The Countess

The Countess

3.9 216
by Lynsay Sands
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“You can’t help but fall in love with Lynsay Sands!”
—Christina Dodd

 

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lynsay Sands trades in highland kilts for lush ballrooms and high-waisted gowns in The Countess, the first in a brand new, sexy, laugh-out-loud funny Regency romance series.

Overview

“You can’t help but fall in love with Lynsay Sands!”
—Christina Dodd

 

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lynsay Sands trades in highland kilts for lush ballrooms and high-waisted gowns in The Countess, the first in a brand new, sexy, laugh-out-loud funny Regency romance series. Fans of Julie Garwood, Jill Barnett, and Teresa Medeiros will adore The Countess, and sympathize with her hilarious attempts to cover up the untimely demise of her despicable husband, even as the late earl’s twin brother sets her heart aflutter. The much adored creator of the popular Argeneau vampire family paranormal romance novels, the incomparable Lynsay is equally adept at historical romance—as this wonderful Regency romp so emphatically demonstrates!

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062041661
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
01/25/2011
Series:
Madison Sisters , #1
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
17,025
File size:
1 MB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Lynsay Sands is the nationally bestselling author of the Argeneau/Rogue Hunter vampire series, as well as numerous historical novels and anthologies. She’s been writing stories since grade school and considers herself incredibly lucky to be able to make a career out of it. Her hope is that readers can get away from their everyday stress through her stories, and if there are occasional uncontrollable fits of laughter, that’s just a big bonus.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
London, Ontario
Place of Birth:
Leamington, Ontario
Website:
http://www.lynsaysands.net

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Countess 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 215 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Reluctantly Christiana Madison marries Richard Fairgrave, Earl of Radnor, so her father can pay off his gambling debts before the family, especially her beloved sisters, is ruined. "Dicky" proves nasty as a spouse treating his wife as an object and not allowing her to see anyone even her family. Having enough she brazenly enters his off limits office to confront her husband, only to be greeted by his corpse. Since her sister wants to attend a gala in which she would chaperone, Christiana conceals that her husband is dead as she would have to mourn her loss though inside her she is euphoric. However, Richard arrives to the shock of Christiana. She soon learns the newcomer is the real Richard and she was married to his psychopathic identical twin George. Richard investigates his deadly sibling's murder with the prime suspect being his sister-in-law who he is attracted to. She agrees to pretend this new kind and caring Richard is her spouse as he searches for a diabolical killer who is planning to blackmail the real Earl and his widowed sister-in-law. The Countess is an intelligent historical romantic suspense with identity theft being the driver of the story line. This tale is very witty and fans will enjoy the pretend relationship between the real earl who assumes his "wife" is a gold-digger and the title character who fears madness runs in families. With a murder investigation and a blackmailer attempting to extort money, readers will enjoy Lynsay Sands wonderful tale. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first Lynsay Sands book. I purchased it at the grocery store yesterday and stayed up, way past my bedtime, reading it. I fell in love with the sisters and the true Earl. They were great characters. I cannot wait for Suzette and Daniel's story to come out later this month.
The_Reading_Reviewer More than 1 year ago
Hold the presses my husband is still alive? What a question for a wife who thinks she is a widow to ask, but for Christiana it is a reasonable one since her husband went from a sensitive, caring beau to a controlling, ogre of a husband all of which she thought was dead. Who wouldn't want to be rid of that nightmare unless the nightmare came back to life, or did he? So many questions and very few answers but the man who seems to know what is going on is the one presently kissing the complete sense out of Christiana and she is really enjoying it. But how could that be possible when she hated her supposed dead husband who is still alive and more passionate than any man should be. But before the night is over Christiana finds out the man she thought was Richard Fairgrave, The Earl of Radnor was really his twin brother and that horrid man she married attempted to murder the man she is now married to, or maybe she is but she is not sure since she married the other twin. Oh goodness what a mess and the scandal that would go along with it would cripple her younger sister's ability to find a good match. But if this man would just keep kissing her maybe she could forget for one minute anything but his tender touch and warm caresses. The true Richard is not a horrible man; he is kind and concerned for Christiana's wellbeing and cares for her reputation. Richard offers to marry her, again as the real Earl and no one would be the wiser and this would have been a great plan but Christiana can't keep a secret and before long everyone and her sister knows what is what and who is dead and who is still alive. The problem is someone already knew the little trick they are all playing and that the body they are moving around is the imposter but who could it be and can they stop that person before Christiana becomes a widow again? Lots of suspects with no answers and too many attempts on Richard's life make him say enough of this game and he is tired of trying to find a place to hide his twin so the mystery has to be solved. What Richard did discover is one redeeming factor in his twin in that he had excellent taste in wives. Richard finds too many other horrible things about him to dismiss and the deceit with which he tricked Christiana into marriage is so shameful but in the end when they are snuggled under the covers Richard realizes that there are some good things that don't leave you. This book is so lovely and romantic you forget that there is blackmail, murder and assorted other crimes going on. The story with Richard and Christiana as well as her sister's is so full of happy thoughts you just know something wonderful has to happen as these women deserve it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. There were part where I laugh so hard my husband had to ask what was so funny. You will love the dead body. This is a highly enjoyable book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love the series. you have to real all so all the pieces fit in their places. love the humor and the mistery
Erin-MacMeegan More than 1 year ago
This by far is Sands best book ever. It had it all, humor, romance, mystery and sensitivity. I could not put this one down. I loved it, and it will be a keeper.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author strives for a farce like "Arsenic and Old Lace"or "The Importance of Being Ernest" but falls flat. Wastes too much time rehashing the situation, and the characters collectively must have the IQ of a gnat. Go to the source and read sone Oscar Wilde instead. Two stars for trying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book within the trio it did have a twist that the butler did it. NOT. LOL I was actually a nice turn of events and exchanges with the characters. Some believable some a stretch, but it took you on a ride to a place of entertainment
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EffervesceBookworm More than 1 year ago
Lynsay does it yet again with the perfect combination of humor and the perfect plot. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
smbcSB More than 1 year ago
I love the series. When you read the first, you are compelled to read the other two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ramore More than 1 year ago
5 Stars! Lynsay Sand’s historical romance, The Countess, is so much better than the brief description and the book cover even hint at. This book is absolutely, delightfully hilarious! A true farce! You will discover romance, a little mystery, appealing characters, a dead body, a butler, and oodles of situational funniness. I could easily see this transferred to the stage. The audience would be rolling in the aisles! The plot was intriguing and the tale was rife with twists and turns. The audio version, read by Sarah Coomes, was a joy to listen to. If you like a little madcap with your comedy, you will enjoy The Countess!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the idea of the storyline, but when you actually get into reading the book, it seems contrived. Introduced and involved in the activities of all three sisters in this first book of the series, I felt the other two sister's stories were all but finished. Reading ahead the reviews of the next two books in the series, it appears they will be a retelling of the same story from the other two sister's points of view. No, thanks! I'll quit while I'm ahead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick read....sweet!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really like the book, its a great read and funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this story. It was very sassy and quite funny at parts. I was very happy when reading this.