Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dalai Lama (Tenzin Gyatso)

Dalai Lama (Tenzin Gyatso)

by Richard Worth, Martin E. Marty (Introduction)

Editorial Reviews

The thirteen volumes currently in the Spiritual Leaders and Thinkers series explore major religious figures in history and the present day. The series introduction states that the selected subjects, which include Aimee Semple McPherson, Martin Luther, and Mary Baker Eddy among others, were chosen because through their beliefs, ideas, and actions, they have defined a path or direction, providing illumination to followers, and cultivated support by setting an example and inspiring others. Each volume provides biographical information, pertinent historical information putting the subject in the context of his or her times, the effects, a short analysis of the person's major beliefs and thoughts, a section of illustrations and photographs related to the subject, and excerpts from the person's writings or from related writings by others about that person. The books include many valuable student aids, particularly the chronology and time line and the listed Web sites. Much of the book about the Dalai Lama is spent on background information about the history of the Dalai Lamas, the development and spread of Buddhism, and world events affecting Tibet and the Dalai Lama. All this material helps to increase the understanding of the Dalai Lama's role, the difficult relationship between China and Tibet, and the Dalai Lama's achievements, including winning the Nobel Peace Prize. Putting the chapter about Buddhism before that on the history of the Dalai Lamas would have increased understanding and ease of reading. A major flaw is in the map showing Tibet and neighboring countries. There is no obvious heading for the map, and next to what appears to be Taiwan is the word Tibet. (Spiritual Leaders andThinkers). VOYA CODES: 4Q 2P M J S (Better than most, marred only by occasional lapses; For the YA with a special interest in the subject; Middle School, defined as grades 6 to 8; Junior High, defined as grades 7 to 9; Senior High, defined as grades 10 to 12). 2004, Chelsea House, 145p.; Glossary. Index. Photos. Maps. Biblio. Source Notes. Further Reading. Chronology. Appendix., PLB . Ages 11 to 18.
—Susan H. Levine

Product Details

Chelsea House Publishers
Publication date:
Spiritual Leaders and Thinkers Series
Product dimensions:
6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews