Cracking the AP World History Exam 2006-2007

Cracking the AP World History Exam 2006-2007

4.5 14
by Princeton Review, Alexandra Freer, David Daniel, Abby Kanarek
     
 
Scoring high on the AP World History Exam is very different from earning straight A's in school. We don’t try to teach you everything there is to know about World history–only the strategies and information you’ll need to get your highest score. In Cracking the AP World History Exam, we’ll teach you how to

·Use our

Overview

Scoring high on the AP World History Exam is very different from earning straight A's in school. We don’t try to teach you everything there is to know about World history–only the strategies and information you’ll need to get your highest score. In Cracking the AP World History Exam, we’ll teach you how to

·Use our preparation strategies and test-taking techniques to raise your score
·Focus on the topics most likely to appear on the test
·Test your knowledge with review questions for each topic covered

This book includes 2 full-length practice AP World History tests. All of our practice questions are just like those you’ll see on the actual exam, and we explain how to answer every question.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780375765346
Publisher:
Random House Information Group
Publication date:
02/07/2006
Series:
College Test Prep Series
Edition description:
2006-2007
Pages:
384
Product dimensions:
8.35(w) x 10.84(h) x 0.92(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Cracking the AP World History Exam 2006-2007 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'll be honest, I bombed the class. I could not see light at the end of the tunnel. I had already paid one payment of the AP Exam's cost, so I couldn't prevent taking the College Board Exam. I bought the book, and I passed with a 3.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book greatly prepared me for the test. My classroom textbook was thick and heavy and contained overwhelming amounts of information. This prep book eliminates copious details and focuses on what the ap examiners are looking for beyond memorizing dates and names etc.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a good study guide. It explains things in easy to understand language and it feels like the writers are down to earth. I especially like the use of humor throughout the book. However I think it could of been a little more detailed. I recommend Barron's over this one because of the extra detail and also the quizzes at the end of each chapter to make sure you know what you read. I recommend you get both books since they both very good. I got a 5 studying both reviews, but classwork and practice with DBQs is best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A GREAT book that I strongly recommend, it tells you exactly how the exam looks like and gives you review on every topic you need to know. Also includes 'forcus on' and 'contrast them' sections which helps to write the essays a lot. I got a 4 on the exam and it's all because of this book
Guest More than 1 year ago
After a lot of comparison-shopping, this book was the best one I could find. It provides you with exactly what you need to know in order to succeed on the AP Exam. This book also has helpful maps, funny section titles, and wacky analogies that make reviewing history fun. Another great feature in this book is the 'Compare and Contrast' blurbs that break down the similarities and differences between different cultures. I would recommend this book to anyone...it even helped me earn a five on the AP World History Exam!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This review book was not only highly recommended by my APWH teacher, but it was a huge help. Other books I have looked at place unnecessary information in them. This one contains the most critical information. It is still important to read a textbook, but this book has nearly everything you need. The questions in the book will challenge you. The questions in this book are the closest of any book to the actual test. I purchased other books to have extra practice but I kept relying on this one. Also, its information is in a sort of telling-a-story format (narrative). I thought this was extremely helpful because it allowed me to better comprehend the historical patterns and themes. There are many jokes within the book for a little fun in the subject. This book is a must have.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really recommend this book. If your scheduled to take the ap exam- get it! the book breaks the whole- and i mean whole- world history concept down into words that we can understand instead of those big, and sometimes misunderstanding words that they have in the textbooks at school! follow my advice and everyone else who agress and try it trust me it will help!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really appreciate all this book did to help on the AP Exam. It was so easy to read and I actually learned things I didn't know from the actual textbook. Sufficent to say, If I get less than 3, than it would all my fault and not the book's. I highly recommend it. Now all I have prepare for are AP English Lang and Amer History...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I greatly disagree on the use of this book on my test. I got a 2 on my oral exam... (ar ar ar) But if you work hard you can do it kids!!! Viva la Mexico! (no not really, just kidding)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am taking an AP World History class in school this year and my teacher actually made us buy this book--not just any AP WH book but this specific one. That must mean something. This is an awesome studybuddy. The informational section is not fancy-shmancy and is very easy to understand. Something I find very helpful are the short highlighted sections that compare civilizations or emphasize a point/theme you need to know for the exam. Practice makes perfect which this book allows you to do since there are two full-length practice tests with explanations for all the correct answers. After reading the strategy sections I feel like I'm the boss and the AP exam can't trick me. One thing this book doesn't do is teach you all the details about every millisecond in the last 5 million years. Which is actually a lot better. I have skimmed through two other books and I think this is the best one by far. However, I would recommened you be getting some of the World History material elsewhere alongside this book for optimal results on the exam.(for example I taking a history coarse aswell as reading this book) Good Luck on the AP World HIstory Exam everyone! :) :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I gave it 5 stars for the 5 i got on the exam. its easy to read, easy to understand, gives great examples, is organized well, and gives a heads up for whats coming your way on the test. every other exam books seem like a total drag to read but this one at least doesnt put me to sleep which is important when you think about how long it takes to review the history of the world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This study guide is an excellent book. It gives you all the information you need to know, helpful tips for the exam, and the questions on the practice tests are of somewhat similar difficulty to those of the actual exam. This book helped me score a 5 on the AP exam!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I took AP World History and this book helped to prepare me so much! I felt extremely confident when I took the test and this is a really good study aid. But I wouldn't use it as a substitute for your textbook though. I got my scores back and was so surprised that I passed with a 4! Thanks for helping me pass the exam!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book really helped me pass the ap world history exam! I slacked off all year long then the sunday before the test i read the entire book. I was so much more prepared for the essays and the entire test.