Complete Sun Singles, Vol. 4

Complete Sun Singles, Vol. 4


By the time the singles on this four-disc set were released (1959 into 1962), Sun was a much different label than the one that discovered Elvis Presley just a few years earlier. Presley, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins and Roy Orbison had moved to other labels, and Jerry Lee Lewis was in the middle of trying to…  See more details below


By the time the singles on this four-disc set were released (1959 into 1962), Sun was a much different label than the one that discovered Elvis Presley just a few years earlier. Presley, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins and Roy Orbison had moved to other labels, and Jerry Lee Lewis was in the middle of trying to reassemble the pieces of his career. Label owner Sam Phillips was in the midst of leaving his fabled 706 Union Memphis Recording Service for a new studio across town, never again finding the warm intimacy that graced his early recorded efforts. The label also pursued trends that seemed to be selling at that moment, and largely gone was that anarchic spirit that made all the early Sun issues so legendary. But there was still a pronounced regional flavor and inherent sound to a Sun record -- even the ones cut in Nashville during this period -- that emerged from the grooves, no matter how much the original master tape was embalmed in chirping female choruses and syrupy strings. Disc one sports more than a few classic sides -- including Rayburn Anthony's "Alice Blue Gown" and Tracy Pendarvis' double-sided blast from Sun's past, "A Thousand Guitars"/"Is It Too Late" -- amid the commercial dross. There were other stray nods to Sun's rockin' past with Sonny Wilson's "The Great Pretender" (sporting one of the most confused guitar breaks ever released on the label) and "I'm Gonna Take a Walk," but perhaps even more interesting was the continual mining of the vaults for more Johnny Cash sides. Disc two follows this pattern, with a pair of Jerry Lee Lewis 45s and Cash singles standing alongside Tracy Pendarvis' "Is It Me" as musical high points, but these were severely undercut by the issuance of pop-inspired crossover material. Disc three kicks off with a major surprise, a two-sided Charlie Rich instrumental issued under the name Bobby Sheridan. More Cash material from the vaults is aboard, along with Jerry Lee's back-to-the-charts hit, "What'd I Say." The final disc illustrates what a hit record did to Jerry Lee's stock at the label, as Sun issued one single after another in its wake, scoring another hit with "Money" alongside "Sweet Little Sixteen," the last Sun chart entry. Harold Dorman's "Uncle Jonah's Place," Johnny Cash's "Blue Train" and Don Hosea's "Uh Huh Huh" (actually Willie Cobb's "You Don't Love Me") complete the list of listenable items on this set. Sun was nearing the end of the line as well as changing its musical direction, but there was still great stuff to be found in their release schedule, and this box nicely collects it all up in one place.

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:


Disc 1

  1. You're My Kind
  2. Ballad of St. Marks
  3. Little Queenie
  4. I Could Never Be Ashamed of You
  5. You Tell Me
  6. Goodbye Little Darlin' Goodbye
  7. What a Life
  8. Together
  9. Alice Blue Gown
  10. St. Louis Blues
  11. Straight A's in Love
  12. I Love You Because
  13. A Thousand Guitars
  14. Is It Too Late
  15. Walkin' and Talkin'
  16. Somebody Just Like You
  17. Old Black Joe
  18. Baby Baby Bye Bye
  19. The Legend of the Big Steeple
  20. Broken Hearted Willie
  21. Whose Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet
  22. There's No Tomorrow
  23. Bobaloo
  24. Bad Times Ahead
  25. The Great Pretender
  26. I'm Gonna Take a Walk

Disc 2

  1. You Burned the Bridges
  2. Cheaters Never Win
  3. The Story of a Broken Heart
  4. Down the Street to 301
  5. John Henry
  6. Hang up My Rock & Roll Shoes
  7. Southbound Line
  8. Is It Me?
  9. Señorita
  10. Guess I'd Better Go
  11. Port of Lonely Hearts
  12. Mean Eyed Cat
  13. The Good Guy Always Wins
  14. The Time Is Right
  15. I Gotta Know (Where I Stand)
  16. Is It Too Late (To Say I'm Sorry)
  17. The Rockin' Stockin'
  18. The Rockin' Stockin'
  19. You Don't Love Me Anymore
  20. More Than Anything (In the World)
  21. When I Get Paid
  22. Love Made a Fool of Me
  23. Sweet and Easy to Love
  24. Devil Dol

Disc 3

  1. Red Man
  2. Sad News
  3. Oh, Lonesome Me
  4. Life Goes On
  5. What'd I Say
  6. Livin' Lovin' Wreck
  7. U T Party, Pt. 1
  8. U T Party, Pt. 2
  9. Belle of the Suwannee
  10. Eternally
  11. Groovy Train
  12. Highland Rock
  13. I Can't Show How I Feel
  14. I'll Wait Forever
  15. I'll Stick by You
  16. There They Go
  17. Sugartime
  18. My Treasurer
  19. It Won't Happen With Me
  20. Cold, Cold Heart
  21. I Forgot to Remember to Forget
  22. Other Side
  23. Well I Ask Ya
  24. Darlena

Disc 4

  1. Save the Last Dance for Me
  2. As Long as I Live
  3. Since I Met You
  4. Uh Huh Unh
  5. Human Emotions
  6. Everybody's Searching
  7. Uncle Jonah's Place
  8. Just One Step
  9. Money (That's What I Want)
  10. Bonnie B.
  11. Travlin' Salesman
  12. I Won't Miss You (Till You Go)
  13. How Well I Know
  14. Big Dream
  15. I've Been Twistin'
  16. Ramblin' Rose
  17. Candy Doll
  18. Hey, Boss Man (Twist)
  19. Blue Train
  20. Born to Lose
  21. In the Beginning
  22. Wait Til Saturday Night
  23. (Meet Me) After School
  24. Just Around the Corner
  25. Sweet Little Sixteen
  26. How's My Ex Treating You

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny Cash   Vocals
Jerry Lee Lewis   Piano,Vocals
Ray Anthony   Track Performer
Ray Smith   Track Performer
Tony Rossine   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Willie Cobbs   Composer
Stephen Foster   Composer
Gene Autry   Composer
Johnny Cash   Composer
Charlie Rich   Composer
Chuck Berry   Composer
Ray Charles   Composer
Hank Davis   Introduction,Text
Charlie Feathers   Composer
Jerry Lee Lewis   Composer
Roy Orbison   Composer,Contributor
W.C. Handy   Composer
Scotty Moore   Producer
Billy Smith   Composer
Buck Ram   Composer
Bobby Wood   Contributor
Otis Blackwell   Composer
Jack Clement   Composer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes,Reissue Producer,Illustrations,Tape Research
Berry Gordy   Composer
Stan Kesler   Composer,Producer
Junior Parker   Composer
Harold Shedd   Composer
Billy Sherrill   Producer
Huey "Piano" Smith   Composer
Brad Suggs   Composer
Charles Underwood   Composer,Producer
Hank Williams   Composer
Sam Phillips   Composer
Rayburn Anthony   Contributor
Johnny Marvin   Composer
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Illustrations
Dave Sax   Tape Research
Shirley Sisk   Contributor
Janie Bradford   Composer
Vic McAlpin   Composer
Don Scaife   Composer
Tony Austin   Composer
Wade Cagle   Contributor
Benny Joy   Contributor
Wolfgang Taubenauer   Artwork
Traditional   Composer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >