×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Compete
     

Compete

4.6 40
by Vera Nazarian
 

See All Formats & Editions

It's one thing to Qualify...
But do you have what it takes to Compete?

With Earth about to be destroyed by an extinction level asteroid, teenage nerd, geek, and awkward smart girl Gwen Lark, and a few of her friends and loved ones, barely Qualified for rescue onboard one of the thousands of ark-ships headed to the ancient colony planet

Overview

It's one thing to Qualify...
But do you have what it takes to Compete?

With Earth about to be destroyed by an extinction level asteroid, teenage nerd, geek, and awkward smart girl Gwen Lark, and a few of her friends and loved ones, barely Qualified for rescue onboard one of the thousands of ark-ships headed to the ancient colony planet Atlantis.

Now faced with a year-long journey in space, life in a wondrously alien environment, and many tough life choices, Gwen must decide who or what she will become. Fleet Cadet or Civilian? Friend or lover? Average or extraordinary?

Can she make new friends? Can she trust the old ones, such as Logan Sangre, her sexy high school crush and an Earth special operative?

Time and time again, Gwen's uncanny ability to come up with the best answer in a crisis saves her life and others. And now, her unique Logos voice makes her an extremely valuable commodity to the Atlanteans--so much so that her enigmatic commanding officer Aeson Kassiopei, who is also the Imperial Prince of Atlantis, has taken an increasingly personal interest in her.

Before the end of the journey, Gwen must convince him that she has what it takes to compete in the deadly Games of the Atlantis Grail.

It's becoming apparent--the life of her family and all of Earth depends on it.

Product Details

BN ID:
2940151149198
Publisher:
Norilana Books
Publication date:
08/15/2015
Series:
The Atlantis Grail , #2
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
11,190
File size:
523 KB

Meet the Author

VERA NAZARIAN is a two-time Nebula Award Nominee, award-winning artist, and member of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, a writer with a penchant for moral fables and stories of intense wonder, true love, and intricacy.

She is the author of critically acclaimed novels DREAMS OF THE COMPASS ROSE and LORDS OF RAINBOW, the outrageous parodies MANSFIELD PARK AND MUMMIES and NORTHANGER ABBEY AND ANGELS AND DRAGONS, and most recently, PRIDE AND PLATYPUS: MR. DARCY'S DREADFUL SECRET in her humorous and surprisingly romantic Supernatural Jane Austen Series, as well as the Renaissance epic fantasy COBWEB BRIDE Trilogy, and the high-octane adventure YA / teen dystopian apocalyptic science fiction Series THE ATLANTIS GRAIL.

After many years in Los Angeles, Vera lives in a small town in Vermont, and uses her Armenian sense of humor and her Russian sense of suffering to bake conflicted pirozhki and make art.

Her official author website is www.veranazarian.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Compete 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
abbenormal More than 1 year ago
I loved Qualify and the second in the series was even better! Lots of action, emotion, character and plot development that leaves you dying for the next in the series. I haven't been this engaged in a series for a very long time.
SusanFranzblauHyp More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this series and really wish "The Atlantis Grail" had been available when I was young. The story is dynamic and well-written. In the series' first book, "Qualify," the Earth is about to be destroyed by an asteroid and the people from ancient Atlantis, who left Earth to colonize another planet, return to save as many people as they can. However, they can only take a limited number--teenagers who are the best of the best. Gwen Lark not only Qualified, but she discovered that she can do things with her voice in a way that's very important to the Atlanteans. Her quirky genius and curiosity have made her a unique and valuable problem solver. "Compete" is about Gwen's experiences on the year-long voyage to Atlantis. As is "Qualify," there is danger, action, compelling situations, humor, wonder, and romance. But "Compete" is also
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to read the next one!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive read both books and can hardly wait for the third! Im looking up at the stars more often now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to read the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is difficult to find teen books with a main character who isn't either apathetic about life, always breaking the rules, or making dumb choices. In Compete, Gwen can be a bit of a Mary Sue, but that's only because she is actually good at something and does the right thing. Informal writing style really aids in the whole " I'm a teen with regular teen goals" view of Gwen. As a teen girl who is really quite sick of reading books where young women my age are portrayed as scarred, stupid, or rude and unfriendly 'action figure' women. It is refreshing to have a novel which features a woman who is good at something and isn't afraid to show her intelligence. However, the Mary sue connection could really be severed with a bit more author concentration on Gwen's faults. It is important for young women to see that everyone has problems and that they are not alone in their journey to adulthood. Overall, it is a very good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It touches your soul and brings you to tears unbidden, unstoppable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
nanapie More than 1 year ago
After reading the first free book "Qualify" I couldn't wait to read this one. My only complaint is waiting for the next two books to be available....Great read for all ages!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stayed up way past bedtime
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down. Great read in the vein of The Hunger Games and Divergent.
Anonymous 4 days ago
Can't wait for the next book!
RobinJay 18 days ago
First I have read book one and was hooked. This second book kept me up all night reading it. I love it. Feel it was better then the first. I hope the next book comes out soon!!!!
Anonymous 3 months ago
One of the best distopian books on the scene. Kept me on the edge of my seat, the entire time. I felt like it was me..... Great job! Great read! Thanks! Magically engrossing. Great knowable characters
Anonymous 3 months ago
Anonymous 3 months ago
Spikessong 8 months ago
Second book in the series - I couldn't put it down! It had science fiction, humor, excitement, mystery, romance and great characters! I really enjoyed it and want to read the next one in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for book three.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Better than the one before . If only I could have said it differently
carl-larsen More than 1 year ago
the first book, qualify, was pretty good. i bought the second because it was recommended. the recommendations were wrong. this book didn't much follow the story arc as outlined in the synopsis. this book is actually soft core teen age romance. if you like hearing about the wardrobe at dances (4 of them) and get excited about an insecure teenage girl being electrocuted, electrified or tingle with electric waves every time she looks at a man, this is the book for you. i'm embarrassed i bought this book. i won't buy the third in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was grabbed by the Atlantis reference and enthralled by the depth of the characters. I enjoyed the growth of the nerdy bookworm and loved the twist at the end of book 2. I was hoping for it but didn't want to rely on that hope as we arrives at the climactic conclusion. Can't wait for the next 2 books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me guessing and always surprised i never got bored this writer has amazing talent these books were great! Wheb does the next one come out!? I need it!