×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Danger Zones
     

Danger Zones

by Sally Beauman
 

See All Formats & Editions

"A DELICIOUS STEW OF CRIME, PASSION, HIGH FASHION, AND TRAGIC LOVE."
—Affaire de Coeur

A reclusive couturiere of originality and passion, Maria Cazarès is a legend shrouded in mystery. Around her swirl rumor and counterrumor, whispers of shocking secrets and taboos broken. . . .

"COMPULSIVELY READABLE AND UTTERLY

Overview

"A DELICIOUS STEW OF CRIME, PASSION, HIGH FASHION, AND TRAGIC LOVE."
—Affaire de Coeur

A reclusive couturiere of originality and passion, Maria Cazarès is a legend shrouded in mystery. Around her swirl rumor and counterrumor, whispers of shocking secrets and taboos broken. . . .

"COMPULSIVELY READABLE AND UTTERLY ENGROSSING."
—The Times (London)

When the glitterati assemble in Paris for the new collections, a fatal passion established three decades before in sultry New Orleans fulfills its tragic destiny. Two journalists, Rowland McGuire and Gini Hunter, pick up the heady scent of an unfolding scandal. . . .

"SUSPENSEFUL AND COMPLETELY ENTERTAINING."
—Booklist

As the world waits breathlessly for the new Cazarès collection, the search for a missing innocent will reach its pulsingly suspenseful climax. And at last, blood red truths will be revealed. . . .

A Featured Alternate of the Literary Guild® and the Doubleday Book Club®

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Journalist Gini Hunter returns to England from the mountains of Bosnia only to plunge into a murderous jungle of high-fashion and drugs as Beauman, bestselling author of Destiny and Lovers and Liars, liberally applies the melodramatic glitter. Both the heart and the womb are danger zones in this romantic thriller. Gini loves war photographer Pascal Lamartine, who loves her-yet resists fathering the child she longs to conceive. Enter imperious green-eyed editor Rowland McGuire, who struggles to resist the appeal of hauntingly intense Gini. The couple sizzle with a delicious tension that other characters respect and the reader laps up. But clever Beauman makes us yearn for Rowland to see the homey charms of Gini's pal Lindsay Drummond, smart fashion editor and terrific single mom. It's Lindsay who stitches together the mystery shrouding fragile fashion genius Maria Cazars, her formidable partner, Jean Lazare, and a deadly drug pusher named Star, whose psychotic rage culminates in a tense hostage crisis. Lindsay's ultimate role, however, is to deliver a sisterly wink from author to reader. Although she tells Rowland she's deep into an Updike novel, the book atop her pile is a soothing airport romance with deft plot and big emotions, if graceless style. It's an apt overview of Beauman's own novel, whose sharp details, appealing characters and nonstop action make up for some unwieldy sentences and stark pronouncements on gender. (May)
Library Journal
Journalists Rowland McGuire and Gini Hunter get more than they bargained for when they investigate mysterious couturier Maria Cazares and her very protective business partner, Jean Lazare. Rumors of an illegitimate child, incest, and drug abuse turn out to be the tip of the iceberg, and as our intrepid duo close in on the truth, their own lives become nearly as tortured as those they are investigating. Add to the mix a psychopath on a mission, a missing schoolgirl, a drug overdose, multiple murders, and lots of sex, and you have a compulsively readable romantic thriller that begins slowly but picks up speed as it races toward an explosive ending. Fans of Beauman's Lovers and Liars (LJ 4/15/94) will recognize Gini and her lover, Pascal Lamartine, but it isn't necessary to have read that book to enjoy this one. This entertaining novel is recommended for popular fiction collections. [Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 1/96.]-Elizabeth Mary Mellett, Brookline P.L., Mass.
Donna Seaman
Beauman is pretty darn good, a cut above many best-selling commercial fiction writers. Her plots are intelligent, her cosmopolitan glamour genuinely lustrous, and her characters multidimensional. So much so that she's continued the heated tale of Pascal, a passionate news photographer, and his lover, the smart and sensitive journalist Gini, which she began in "Lovers and Liars" (1994). They're still smoldering here, but the war in Bosnia and a green-eyed, intense, but maddeningly insouciant editor named Rowland have greatly complicated matters. Unused to witnessing such horrors as she saw in Bosnia, Gini, devastated and ill, returns home alone. Lindsay, an appealingly down-to-earth fashion reporter, convinces Gini to spend a weekend in the country, but it isn't friends and fresh air that revive her, it's the death of one teenage girl and the disappearance of another. Gini and Rowland end up conducting a quickly improvised investigation, and Rowland soon realizes that this crisis is linked to his obsession, a big story involving a dangerous designer drug called White Dove and the shocking truth about the world's most influential couturier, Maria Cazares, and her much-feared right-hand man, Jean Lazare. This is clever, suspenseful, and completely entertaining.
Kirkus Reviews
Bestselling romancer Beauman pushes all the right buttons in this thriller that reintroduces the two protagonists of Lovers and Liars (1994), albeit in supporting roles.

A mysterious new drug called White Dove, and the evil figure who dispenses it—an equally mysterious young man known only as Star—are at the heart of this hypermodern novel set behind the closed doors of the glitterati all across Europe. Deeply involved in the intrigue are fashion designer and notorious recluse Maria Cazarès and her constant companion (maybe lover) Jean Lazare, who is witnessed acquiring a large quantity of White Dove for his own, unexplained purposes. The Cazarès collection is soon to be shown in Paris, and fashion editor Lindsay Drummond is headed for London to assume her front-row seat for the show. Handsome Rowland McGuire, however, the new features editor at her paper, has other ideas: He wants Lindsay, and her friend—top-notch reporter Gini Hunter (who, with her lover, photographer Pascal Lamartine, is a Lovers and Liars carry-over)—to get to the bottom of the Cazarès/Lazare/White Dove connection, on which he has accumulated a fat file of clippings and questions. Two teenage girls disappear from a rave staged by Star in rural England. One later turns up dead, and the search for Mina, the other, last seen leaving the party with Star, becomes entangled with the sordid fringes of the fashion world; eventually, it is McGuire himself, with Gini as a partner, who undertakes an investigation that could rip the lid off the White Dove conspiracy. Sparks fly between McGuire and Gini as they hunt for Mina, Star, and the keys to all of the mysteries, but it takes the involvement of Lindsay's best friend, fashion photographer Steve Markov, to set the wheels of justice in motion.

Certainly tawdry, undeniably silly at times, but, overall, a gem in the genre: enough sex, backstabbing, and underworld dealing to satisfy the most demanding fans.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780449225615
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/29/1997
Pages:
503
Product dimensions:
4.17(w) x 6.82(h) x 1.09(d)

Meet the Author

Sally Beauman (1944-2016) was a British journalist and an internationally bestselling novelist. Her best known book, the romance novel Destiny, has been translated into twenty languages. Beauman began her career at New York magazine, and also wrote for many leading publications, including the Sunday Times and The New Yorker. Beauman’s other popular books include Rebecca’s Tale, which was a companion book to Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca, and The Visitors, based on a true story of the hunt for Tutankhamun’s tomb.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
London, England
Date of Birth:
July 25, 1944
Place of Birth:
Torquay, Devon, England
Education:
B.A. in English Literature, Hons Cantab, 1966; M. A., Hons Cantab, 1969

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews