Containment

Containment

3.9 14
by Christian Cantrell
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

As Earth's ability to support human life begins to diminish, the Global Space Agency establishes a colony on Venus. When Arik Ockley, part of the first generation to be born and raised off-Earth, undertakes research on artificial photosynthesis to save the life of his unborn child, everything he has ever known is called into question.  See more details below

Overview

As Earth's ability to support human life begins to diminish, the Global Space Agency establishes a colony on Venus. When Arik Ockley, part of the first generation to be born and raised off-Earth, undertakes research on artificial photosynthesis to save the life of his unborn child, everything he has ever known is called into question.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Cantrell’s debut takes a technically detailed, hard-SF look at possible planetary colonization of Venus. Arik is part of Generation V (for Venus), the first generation born off of Earth. Venus has only enough oxygen to support its colonists and 100 members of Gen V. As an adult, Arik tries to develop a process for artificial photosynthesis, but a mysterious accident derails his progress and leaves numerous questions plaguing the people of the V1 colony. Despite a few leaps in logic and some odd assumptions of human behavior—for example, the 50 boys and 50 girls of Gen V are expected to pair up neatly and happily, without divorce, affairs, or homosexuality—Cantrell has produced a thoughtful visualization of a possible future for humankind. (Aug.)
Library Journal
A talented scientist and one of the first humans born in the V1 colony on the hostile surface of Venus, Arik dedicates himself to creating an artificial photosynthesis that will provide enough oxygen to support V1's population. After an accident leaves him seriously injured, Arik awakens to discover that his wife is three months pregnant and that the addition of one more member will overtax the colony's oxygen supply. His attempts to speed his recovery and discover the cause of his accident, however, lead him to a terrible secret that lies at the heart of the colony while testing his resources, his strength, and his faith in humanity. VERDICT This first novel by a software developer is a gripping tale that combines hard science fiction with psychological drama. It is sure to appeal to fans of Vernor Vinge and Kim Stanley Robinson.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780984550517
Publisher:
Cantrell Media Company
Publication date:
05/10/2010
Pages:
248
Product dimensions:
0.56(w) x 9.00(h) x 6.00(d)

Meet the Author

William Dufris has been nominated nine times as a finalist for the APA's prestigious Audie Award and has garnered tweny-one Earphones Awards from AudioFile magazine, which also named him one of the Best Voices at the End of the Century.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Containment 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good story but the end left quite a bit to be desired. Maybe a second one is coming (I hope so otherwise that ending sucked).
mahughesnh More than 1 year ago
It did take me a bit to get started with thestory, but it was worth it. I was not so crazy about the way it ended.
QuellaBrown More than 1 year ago
A great read and I liked the way the author described the environment. I felt the end was either rushed or the author had a page limit that could not be exceeded.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An amazing and original piece of fiction alternating between past and present until the narrative catches up to itself, at which point the mystery rapidly comes to a fascinating conclusion. Characterization is a bit lacking, but I found I didn't mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MsGolda More than 1 year ago
While this is a well written book and I certainly enjoyed it, it is not a mystery at all. I had the big reveal moment at the beginning of the book instead of at the end. I am not sure if my Nook did something weird or if the book really just STOPS when it is done, the ending was more abrupt than I am used to. They had the reveal moment and then there was no more story. Odd and off-putting. The author did a good job drawing me into the character's world and I honestly wanted to know what happened next. Although I knew the end, I still wanted to see how it got there. That is a big plus for someone that reads fast. I would recommend it and I have, in fact, done so already.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago