×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Council of Evil (Villain.net Series #1)
     

Council of Evil (Villain.net Series #1)

4.6 5
by Andy Briggs
 

Jake Hunter is your quintessential bully-tough, mean, and misunderstood. While he likes the power gotten from picking on the nerdy kids, he's sick of his dumb buddies, and he craves some adventure in his dull life. So when he stumbles upon a Web site called Villain.net that lets him download superpowers, he's eager to try out the laser vision and the radioactivity.

Overview

Jake Hunter is your quintessential bully-tough, mean, and misunderstood. While he likes the power gotten from picking on the nerdy kids, he's sick of his dumb buddies, and he craves some adventure in his dull life. So when he stumbles upon a Web site called Villain.net that lets him download superpowers, he's eager to try out the laser vision and the radioactivity. But when he joins forces with a supervillain named Basilisk, Jake must decide if he truly wants to accept the consequences of being a villain. And of course, little does he know that Hero.com is out there too, recruiting teens for the other side. . . .

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Kristy Lyn Sutorius
Jake Hunter, resident bully of his school, is a smart kid, but he does not apply himself. That is until he causes a computer meltdown in his classroom and is introduced to the site of his evilest dreams—villain.net. The site allows Jake to download super villain powers by touching unlabeled icons on a screen. Finally challenged and intrigued, Jake quickly latches on to his new mentor, Basilisk, a villain-gone-rogue with a plan to threaten the stability of the planet. The Council of Evil, the overarching organization of bad guys, has ousted Hunter's mentor from their network, and this robed rock-man is using Jake to enact his plans. Jake begins piecing things together about Basilisk and he has some second thoughts about his involvement with the super villain. Jake's gang from school finds out what he is involved in and they turn on him right before a nuclear bomb is scheduled to be purchased. The plot reaches a different level when Jake realizes that his powers are not simply downloaded, but exist within himself. The idea of writing from a young villain's perspective is a huge draw. The only minor irritation is the inefficiency of the villain's website, which seems like a device by the author to mix up powers and create more mayhem. Jake's budding interest in one of the heroes, Lorna, is a perfect set-up for the next book. Recommended for kids who like the Jimmy Coates and Alex Rider series by Joe Craig and Anthony Horowitz, respectively. Reviewer: Kristy Lyn Sutorius
School Library Journal
Gr 4–8—This book explores the origins of the nemeses of the heroes featured in the Hero.com series. The book's promotional Web site uses unwieldy URLs—www.heroorvillianbooks.com and www.whichsideareyouonbooks.com—but the online content is slickly presented nonetheless. Jake Hunter is the leader of a gang of bullies at his middle school. However, despite his callous treatment of those he considers beneath him, he is ultimately a sympathetic character. When he stumbles upon a Web site with supernatural powers, the computer screen literally morphs into a gray appendage and taps him on the forehead, imbuing him with up to four powers at a time. Flying and the ability to hurl lightning bolts or acid are a few of the powers that Jake decides to try. Basilisk, his supervillain mentor, manipulates him time and time again into physical showdowns with armed military forces to forward his own nefarious schemes. Epic battles no doubt inspired by blockbuster action films crackle with energy, and the excitement pops off the pages. Plenty of stunning reversals are heaped on readers toward the latter half of the book, ratcheting up the dramatic tension. Kids who enjoy DC and Marvel style superheroes will like this superhero comic in novel format. Featuring plenty of fight sequences, secrets, and advanced or prototype technology, this book will appeal to fans of Alex Rider or Danger Boy.—Madigan McGillicuddy, Los Angeles Public Library

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780802795175
Publisher:
Walker & Company
Publication date:
04/28/2009
Series:
Villain.net Series
Pages:
256
Product dimensions:
5.17(w) x 7.76(h) x 0.69(d)
Lexile:
840L (what's this?)
Age Range:
10 - 14 Years

Meet the Author

Andy Briggs has endured many careers, ranging from pizza delivery boy to running his own multimedia company. He currently writes movie scripts for Hollywood and is excited to turn to teen fiction. He lives in a secret lair somewhere in the south-east of England. His claims about possessing superpowers may be somewhat exaggerated . . .

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Council of Evil (Villain.net Series #1) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The evil vamp twins are back from vacation & ready to kill.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the samble and it was awesome. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because it cut you off in the middle of a sentence but still awesome!!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Jake Hunter is your average bully - until one computer class leads him to a mysterious website. The website allows him to download superpowers. When a teacher mistakingly witnesses him bullying a much younger student, Jake must serve detention. When Jake attempts to unsuccessfully explain the truth, rage pulses through him. Green energy radiates from his body, rendering the teacher unconscious in addition to causing the destruction of the classroom. In a wavering decision, after escaping, Jake rushes back in to save the teacher. He's hailed as a hero, but one person knows the truth and sends him an email message with a meeting time and location. Jake arrives there to hear an offer he can't refuse. He's about to become the world's most sought after villain. Jake Hunter's journey into the super-villains is only the beginning. An alternate side has also been discovered in RISE OF THE HEROES. Readers will recognize a few crossover characters that will deepen the plot of both novels. The evil storyline moves along quickly, and it's a fun read for middle schoolers interested in comic books or who love rooting for the bad guys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago