BN.com Gift Guide

Cuttings: A Year in the Garden with Christopher Lloyd

Overview

In the tradition of Gertude Jekyll and Vita Sackville-West, Christopher Lloyd established an English country garden at Great Dixter in East Sussex, where he not only demonstrated his bold ideas but also wrote the books and journalism that profoundly influenced generations of garden-lovers. He constantly reshaped and replanted his garden at Great Dixter, because, as he said: "We don't want to be wishy-washy on the fence." He loved color, praising "extra oomph" and "the immense value of red" - and he ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (8) from $2.95   
  • New (5) from $2.95   
  • Used (3) from $17.95   
Sending request ...

Overview

In the tradition of Gertude Jekyll and Vita Sackville-West, Christopher Lloyd established an English country garden at Great Dixter in East Sussex, where he not only demonstrated his bold ideas but also wrote the books and journalism that profoundly influenced generations of garden-lovers. He constantly reshaped and replanted his garden at Great Dixter, because, as he said: "We don't want to be wishy-washy on the fence." He loved color, praising "extra oomph" and "the immense value of red" - and he hated fashion ("that awful phrase, good taste"). This selection from his columns in the Guardian reflects his passions and challenges, his eagerness to experiment, his appetites, and his prodigious knowledge as a plantsman. His journalism is as vigorous as his gardening style -advising, entertaining, and cajoling his readers as he guides them through the gardening year. Arranged to cover the seasons from January to December, this magical book will delight all who love good gardening and good writing.
 

 

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Christopher Lloyd’s was a maverick voice in the panoply of twentieth-century gardeners, but one which spoke with such an unparalleled authority and enthusiasm that it is certain to endure."  —TLS

"One of the greatest gardeners of the 20th century . . . this celebration of a lifetime of adventurous horticulture will delight all who love good gardening and writing."  —Manchester Evening News

"The ideal book to inspire gardeners, both beginners and those with green-fingered experience."  —The Good Book Guide

"As with the best gardens, this is a book to stroll in . . . infused with a lovely combination of light touch, deep passion, and technical exactness."  —Michael Fishwick, Oldie

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781845951078
  • Publisher: Random House UK
  • Publication date: 4/3/2008
  • Series: Pimlico Series
  • Pages: 400
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 1.30 (d)

Meet the Author

Christopher Lloyd, the youngest of 6 children, was born at Great Dixter, a Lutyens house and garden, where his father designed the sunken garden and planted the yew hedges and his formidable mother (known at Great Dixter as "the Management") taught him to garden. Educated at Rugby and Cambridge, he served in the army during the war before taking a BS in horticulture at Wye College, where he also worked as a lecturer. He served in the Army during the war, but in 1954, he returned to set up a nursery specialising in unusual plants in Great Dixter, where he lived for the rest of his long life. He published numerous very successful gardening books, and made a name for himself as the foremost British gardener and British garden writer of his generation. He was awarded an honorary doctorate from the Open University and an OBE for his services to horticulture, but it was the Royal Horticultural Societies Victoria Medal of Honor (VMH) that gave him the greatest satisfaction. He died, aged 84, in 2006. His previous books include The Well-Tempered Garden and Succession Planting for Year-Round Pleasure, a collaboration with his head gardener, Fergus Garrett.
 
Preface by Beth Chatto, who has won 10 consecutive gold medals at Chelsea Flower Show. In 1960, she began Beth Chatto Gardens, which she created from a wasteland in Essex. She collaborated with Christopher Lloyd in publishing their letters in book form (Dear Friend and Gardener, 1998).

Introduction by Stephen Anderton, who - at the request of Christopher Lloyd himself - is writing the official biography, with the suppport of the Trustees of Great Dixter. Previously manager of historica garden restoration projects for English Heritage, Stephen Anderton is a freelance garden journalist, author and lecturer. He writes a weekly column for The Times.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)