×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Crossroads Road: A Novel
     

Crossroads Road: A Novel

4.3 18
by Jeff Kay
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jovis McIntire's quiet life in the suburbs is turned upside down the day his mother-in-law wins $234 million in a multi-state lottery. She quickly makes an identical offer to all her children and their families: a large, custom-built home, and two million dollars cash.

But there's a catch, a nasty hook hidden inside the bait. If the deal is accepted, they

Overview

Jovis McIntire's quiet life in the suburbs is turned upside down the day his mother-in-law wins $234 million in a multi-state lottery. She quickly makes an identical offer to all her children and their families: a large, custom-built home, and two million dollars cash.

But there's a catch, a nasty hook hidden inside the bait. If the deal is accepted, they will be required to live together on a newly-created cul-de-sac in southern California, for the remainder of the matriarch's life -- a woman Jovis sarcastically calls Sunshine.

Not a chance!

And that would only be the beginning of it, he knows. The rest of his wife's family is no prize, either. Nancy the bohemian earth child with organic, free-range armpits, Kevin the pompous scarf-wearing intellectual, Sue the 400-pound attention junkie who throws herself down flights of stairs for sympathy... Jovis sees them all as kooks, in one way or another, and they want him to live amongst them? Not for a million bucks! Or two million, even.

But his defiance begins to fade when Jovis returns to his job, and realizes he's now there by choice.

Crossroads Road is the first novel by Jeff Kay, proprietor of the popular humor site The West Virginia Surf Report! It is a rollicking comedy, perfect for fans of National Lampoon's Vacation, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

An early reader called the book "relentlessly hilarious."

Product Details

BN ID:
2940012347602
Publisher:
Smoking Fish Media
Publication date:
03/29/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
264
Sales rank:
1,071,624
File size:
650 KB

Meet the Author

Jeff Kay has maintained The West Virginia Surf Report!, a strangely addictive humor website, since late 2000. He grew up in Dunbar, West Virginia, and now lives near Scranton, Pennsylvania with his wife, two sons, and a border collie named Andy (aka Blacklips Houlihan). Crossroads Road is his first novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Crossroads Road 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
astucity More than 1 year ago
Crossroads Road is Mr. Kay's first offering in the literary world. Relentlessly funny and over the top, it was a pleasurable read and was so good, I read it all in one day. Jovis McIntire and his wife Tara come into a sudden stroke of fortune (misfortune) when his mother-in-law, "Sunshine", wins the lottery to the tune of 234 million. She proposes that each of her children move into a subdivision that she is having built just for the family. They will each inherit the house and 2 million dollars. The catch is they have to stay there until she dies. The characters are quirky but that only serves to bring them to life. The book was solid, the story flowed fluidly throughout, and I can't recall a dry moment. The most enjoyable thing is it really makes you wonder; "What would you put up with for 2 million dollars?".
BookAddictFL More than 1 year ago
This is a fun, light read that had me laughing and held my attention throughout. Despite the absurdity of the people and situations, the plot had substance. Beneath the craziness is the question of how much of your privacy - and sanity - you would give up for financial comfort. The characters are well developed lunatics. Jeff Kay's writing has a great flow and I could see the scenes playing out in my mind as I read. This book has the added benefit of making you appreciate your own crazy family a little more!
d155890 More than 1 year ago
Was not sure about this story at first. But as i read I started to not feel so bad about my dysfunctional family. we all have one in some way or another. Would highly recommend this book. Read this and you will feel better about your own family.
deano77 More than 1 year ago
But then, I'm supposed to - you'll work out why when you read this. I wasn't sure I was going to enjoy this excursion into dysfunctional family life, but Jeff Kay's situations and the observations of the "normal" narrator of the story piqued my interest and often made me laugh out loud. As far as the plot goes, Donna, matriarch of the family wins millions on the lottery and offers all her kids a house and $2 million, if they agree to move into the new development she's creating in California. What seems to be a deal with the devil swiftly degenerates, culminating in "The Incident". I thoroughly enjoyed this and can highly recommend it. (Oh, I hate the cover too, if I'd seen this on a shelf in a bookstore, I wouldn't have touched it with a barge pole.)
abcarroll More than 1 year ago
All of Jovis' problems seem to be taken care of when he and his family recieve an offer from his mother-in-law who has just won the lottery, of course no deal comes without strings attached and these strings just might make Jovis loose his mind. I thought this book was really funny and would recommend it!
honoliipali More than 1 year ago
You are at the cinema really enjoying a movie and, BAM, it is over and you are not ready for an ending. You swear the movie was only 30 minutes long even though it was two hours. Deja Vu - Crossroads Road fits this scenario completely. I was in no way ready for it to end. This book is an insight into a hilarious dysfunctional family through the eyes of a wannabe writer Jovis (Joseph) McIntire. He is probably the only sane adult member of this extended family and is the narrator of this hopefully fictional story. The saga centers on the family matriarch who wins a lottery and uses these funds to assemble her brood and others in a custom built neighborhood in SoCal where she can oversee EVERYTHING. If you are wondering where your sense of humor has gone and are having trouble finding it, look no further than this book. The story is hilarious. It is very clever, imaginative, and bright. Make sure that you have a generous block of time to devote to reading because you will have a hard time putting it down. This is Jeff Kay's first novel and hopefully the first of many. He has a humor website, The West Virginia Surf Report, that you can visit to get a glimpse of his writing style and sense of humor. Question for Jeff: Is Andy really the kind of a name you would give to a dog?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GirlGeorge More than 1 year ago
I started reading Jeff Kay's WVSR at the insistence of my husband and it has amused me ever since. I love hearing about the drama that seems to surround him and he has a way of bringing to light all of the everyday annoyances in life that I find myself being amused/annoyed/angered/disappointed about as well. Crossroads Road had me "lol-ing" unabashedly on the subway during the 3 or 4 days it took me to devour it on my ride home from work. I tried to relive some of the highlights of the book with my husband at night but found myself unable to do so because I was literally crying I was laughing so hard. Although I loved the book, I didn't exactly love the ending. But hopefully this won't be the last book penned by Mr. Kay.
Nancy Rittenberry More than 1 year ago
As a longtime reader of the Surf Report, I was intrigued but also fearful the story would not live up to my expectations. I could not have been more wrong! It was great fun! My fatal mistake was starting this book on a weekend when I had a project to finish. . . I couldn't put my Nook down or get the story out of my head. Awesome first novel.
Laura Krieg More than 1 year ago
My husband has read me many of Jeff Kay's musings over the years, many times not being able to finish because he was laughing so hard. This story of his in-laws continuing adventures is no different. It may take a new reader time to get up to speed with this novel, but the end makes it worth the effort. A very funny story.
LC-in-NYC More than 1 year ago
I don't know how Jeff Kay does it, but he manages to get a laugh on every page of Crossroads Road. He's as funny as David Sedaris, and I hope there are many more Jeff Kay books to follow. I first heard about Jeff a few years ago when a friend told me to check out his website, The West Virginia Surf Report. I quickly discovered that Jeff can write about anything - fast food, work, a door knob, you name it - and make it hilarious. I'm a huge fan!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm an avid fan of The Surf Report, so I was a bit nervous about the book. What if it didn't live up to my high expectations? All that worry for nothing! I read it in one sitting, not an easy feat with a toddler crawling all over me, and spent a large part of the time laughing out loud. It's a very funny book, very original, with absolutely unforgettable characters.
BoMama More than 1 year ago
An extremely funny book that will make you laugh out loud! I couldn't put it down. Do not miss out on this talented author's first novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago