Corona: Works for Choir by Hanne Ørvad

$16.14 price
(Save 5%)$16.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $8.32   
  • New (5) from $8.32   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 9/30/2008
  • Label: Da Capo Open Spaces
  • UPC: 636943653425
  • Catalog Number: 8226534
  • Sales rank: 309,539


Disc 1
  1. 1 Vega, for chorus - Hanna Orvad & Soren K. Hansen (11:23)
  2. 2 Kornell, for chorus - Bo Bergman & Hanna Orvad (9:21)
  3. 3 Threna, paraphrase on the Stabat Mater for chorus, cello & percussion - Hanna Orvad & Tom Nybye (10:02)
  4. 4 Paschal Hymn, for chorus - Hanna Orvad & Danish National Chamber Choir (12:17)
  5. 5 Winter Organ, for chorus - Hanna Orvad & Erik Axel Karlfeldt (21:51)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Danish National Girls Choir Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Vocal rapture

    Although all of the works on this recording bar one are written solely for the human voice, the lack of instrumentation doesn&#8217 t really register as it does with the majority of choral music. This is due largely to the abstract quality of Danish composer Hanne &#216 rvad&#8217 s melodic lines as well as her dense harmonic textures. &#216 rvad bends, shapes and seemingly wills the human voice onto a higher, almost mystical level of expressiveness. That these seven pieces (written between 1991 and 2003, and based upon poems rooted in spiritual and pastoral themes) are sung in Danish further situates them in the realm of pure sound rather than traditional singing. &#216 rvad also tends to focus on the sounds of words rather than their meaning. It all adds up to a highly unique choral aesthetic, one that resembles the vocal music of Krzysztof Penderecki in its ecstatic yet ominous quality. Yet &#216 rvad&#8217 s sense of pace and space is uniquely her own, as are her exquisite tonal colors and infinite emotional range. Listening to these ethereal and highly atmospheric works is like taking a trip to the dark side of the moon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews