Composers On Music: Eight Centuries of Writings

Composers On Music: Eight Centuries of Writings

by Josiah Fisk

View All Available Formats & Editions

Sam Morgenstern's classic anthology, now thoroughly updated with new selections and commentary reflecting recent music scholarshipSee more details below


Sam Morgenstern's classic anthology, now thoroughly updated with new selections and commentary reflecting recent music scholarship

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
A thorough revision of Sam Morgenstern's 1956 classic, with 40% new material. (Jan.)
Library Journal
This volume is a greatly expanded version of the classic 1956 anthology by Sam Morgenstern. Fisk has added 30 composers to the roster, mostly in the pre-Baroque and contemporary eras, and has taken advantage of recent scholarship to prune and update the entries. The result is a fascinating glimpse into the writings of 103 major composers, from Marchetto of Paduo (14th century) on the definition of musician, to the contemporary British composer Oliver Knussen on much the same topic. Music history buffs will recognize chestnuts such as Bach's famous memorandum to the Town Council of Leipzig and will be pleased to make new discoveries, such as the elegant, cryptic prose of Toru Takemitsu. A singular pleasure, in fact, is to recognize that many composers are almost as fluent in the written word as they are in the transient world of musical sound. And while pettiness and petulance abound, there are enough prescient insights to convince the reader that composers by and large know their subject extremely well. Recommended for general collections.Larry A. Lipkis, Moravian Coll., Bethlehem, Pa.

Product Details

Northeastern University Press
Publication date:
Edition description:
Second Edition
Product dimensions:
6.20(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.12(d)

What People are saying about this

Michael Steinberg
"Sam Morgenstern's Composers on Music has been an indispensable item, for work and for pleasure, these past forty years: the beat-up condition of my copy attests to that. But so much has happened since the 1950s and so many interesting new voices have arisen that we have badly needed an update. Now Josiah Fisk has answered our cry with his thorough revision of that anthology, and he has done it splendidly, bringing his impressive intelligence, knowledge, discrimination, and taste to bear on the job."
Michael Steinberg, Program Annotator of the San Francisco Symphony and the New York Philharmonic

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >