Cowboy in the Kitchen: Recipes from Reata and Texas West of the Pecos

( 3 )

Overview

Cookbook buyers and foodies the world over have come to count on Ten Speed to introduce exciting young chefs and up-and-coming cuisines. In the tradition of Mark Miller's COYOTE CAFE, ROY'S FEASTS FROM HAWAII, and CHARLIE TROTTER'S, we are proud to bring you a haute take on one of America's most traditional cuisines-that of the Texas ranch. But don't be thinking ribs, beans, and biscuits . . . . unless, of course, you're thinkin' South Texas Venison Ribs with Peanut Dipping Sauce, Black Bean Nachos with ...
See more details below
Hardcover
$25.50
BN.com price
(Save 27%)$35.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (43) from $1.99   
  • New (12) from $19.58   
  • Used (31) from $1.99   
A Cowboy in the Kitchen: Recipes from Reata and Texas West of the Pecos

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$18.99
BN.com price

Overview

Cookbook buyers and foodies the world over have come to count on Ten Speed to introduce exciting young chefs and up-and-coming cuisines. In the tradition of Mark Miller's COYOTE CAFE, ROY'S FEASTS FROM HAWAII, and CHARLIE TROTTER'S, we are proud to bring you a haute take on one of America's most traditional cuisines-that of the Texas ranch. But don't be thinking ribs, beans, and biscuits . . . . unless, of course, you're thinkin' South Texas Venison Ribs with Peanut Dipping Sauce, Black Bean Nachos with Chargrilled Chicken, and West Texas Biscuit Pudding with Southern Comfort en Glace. You see, at the Reata Restaurant in West Texas, hot new chef Grady Spears is cooking cowboy cuisine with an emphasis on the cuisine. Filled with fresh, strong flavors, fascinating ranch memorabilia (these Texans take their history seriously!), gorgeous full-color food photography, and truly marvelous, utterly real food, this is American cooking at its kick-off-your-boots-and-get-down-to-business greatest.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781580080040
  • Publisher: Ten Speed Press
  • Publication date: 12/28/1998
  • Series: Cooking Across America Series
  • Pages: 224
  • Sales rank: 347,326
  • Product dimensions: 8.57 (w) x 10.52 (h) x 0.89 (d)

Meet the Author

Food writer ROBB WALSH has won the James Beard Award for his magazine feature writing. He is a columnist for Natural History, former food editor of the Austin Chronicle, a contributing editor for the American Way, a commentator on NPR's "Weekend Edition" and the founder and head judge of the Austin Hot Sauce Contest, the world's largest hot sauce contest.
GRADY SPEARS was the founding chef and co-owner of the Reata restaurants in Alpine and Fort Worth, Texas, and Beverly Hills, California. His food is now a hit at the historic Nutt House Hotel restaurant in Granbury, Texas, and at the Chisholm Club in Fort Worth, Texas.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Shiningstar

    Welcome to westclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    Excellent Book

    I am from Fort Worth and eat at the Reata restaurant quite frequently. I've had this recipe book for a few years now and cook from it quite often. All the recipes are easy to make, and quite wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Wonderful eating!

    I have just about cooked everything in this book - with the exception of the goat menus! They are all wonderful! The recipes are clear and easy to understand, even for a novice, and they make you look real good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)