Containment

Containment

3.9 14
by Christian Cantrell
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A brilliant young scientist and one of the first humans born on Venus, Arik works tirelessly to perfect the science of artificial photosynthesis, a project crucial to the future of his home, V1. The colony was built on the harsh Venusian surface by the Founders, the first humans to establish a permanent extraterrestrial settlement. Arik’s research becomes…  See more details below

Overview

A brilliant young scientist and one of the first humans born on Venus, Arik works tirelessly to perfect the science of artificial photosynthesis, a project crucial to the future of his home, V1. The colony was built on the harsh Venusian surface by the Founders, the first humans to establish a permanent extraterrestrial settlement. Arik’s research becomes critical when he awakens from an unexplained, near-fatal accident and learns that his wife is three months pregnant. Unless Arik’s research uncovers a groundbreaking discovery, V1’s oxygen supply will not be able to support the increase in population that his baby represents.

As Arik works against time, he begins to untangle the threads of his accident, which seem inextricably linked to what lies outside the protective walls of V1 — a world where the caustic atmosphere and extreme heat make all forms of known life impossible. For its entire existence, Arik's generation has been expected to help solve the problems of colonization. But as Arik digs deeper and deeper, he discovers alarming truths about the planet that the Founders have kept hidden. With growing urgency and increasing peril, Arik finds himself on a journey that will push him to the limits of his intelligence and take him beyond the unimaginable.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Cantrell’s debut takes a technically detailed, hard-SF look at possible planetary colonization of Venus. Arik is part of Generation V (for Venus), the first generation born off of Earth. Venus has only enough oxygen to support its colonists and 100 members of Gen V. As an adult, Arik tries to develop a process for artificial photosynthesis, but a mysterious accident derails his progress and leaves numerous questions plaguing the people of the V1 colony. Despite a few leaps in logic and some odd assumptions of human behavior—for example, the 50 boys and 50 girls of Gen V are expected to pair up neatly and happily, without divorce, affairs, or homosexuality—Cantrell has produced a thoughtful visualization of a possible future for humankind. (Aug.)
Library Journal
A talented scientist and one of the first humans born in the V1 colony on the hostile surface of Venus, Arik dedicates himself to creating an artificial photosynthesis that will provide enough oxygen to support V1's population. After an accident leaves him seriously injured, Arik awakens to discover that his wife is three months pregnant and that the addition of one more member will overtax the colony's oxygen supply. His attempts to speed his recovery and discover the cause of his accident, however, lead him to a terrible secret that lies at the heart of the colony while testing his resources, his strength, and his faith in humanity. VERDICT This first novel by a software developer is a gripping tale that combines hard science fiction with psychological drama. It is sure to appeal to fans of Vernor Vinge and Kim Stanley Robinson.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781612183626
Publisher:
47North
Publication date:
08/07/2012
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
815,775
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.90(d)

Meet the Author

William Dufris has been nominated nine times as a finalist for the APA's prestigious Audie Award and has garnered tweny-one Earphones Awards from AudioFile magazine, which also named him one of the Best Voices at the End of the Century.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >