Daphne Eloise Slater, Who's Tall for Her Age

Daphne Eloise Slater, Who's Tall for Her Age

by Gina Willner Pardo, Glo Coalson
     
 

A short chapter book about loyalty, friendship, and the discovery that people aren't all one way or the other, but "all those things together."

Overview

A short chapter book about loyalty, friendship, and the discovery that people aren't all one way or the other, but "all those things together."

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"A mildly funny chapter book, made more engaging by its likable protoganist, appealing illustrations, and attractive format." Booklist, ALA
Children's Literature - Sue Reichard
Daphne is the tallest girl in third grade. Leonard Di Maggio makes her life miserable by always teasing her, calling her "giraffe." Daphne discovers a secret about Leonard and plots the perfect way to get back at him. Daphne's decision and the consequences that follow provide a splendid ending for this story of friendship and kindness.
School Library Journal
Gr 2-4A transitional chapter book about a dilemma many kids facefeeling different because of their physical appearance. Daphne is tall for her age. Leonard, the rottenest kid in the third grade, teases her and starts the rumor that she's tall because she's been held back and is older than the other kids. When they are assigned to be lab partners in a science class involving dissecting a lamb's eye, Daphne learns that Leonard is quite squeamish about the procedure, and she saves the day by saving the project. The two classmates do not become best buddies, but a tolerance level is reached in a shaky truce. This is realistic fiction in the tradition of Betsy Duffy and Suzy Kline. Daphne is a likable heroine who comes up with some creative ideas on how to get even with her tormentor. The plot is meaty enough to satisfy those wanting a chapter book, but not quite ready for Joanna Hurwitz or Beverly Cleary. A subplot about Daphne missing her deceased father gives her character another dimension. A strong Grandma and mother help her along third grade's rocky road. The story is divided into simple chapters with easily read print and watercolor illustrations as a part of each double-page spread. A solid choice for those ready for more than beginning readers.Jane Claes, T. J. Lee Elementary School, Irving, TX

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780395730805
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
09/22/1997
Edition description:
None
Pages:
40
Product dimensions:
7.38(w) x 9.35(h) x 0.42(d)
Age Range:
10 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Glo Coalson grew up in Abilene, Texas, and currently lives in Dallas. For nearly a year, she lived with her brother and his wife in Kotzbue, Alaska, an Eskimo village.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >