Containment

( 14 )

Overview

As Earth's ability to support human life begins to diminish, the Global Space Agency establishes a colony on Venus. When Arik Ockley, part of the first generation to be born and raised off-Earth, undertakes research on artificial photosynthesis to save the life of his unborn child, everything he has ever known is called into question.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Paperback
$14.49
BN.com price
(Save 3%)$15.00 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (8) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $0.00   
  • Used (7) from $0.00   
Sending request ...

Overview

As Earth's ability to support human life begins to diminish, the Global Space Agency establishes a colony on Venus. When Arik Ockley, part of the first generation to be born and raised off-Earth, undertakes research on artificial photosynthesis to save the life of his unborn child, everything he has ever known is called into question.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Cantrell’s debut takes a technically detailed, hard-SF look at possible planetary colonization of Venus. Arik is part of Generation V (for Venus), the first generation born off of Earth. Venus has only enough oxygen to support its colonists and 100 members of Gen V. As an adult, Arik tries to develop a process for artificial photosynthesis, but a mysterious accident derails his progress and leaves numerous questions plaguing the people of the V1 colony. Despite a few leaps in logic and some odd assumptions of human behavior—for example, the 50 boys and 50 girls of Gen V are expected to pair up neatly and happily, without divorce, affairs, or homosexuality—Cantrell has produced a thoughtful visualization of a possible future for humankind. (Aug.)
Library Journal
A talented scientist and one of the first humans born in the V1 colony on the hostile surface of Venus, Arik dedicates himself to creating an artificial photosynthesis that will provide enough oxygen to support V1's population. After an accident leaves him seriously injured, Arik awakens to discover that his wife is three months pregnant and that the addition of one more member will overtax the colony's oxygen supply. His attempts to speed his recovery and discover the cause of his accident, however, lead him to a terrible secret that lies at the heart of the colony while testing his resources, his strength, and his faith in humanity. VERDICT This first novel by a software developer is a gripping tale that combines hard science fiction with psychological drama. It is sure to appeal to fans of Vernor Vinge and Kim Stanley Robinson.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780984550517
  • Publisher: Cantrell Media Company
  • Publication date: 5/10/2010
  • Pages: 248
  • Product dimensions: 0.56 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 6.00 (d)

Meet the Author


Christian Cantrell is a science fiction writer and software developer living in Northern Virginia whose short stories include "The Epoch Index" and "Human Legacy Project."

William Dufris has been nominated nine times as a finalist for the APA's prestigious Audie Award and has garnered tweny-one Earphones Awards from AudioFile magazine, which also named him one of the Best Voices at the End of the Century.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    What happened?

    Pretty good story but the end left quite a bit to be desired. Maybe a second one is coming (I hope so otherwise that ending sucked).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book, not so good ending!

    It did take me a bit to get started with thestory, but it was worth it. I was not so crazy about the way it ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The book keep me interested until the end...

    A great read and I liked the way the author described the environment. I felt the end was either rushed or the author had a page limit that could not be exceeded.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Engrossing sci fi mystery

    An amazing and original piece of fiction alternating between past and present until the narrative catches up to itself, at which point the mystery rapidly comes to a fascinating conclusion. Characterization is a bit lacking, but I found I didn't mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Easy to guess the "secret"

    While this is a well written book and I certainly enjoyed it, it is not a mystery at all. I had the big reveal moment at the beginning of the book instead of at the end.

    I am not sure if my Nook did something weird or if the book really just STOPS when it is done, the ending was more abrupt than I am used to. They had the reveal moment and then there was no more story. Odd and off-putting.

    The author did a good job drawing me into the character's world and I honestly wanted to know what happened next. Although I knew the end, I still wanted to see how it got there. That is a big plus for someone that reads fast.

    I would recommend it and I have, in fact, done so already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)