Cross Hairs (for fans of James Patterson, Lisa Black, Robert Crais, John Sanford, Lee Child and Nelson DeMille) [NOOK Book]

Overview

WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING:
“Small town life in southern Idaho might seem quaint and idyllic to some. But when local newspaper reporter Cal Murphy begins to uncover a series of strange deaths that are linked to a sticky spider web of deception, the lid on the peaceful town is blown wide open. Told with all the energy and bravado of an old pro, first-timer Jack Patterson hits one out of the park his first time at ...
See more details below
Cross Hairs (for fans of James Patterson, Lisa Black, Robert Crais, John Sanford, Lee Child and Nelson DeMille)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price

Overview

WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING:
“Small town life in southern Idaho might seem quaint and idyllic to some. But when local newspaper reporter Cal Murphy begins to uncover a series of strange deaths that are linked to a sticky spider web of deception, the lid on the peaceful town is blown wide open. Told with all the energy and bravado of an old pro, first-timer Jack Patterson hits one out of the park his first time at bat with Under Your Skin. It's that good.” - Vincent Zandri, bestselling author of The Remains

“J.P. does a fantastic job at keeping you engaged and interested. I look forward to more from this talented author.”
- Aaron Patterson, bestselling author of SWEET DREAMS

“Like a John Grisham novel, from the very start I was pulled right into the story and couldn't put the book down. It was as if I personally knew and cared about what happened to each of the main characters. Every chapter ended with so much excitement and suspense I had to continue to read until I learned how it ended, even though it kept me up until 3:00 AM.”
- Ray F., reader

****
In a small rural town in the Pacific Northwest, three star high school football players are all found dead scattered throughout the county in a 24-hour period ... and nobody seems to care why. But when journalist Cal Murphy begins looking for answers, his questions aren't welcomed by law enforcement officials -- or anyone else in town.

As he and fellow photographer Kelly Mendoza attempt to make sense of bizarre circumstances that led to the teens' deaths, Cal makes a chilling discovery, uncovering a vast conspiracy that grows darker with every twist and turn.

With a mastermind determined to silence Cal and Kelly, the young reporters ultimately must decide if their lives are worth the risk to reveal the truth.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Times-News - David Bashore
Patterson’s storytelling feels as natural as James Patterson’s, and the short-chapter setup is the literary answer to Lay’s potato chips: you just want one more and before you know it, you’ve gone through the whole thing.
CBSSports.com - Josh Katzowitz
You can tell Patterson knows what it's like to live in the newspaper world, but with Under Your Skin, he's proven that he also can write one heck of a murder mystery. With a clever plot and characters you badly want to succeed, Chartrand is on his way to becoming a new era James Patterson.
CBSSports.com - Josh Katzowitz
You can tell Patterson knows what it's like to live in the newspaper world, but with Under Your Skin, he's proven that he also can write one heck of a murder mystery. With a clever plot and characters you badly want to succeed, he is on his way to becoming a new era James Patterson.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940015000351
  • Publisher: Hangman Books
  • Publication date: 8/1/2012
  • Series: A Cal Murphy Thriller , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 4,876
  • File size: 876 KB

Meet the Author

Jack Patterson is an award-winning journalist who leads a quiet life with his wife and three children. He likes enjoying the great outdoors and watching sports.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Fantastic book ... loved the plot and pacing. Can't wait for the

    Fantastic book ... loved the plot and pacing. Can't wait for the next one in this series.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great thriller. Left me guessing the whole time and the ending w

    Great thriller. Left me guessing the whole time and the ending wasn't at all what I expected.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Good suspense

    New fan of Jack Patterson. I was looking for new mystery authors and I now have a new one to add to my list. I enjoyed the story and the continued twists and turns.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Bn

    I met him!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    If you like reading at a 6th grade level

    this book is for you. Couldn't believe it got such high ratings. Don't waste your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    A good read. Story line a little far fetched but still exciting.

    A good read. Story line a little far fetched but still exciting. Going to read his next novel and see if that is more realistic.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Excellent

    Excellent excting ,gripping must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)