Council of Evil (Villain.net Series #1)

( 6 )

Overview

A week ago, Jake Hunter was just an ordinary kid, leading his bully pack, picking on nerds at school for lunch money, and trying to avoid detention. Then he clicked on a mysterious Web site, Villain.net, that let him download powers like radioactivity and laser vision. Now he’s a superpowered global fugitive wanted for theft, kidnapping, blackmail . . . and the pending destruction of the planet. Not bad for a fourteen-year-old.

But, as Jake soon discovers, there’s no rest for ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (15) from $1.99   
  • New (8) from $4.31   
  • Used (7) from $1.99   
Council of Evil: A Villain.net novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.49
BN.com price
(Save 8%)$5.99 List Price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

A week ago, Jake Hunter was just an ordinary kid, leading his bully pack, picking on nerds at school for lunch money, and trying to avoid detention. Then he clicked on a mysterious Web site, Villain.net, that let him download powers like radioactivity and laser vision. Now he’s a superpowered global fugitive wanted for theft, kidnapping, blackmail . . . and the pending destruction of the planet. Not bad for a fourteen-year-old.

But, as Jake soon discovers, there’s no rest for the wicked—especially when your family’s in danger, your villainous mentor might be plotting against you, and most of the world’s good guys are hot on your trail.

Of course, little does he know that Hero.com is out there too, recruiting teens for the other side. . . .

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Kristy Lyn Sutorius
Jake Hunter, resident bully of his school, is a smart kid, but he does not apply himself. That is until he causes a computer meltdown in his classroom and is introduced to the site of his evilest dreams—villain.net. The site allows Jake to download super villain powers by touching unlabeled icons on a screen. Finally challenged and intrigued, Jake quickly latches on to his new mentor, Basilisk, a villain-gone-rogue with a plan to threaten the stability of the planet. The Council of Evil, the overarching organization of bad guys, has ousted Hunter's mentor from their network, and this robed rock-man is using Jake to enact his plans. Jake begins piecing things together about Basilisk and he has some second thoughts about his involvement with the super villain. Jake's gang from school finds out what he is involved in and they turn on him right before a nuclear bomb is scheduled to be purchased. The plot reaches a different level when Jake realizes that his powers are not simply downloaded, but exist within himself. The idea of writing from a young villain's perspective is a huge draw. The only minor irritation is the inefficiency of the villain's website, which seems like a device by the author to mix up powers and create more mayhem. Jake's budding interest in one of the heroes, Lorna, is a perfect set-up for the next book. Recommended for kids who like the Jimmy Coates and Alex Rider series by Joe Craig and Anthony Horowitz, respectively. Reviewer: Kristy Lyn Sutorius
School Library Journal
Gr 4–8—This book explores the origins of the nemeses of the heroes featured in the Hero.com series. The book's promotional Web site uses unwieldy URLs—www.heroorvillianbooks.com and www.whichsideareyouonbooks.com—but the online content is slickly presented nonetheless. Jake Hunter is the leader of a gang of bullies at his middle school. However, despite his callous treatment of those he considers beneath him, he is ultimately a sympathetic character. When he stumbles upon a Web site with supernatural powers, the computer screen literally morphs into a gray appendage and taps him on the forehead, imbuing him with up to four powers at a time. Flying and the ability to hurl lightning bolts or acid are a few of the powers that Jake decides to try. Basilisk, his supervillain mentor, manipulates him time and time again into physical showdowns with armed military forces to forward his own nefarious schemes. Epic battles no doubt inspired by blockbuster action films crackle with energy, and the excitement pops off the pages. Plenty of stunning reversals are heaped on readers toward the latter half of the book, ratcheting up the dramatic tension. Kids who enjoy DC and Marvel style superheroes will like this superhero comic in novel format. Featuring plenty of fight sequences, secrets, and advanced or prototype technology, this book will appeal to fans of Alex Rider or Danger Boy.—Madigan McGillicuddy, Los Angeles Public Library
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780802795175
  • Publisher: Walker & Company
  • Publication date: 4/28/2009
  • Series: Villain.net Series
  • Pages: 256
  • Sales rank: 1,000,287
  • Age range: 10 - 14 Years
  • Lexile: 840L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.17 (w) x 7.76 (h) x 0.69 (d)

Meet the Author

ANDY BRIGGS has endured many careers, ranging from pizza delivery boy to running his own multimedia company. He currently writes movie scripts for Hollywood and is excited to make his teen fiction debut. He lives in a secret lair somewhere in the southeast of England. His claims about possessing superpowers may be somewhat exaggerated . . .

Visit him at www.myspace.com/andybriggswriter or www.heroorvillainbooks.com

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    This book looks great!!!!!!!!!

    I read the samble and it was awesome. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because it cut you off in the middle of a sentence but still awesome!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Sarena & Sera

    The evil vamp twins are back from vacation & ready to kill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Fang

    Exacly. Leaves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Jake Hunter is your average bully - until one computer class leads him to a mysterious website.

    The website allows him to download superpowers. When a teacher mistakingly witnesses him bullying a much younger student, Jake must serve detention. When Jake attempts to unsuccessfully explain the truth, rage pulses through him.

    Green energy radiates from his body, rendering the teacher unconscious in addition to causing the destruction of the classroom. In a wavering decision, after escaping, Jake rushes back in to save the teacher.

    He's hailed as a hero, but one person knows the truth and sends him an email message with a meeting time and location. Jake arrives there to hear an offer he can't refuse. He's about to become the world's most sought after villain.

    Jake Hunter's journey into the super-villains is only the beginning. An alternate side has also been discovered in RISE OF THE HEROES. Readers will recognize a few crossover characters that will deepen the plot of both novels. The evil storyline moves along quickly, and it's a fun read for middle schoolers interested in comic books or who love rooting for the bad guys.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)