Cupcakes at Carrington?s

Cupcakes at Carrington?s

3.0 2
by Alexandra Brown
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A deliciously indulgent read from a hot debut writer and first in a series of books set in Carrington’s Department Store – where life is sweeter…Perfect for fans of Meet Me in the Cupcake Cafe and Breakfast at Darcy’s.Georgie Hart had it all – as a top personal shopper in London, the heady world of Mulberry launch parties and Louis

Overview

A deliciously indulgent read from a hot debut writer and first in a series of books set in Carrington’s Department Store – where life is sweeter…Perfect for fans of Meet Me in the Cupcake Cafe and Breakfast at Darcy’s.Georgie Hart had it all – as a top personal shopper in London, the heady world of Mulberry launch parties and Louis Vuitton goody bags meant she was living the dream. But all that extravagance took its toll on her bank balance and it was time to stop drinking champagne on beer money.Now Georgie runs the luxury bag concession at Carrington’s Department store in the pretty seaside town of Mulberry Bay and her lavish spending is confined to a red velvet cupcake with butter cream icing in Carrington’s cafe.But her plans for a quiet life are thwarted when Carrington’s goes into a recession-busting makeover and soon, with the arrival of Maxine, wielding the axe in her immaculately manicured hands, Georgie is fighting not only for her job, but also for the attentions of her dishy boss, James. And when newcomer Tom arrives, who may or may not be the best thing since sliced bread, Georgie must decide where her loyalties really lie…

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
‘Defies the chick lit cliché.’ – Heat magazine'Cupcakes at Carrington's is deliciously delightful from start to finish, sprinkled with magic and full of heart.' Miranda Dickinson‘I loved it. 5/5’ – iheart-chicklit.blogspot.co.uk‘So much more than just a chick lit novel. It has the humour of Sophie Kinsella, the warmth of Cecelia Ahern and the wit and wisdom of Maeve Binchy and the cheek of Are You Being Served?’ – Jamieson Villeneuve, Thebookpedler.wordpress.com‘My favourite book this year – funny, romantic and fabulous!’ – readinginthesunshine.wordpress.com‘I loved Cupcakes At Carrington’s, a warm, witty, loveable read with plenty of sparkle and charm.’ – Rowan Coleman

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780007488230
Publisher:
HarperCollins UK
Publication date:
07/15/2014
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
725,136
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.10(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Alex Brown is the bestselling author of five books and launched her career with the hugely popular Carrington’s series set in a seaside town department store. Alex now writes warm, witty and heartfelt novels centred on the cosy community spirit of village life.Alex began her writing career as a weekly columnist for The London Paper, before trading in the rat race for the good life. The Secret of Orchard Cottage is Alex’s sixth book.When she isn’t writing Alex enjoys knitting, and is passionate about supporting charities working with care leavers, adoption and vulnerable young people.Alex lives in a rural village in Sussex, with her husband, daughter and a very shiny black Labrador. She loves hearing from her readers, so please visit her website –www.alexbrownauthor.com or join her for chats on Facebook at www.facebook.com/alexandrabrownauthor and Twitter @alexbrownbooks

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Cupcakes at Carringtons 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cute story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IT DOESNT LOOK THAT GOOD BUT I LOVE CUPCAKES