwillingly bonded to an invisible gauntlet that flares into sight at need, wielding a bright sword. Suddenly, armored minions of Orgrim, a powerful "repente" able at will to see through the eyes of others, are harrying her and Edmund, himself dismayed to discover that he has strange magical powers, across the countryside. The two fugitives make a good team; Edmund shuttles between arrogance and scared innocence, but shows a good heart and deep reserves of courage, while Elspeth, more mature despite being about the same age, brings a practical turn of mind to the mix, along with enough spirit to cope with loss and reversals. Lake gives her tale an early medieval setting, populates it with a supporting cast featuring both an enigmatic Harper and a huge dragon and closes with hints of a dangerous plot to free a long-fettered god. A promising set-up, conveyed with above average skill. (Fantasy. 11-13)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781582349022
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Publication date:
03/06/2007
Series:
Darkest Age Series, #1
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
240
Sales rank:
574,009
Product dimensions:
5.12(w) x 7.78(h) x 0.71(d)
Lexile:
790L (what's this?)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

A. J. LAKE is a former teacher with a lifelong interest in the period of British history known as the Dark Ages. She is inspired by mountains, storms, and places of ice and snow. And she secretly hopes that dragons are real.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Coming of Dragons (The Darkest Age #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was a really great book. I read it in one day. I really love the covers and the end is cliff-hanging!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to say this book ROCKS! The cover didn't look too amusing for my taste but WHOA talk about don't judge a book by its cover! IT was really cool. It took me a week to finish. Talk about a snail-reader, but I really enjoyed it. Lots of action, an will get you gripping the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the book in one day It was that good I couldn't put it down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is so good. You realy should read it.Also it has lots of action.There are no heroes but it is about dragons.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book waz so good i couldnt put it down. fantasy lovers will injoy this captavating book, it will be one of ua favoritz
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I finsied it in 2 days i couldnt put it down. Fantasy lovers will love this book.
PO_PIXIE-reading_nolifer More than 1 year ago
Let me start out by saying this book has been a favorite of mine for years. The writing style is beautiful. The characters are interesting and intriguing. If you've already read it I HIGHLY suggest reading the sequels because this series is life altering. I could go on forever. I couldn't put it down. I must confess to a slight predictability but there are enough curve balls to keep the ending a complete surprise. The last book, if you decide to read the series, is completely action packed. The second one is full of mystery. The first one is boat loaded with drama. But not teen drama like life or death drama. The world A.J. crated here is something you shouldn't miss out on. if you liked it check out my suggestions. They all have a fantasy theme but are not the same. Seriously READ THIS BOOK!!!! You wont regret it! -pixie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tinkerbellv101 More than 1 year ago
The characters are well developed and easy to understand. It moves at a nice pace keeping you entertained. The plot pulls you in and overall I'd say a good book. Short and sweet when your in the mood for Dragons.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To sum it all up... it is an awesome book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago