Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses (Dandy Gilver Series #7)
  • Alternative view 1 of Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses (Dandy Gilver Series #7)
  • Alternative view 2 of Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses (Dandy Gilver Series #7)
  • Alternative view 3 of Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses (Dandy Gilver Series #7)
<Previous >Next

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses (Dandy Gilver Series #7)

5.0 1
by Catriona McPherson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"Agatha Christie meets Upstairs Downstairs . . . [For] fans of Phryne Fisher and Maisie Dobbs." —Publishers Weekly

A mystery writer perfect for fans of Upstairs Downstairs, Downton Abbey, and Gosford Park, Catriona McPherson has charmed readers everywhere with her fun and clever series set in 1920s Scotland. In this new

Overview

"Agatha Christie meets Upstairs Downstairs . . . [For] fans of Phryne Fisher and Maisie Dobbs." —Publishers Weekly

A mystery writer perfect for fans of Upstairs Downstairs, Downton Abbey, and Gosford Park, Catriona McPherson has charmed readers everywhere with her fun and clever series set in 1920s Scotland. In this new adventure, witty, aristocratic sleuth Dandy Gilver travels to an all-girls school in the small seaside town of Portpatrick to investigate the disappearance of a childhood friend who taught there. Soon, Dandy discovers that her missing chum is not the only thing that's off in Portpatrick. Other teachers have been disappearing at an alarming rate. The BBC has optioned the Dandy Gilver series for television, and mystery fans will love Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses, the newest excursion with Scotland's most charming sleuth.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
08/12/2013
The professional becomes personal in Agatha-winner McPherson’s slow-moving seventh 1920s mystery featuring Edinburgh PI Dandy Gilver (after 2012’s Dandy Gilver and an Unsuitable Day for a Murder). Now one half of the detective agency Gilver and Osborne, Dandy is horrified to learn that girlhood friend Fleur Lipscott, the youngest of three sisters of a family Dandy has always admired, might be in deep trouble. Older sisters Pearl and Aurora fear that Fleur is about to bolt from St. Columba’s, the Wigtownshire school where she teaches. Dandy travels to St. Columba’s, where her being mistaken for a new teacher allows her to infiltrate the school. Dandy soon realizes that instructors are quitting, being fired, or disappearing at an alarming rate. The discovery of an unidentified woman’s body raises the stakes. Dandy’s droll conversations with her charmingly stuffy husband provide some needed levity in this overly convoluted cozy. Lisa Moylett, Coombs Moylett Literary Agency. (Nov.)
From the Publisher

“A real contender for the Agathas . . . A great choice for Jacqueline Winspear, Carola Dunn, and Amy Patricia Meade fans.” —Library Journal (starred)

“While reading this latest Dandy Gilver book, we kept thinking what a jolly film could be made of this, with loads of plum-juicy parts.” —Yahoo! Shine

“A dandy series from a Scottish-born author; wit, humor, clues, and red herrings abound.” —The Boston Globe, Favorite Mysteries 2011

“Agatha Christie lives! . . . You'll love this book.” —John Lescroart

“Witty, humorous, and a thoroughly good read.” —M. C. Beaton

Kirkus Reviews
2013-10-19
Dead bodies and mysterious disappearances provide a difficult case for a pair of well-born sleuths. Aristocratic Dandy Gilver and her partner Alec Osborne's abilities to range outside their elite circle in 1920s Britain are acilitated by Dandy's skill in masquerade. When her childhood friends Pearl and Aurora Lipscott ask her to find out how their sister Fleur is doing teaching at a girls school in coastal Scotland, Dandy, mistaken for a schoolmistress, goes undercover at St. Columba's while Alec stays at the local inn. Dandy can't imagine that wealthy, flighty, imaginative Fleur could possibly be teaching at a remote school. When a body washes up on the shore, Dandy goes with Fleur to see if it's Miss Beauclerc, the missing French mistress. It isn't, but before Fleur vanishes from St. Columba's, she seems to admit that she murdered five people. Dandy and Alec are forced to dig into Fleur's past even after they're fired by Fleur's family, who know more than they're willing to share. Dandy, certain that there's something fishy about the school, is asked to leave soon after finding both Fleur's and the missing Miss Beauclerc's luggage. A trail that leads to Fleur's house in Scotland lands the sleuthing duo in extreme danger. The latest of McPherson's delightful pastiches of golden-age British mysteries (Dandy Gilver and an Unsuitable Day for a Murder, 2012, etc.) offers loads of red herrings to keep readers guessing.
Library Journal
11/01/2013
No one might have noticed that schoolteachers were going missing, if one of them hadn't been Dandy's old chum Fleur. The seventh case for the witty amateur detective (after the Agatha Award-winning Dandy Gilver and an Unsuitable Day for a Murder) who beguiles as she sleuths across 1920s Scotland.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781250028907
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Publication date:
11/19/2013
Series:
Dandy Gilver Series , #7
Pages:
320
Product dimensions:
5.80(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.30(d)

Meet the Author

CATRIONA MCPHERSON was born near Edinburgh, where she received her Ph.D. Her previous Dandy Gilver mystery, Dandy Gilver and the Proper Treatment of Bloodstains, won the Sue Feder Memorial Award in 2012. Catriona lives in Davis, California, with her husband and two cats.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*sleeps in her thong and bra exposing her tan skin*