Cosmic Forces: The Jake Helman Files

Cosmic Forces: The Jake Helman Files

5.0 2
by Gregory Lamberson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Private investigator Jake Helman has battled a demon, his minions, the walking dead, and beings from the dimensions of the Sphere of Light and the Dark Realm, but now he faces the greatest evil the world has ever known in the third installment of this loosely knit trilogy. Jake is hired by the wife of New York City mayor Myron Madigan to prove his infidelity.…  See more details below

Overview


Private investigator Jake Helman has battled a demon, his minions, the walking dead, and beings from the dimensions of the Sphere of Light and the Dark Realm, but now he faces the greatest evil the world has ever known in the third installment of this loosely knit trilogy. Jake is hired by the wife of New York City mayor Myron Madigan to prove his infidelity. Meanwhile, the ex-girlfriend of his old partner Edgar needs Jake’s help when her son joins a cult that worships space aliens. And Jake’s late wife, Sheryl, now an “agent of Light,” asks him to locate a monster called the Destroyer of Souls—who may be responsible for the disappearance of the Biblical entity known as Abel. The investigation of Madigan leads to Karlin Reichard, a wealthy industrialist and political kingmaker—head of a cabal that has secretly manipulated world affairs for generations. In order to bring these men down, Jake must join them. With earthly and otherworldly forces marshaled against him, Jake battles human assassins and supernatural creatures in his quest to uncover the mystery behind the Order of Avademe and a monster willing to destroy heaven and hell to rule the earth.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"The Jake Helman Files continue to be a magnificent addition to the ranks of occult detectives, with Jake Helman's glass eye deserving a place of honor next to Carl Kolchak's seersucker suit and Teddy London's .45 (Betty) and knife (Veronica). I'd call this series an absolute must read for any horror or hard-boiled detective fan, because Greg Lamberson delivers the goods and does so in spades." —www.BloodSprayer.com (August 26, 2011)

"Two-time Bram Stoker nominee Lamberson has created a hard-boiled hero, gifted with a big heart and sent on intriguingly horrific adventures, who is reminiscent of Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Glen Cook's Garrett, P.I." —Library Journal (August 1, 2011)

"Lamberson knows exactly what he's doing and creates a different, more emotionally charged, and thematically huge story with every subsequent release." —Colum McKnight, www.DreadfulTales.com (August 18, 2011)

"I'm reminded of the tales of The Shadow, Doc Savage, Manly Wade Wellman, H.P. Lovecraft, and other pulp stories. The creativity and pacing make this a very enjoyable and fast-moving novel." —Barry Hunter, www.baryon-online.com (September 2011)

"Fans of Personal Demons and Desperate Souls will definitely enjoy Cosmic Forces. . . . Like all of the prior Jake Helman novels, Cosmic Forces is a quick and fun read for any horror fan." —www.HorrorYearBook.com

"The writing is top-notch, the story compelling, bringing comparisons to F. Paul Wilson's New York Times best-selling Repairman Jack novels." —K. L. Young, Strange Aeons Magazine (November 2011)

"Cosmic Forces is a fast moving, intriguing, action-and-horror-packed read that is a creative tour de force, one that will leave readers equally thrilled and breathless." —www.HorrorWorld.com (November 2011)

"Readers will enjoy his three investigative cases as all roads lead to those who abuse power whether they are from hell, earth, or otherwise. With a nod to Dresden, readers will appreciate the case load of kick butt softy Jake Helman." —www.MidwestBookReview.com (December 2011)

Library Journal
Policeman-turned-private investigator Jake Helman goes against his usual policy of avoiding spousal cases to help out the former beauty queen wife of Myron Madigan, the corrupt mayor of New York City. At the same time, as a favor to the wife of a missing former partner, Helman investigates a suspicious cult known as the Dreamers. His trails lead him to a cabal of powerful men who manipulate world affairs—and an encounter with a monster known as the Destroyer of Souls. In between, he must deal with a rebellious teenager, the spirit of his late wife, and his partner, Edgar, now transformed into a raven. This third series installment (Personal Demons; Desperate Souls) pits Helman against both supernatural and criminal adversaries, whom he faces with a tough-as-nails attitude that barely disguises his inner compassion for the victims of the world. VERDICT Two-time Bram Stoker nominee Lamberson has created a hard-boiled hero, gifted with a big heart and sent on intriguingly horrific adventures, who is reminiscent of Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Glen Cook's Garrett, P.I.
www.BloodSprayer.com
The Jake Helman Files continue to be a magnificent addition to the ranks of occult detectives, with Jake Helman's glass eye deserving a place of honor next to Carl Kolchak's seersucker suit and Teddy London's .45 (Betty) and knife (Veronica). I'd call this series an absolute must read for any horror or hard-boiled detective fan, because Greg Lamberson delivers the goods and does so in spades.
Colum McKnight
Lamberson knows exactly what he's doing and creates a different, more emotionally charged, and thematically huge story with every subsequent release.
www.DreadfulTales.com
Barry Hunter
I'm reminded of the tales of The Shadow, Doc Savage, Manly Wade Wellman, H.P. Lovecraft, and other pulp stories. The creativity and pacing make this a very enjoyable and fast-moving novel.
www.baryon-online.com
www.AuthorBobFreeman.wordpress.com
The Jake Helman Files: Cosmic Forces is must-read horror at its finest.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781605424088
Publisher:
Medallion Media Group
Publication date:
10/01/2011
Series:
The Jake Helman Files Series, #3
Pages:
432
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Gregory Lamberson is the writer and director of Naked Fear, Undying Love, and the cult classic Slime City. He is the author of Desperate Souls, The Frenzy Way, Johnny Gruesome, and the Anubis Award–winning Personal Demons. He lives outside Buffalo, New York.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >