Dancing With the Virgins by Stephen Booth | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Dancing With the Virgins

Dancing With the Virgins

4.2 41
by Stephen Booth
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner—perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she's dancing.

Now another young woman has been found,

Overview

Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner—perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she's dancing.

Now another young woman has been found, savagely wounded and severely traumatized, but alive. Ben Cooper and Diane Fry must unlock the memories trapped inside her mind before more blood is shed amongst the stones . . .

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062302014
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
11/05/2013
Series:
Ben Cooper and Diane Fry Series , #2
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
592
Sales rank:
31,987
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Stephen Booth’s thirteen novels featuring Cooper and Fry, all to be published in the U.S. by Witness Impulse, have sold over half a million copies around the world.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Dancing with the Virgins 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Why was Laura Weston killed? A body has been found among the ancient standing stones, The Dancing Virgins, stabbed to death. Detective Constable Ben Cooper, and acting Detective Sergeant Diane Fry are thrown together once again to solve the secrets of a young woman's life, and bring her killer to justice. What did Laura Weston know, what could she have done to have drawn the attention of a killer. The life threads that Stephen Booth has used in this amazing novel will astound you. The connections between the characters, the loyalties, loves and inner demons that haunt Ben and Diane will draw them together time and time again. Mr. Booth has amazed me once again with the sheer humanity and depth he brings to his stories. Real people facing demons only they can understand while tracking down the murderer responsible for destroying the life of a young woman. Dancing With The Virgins will make you realize that even those who solve the crimes live with the consequences of the deaths. They hurt, they cry and they love and they deal with the evil inflicted and the pain it causes. This is a book you don't want to miss. It's riveting police procedure and the haunting depths to the characters will keep you turning page after page as you read this wonderful story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ranger Mark Roper loved to patrol the hills of the Peak District. But on this particular day something was wrong. Something made him feel very uneasy. No matter how many times he tried to roust his supervisor on the radio, he had no luck. He was alone, and felt very uncomfortable. Suddenly, as he comes around a bend in the trail, he sees just what has made him uncomfortable. There in the middle of the circle, made of huge stones, lay the body of a girl. Her body arranged in a grotesque dance, a dance of death. Only weeks prior another woman had been attacked in the area. Scarred, physically and mentally, she had survived death, but her life had still been taken from her. Diane Fry, and Ben Cooper team up again to try and figure out who is out there attacking and killing women on Ringham Moor. Was it some psychopathic drifter, or could it have been Jenny Weston¿s, the dead girls, ex husband who obviously had an agenda of his own. There is no shortage of suspects in the area. In fact there are too many. And the surviving woman, Maggie Crew, is of absolutely no help in weeding out the one who attacked her. Stephen Booth has done it again. He takes you on a trip through the lives of the people in the Peak District and draws you in. You feel the desperation and sadness. But you also experience their stubbornness and pride. You even experience their failure at trying to overcome overwhelming odds. You feel the soft peat under your feet, the wind in your face, the chill in the air as the clouds fill the sky, and the rain that pelts on you, as you climb the trails that lead above the valley to the site of The Dancing Virgins. You see the huge stones move, and dance, as the sun slowly goes down over the hill. You wonder what secrets these stones hold. I didn¿t think Mr. Booth could even come close to what he did with Black Dog. But he not only came close, he outdid himself. This book drags you in, and won¿t let you go. Many of the same characters from Black Dog are there, and they hold the same fascination as they did before. Even more so now. They have become friends. Friends you want to see more often. And hopefully they will stay around for a long time to come. I highly recommend that you run, don¿t walk, run, and get a copy of this book. You are in for a wonderful adventure. An adventure into the lives of some very interesting, and complicated people. And a land that will haunt you even in your dreams.
Drahthaar More than 1 year ago
I agree with another review that there was entirely too much content that wasn't needed to tell the story which otherwise was good.
Sumariel More than 1 year ago
This series is a bit on the "dark" side, in that it explores the psychological impact of two "injured" detectives who effectively get the job done. I enjoyed it tremendously!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a 1000 page crime mystery which gets there by going off on way too many tangents that have nothing to do with the story. I don't need to hear about heifers' heavy breathing or that bracken is bi-sexual. The novel would have been really good at about half the length.
bizzybev More than 1 year ago
I hate to say this - BUT - this was one of the worst books I have ever read and I do a lot of reading. If you have never been to England it would be difficult to understand some of the wording and if you wanted to "look it up", there wasn't any explanation. I am almost finished it and would only recommend it to anybody from England.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And gets worse in grafic violence and unpleasant people. His angst and her miserable persona grates in fact have only skimed later ones and borrowed from library skipped to last chapter when found she did not get promoted out too bad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Twisting and winding plot left me guessing to the last page. Great characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little slow at times but worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read hundreds of books...sorry to say this was just a waste of time. The author did such a poor job developing the characters. I kept waiting and waiting for the story to pull me in, by page 200 I just gave up. Would not recommend to anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am getting the hang of the story line.its ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Booth's mysteries because I learn more about British countryside as well as trying to beat the detectives to the solution. London crime is the usual fare in Brit mysteries -- we get to the point where we can identify streets and stores. These offer a look at a different England, one with a lot of mysticism remaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Descriptive writing is superb. Characters (even minor ones) are well-drawn. With slightly tighter editing, Booth could be one of the best. I am compelled to read them all. Good luck to him in ever making Frye sympathetic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are great, the storyline intrigueing, and a very good good good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good Fry and Cooper mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JIR53 More than 1 year ago
After I read BLACK DOG, I wanted to pursue the second book of this series, DANCING WITH THE VIRGINS. It was very interesting with a local myth surrounding the murders. The interactions of the 2 main characters was also interesting for the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jdd