×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dare You
     

Dare You

3.0 1
by Jennifer Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the second book of the suspenseful Shade Me trilogy, perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's Pretty Little Liars and Kimberly McCreight's The Outliers, Nikki Kill becomes embroiled in another mystery with the gorgeous Detective Martinez when she discovers that the Hollises are trying frame her for the murder of Peyton Hollis—and only her synesthesia

Overview

In the second book of the suspenseful Shade Me trilogy, perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's Pretty Little Liars and Kimberly McCreight's The Outliers, Nikki Kill becomes embroiled in another mystery with the gorgeous Detective Martinez when she discovers that the Hollises are trying frame her for the murder of Peyton Hollis—and only her synesthesia can help her unravel the dark truth.

Nikki Kill didn't realize that trying to find out who killed Peyton Hollis would tangle her in a web of dangerous family secrets that would rock her identity to the core. But now that Nikki knows the truth, the all-powerful Hollises want to frame her for Peyton's murder.

And now Nikki's only chance at escaping the cold black bars of prison or the crimson grip of death is teaming up with the enigmatic Detective Martinez and relying on an ever-shifting kaleidoscope of clues...

Editorial Reviews

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“Nikki’s endearingly heedless with a careless confidence, and her tenacity may earn respect.”
Michelle Gagnon
“SHADE ME is a wild ride, illuminating the gritty side of Los Angeles and the beautiful people who populate it. Fans of Veronica Mars will fall in love with Nikki Kill.”
Booklist
Praise for DARE YOU: “Brown’s series is a must-have for older teens and as a crossover title for mystery and thriller fans seeking a young, feisty protagonist. The satisfying but open conclusion begs for more Nikki Kill adventures.”
Kirkus Reviews
2016-10-19
In this sequel to Shade Me (2016), synesthete Nikki Kill continues her search for the murderer of Peyton Hollis and for answers that can explain her own past.Nikki sees colors signifying emotions. Peyton, who turned out to be her long-estranged half sister, also had synesthesia and left color clues that she apparently believed Nikki could follow. The villains of the first book, the Hollises, have escaped to Dubai, and their dangerous daughter Luna is in juvenile detention—or so Nikki thinks. Now the white teen learns that she has become a suspect in Peyton's murder. That intended suspense point doesn't really work, as early on the assistant DA reveals that she agrees that Nikki probably is being framed. However, there's plenty more to hold readers' attention as Nikki and her sidekick, Detective Chris Martinez, the appealing and successful young Latino policeman she met previously, get themselves into danger as they continue to investigate. Hints (some in the form of synesthetic purple special effects) that a romance might develop between Nikki and Chris abound throughout the book. Brown keeps Nikki's chip firmly on her shoulder, but her protagonist is more willing in this installment to work with Chris rather than get in trouble independently. It's good that Nikki's developed some self-control, as it will help motivate readers to stick around for Volume 3 and the continuation of the mystery. (Suspense. 12-18)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062324467
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/14/2017
Series:
Shade Me Series , #2
Pages:
480
Sales rank:
112,950
Product dimensions:
5.70(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.50(d)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Jennifer Brown is the author of the young adult novels Shade Me, Bitter EndPerfect Escape, Thousand Words, and Torn Away. Her debut young adult novel, Hate List, was chosen as an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, a VOYA Perfect Ten, and a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year. She lives in the Kansas City, Missouri, area with her husband and children. You can visit Jennifer online at www.jenniferbrownya.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dare You 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Sarah_UK1 7 days ago
(I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) This was a YA mystery story about a girl with synaesthesia. Nikki was an okay character, but I didn’t find myself really caring all that much about her unfortunately. The storyline in this was okay, but I did find that I got bored really quickly. Maybe I just wasn’t in the right mood for this one, but the storyline didn’t really hold my interest well at all. We had Nikki investigating when had happened to Peyton, and also finding out more about her mother, and we had a bit of romance happening too, but none of it really interested me. The ending to this was okay, but I was pleased that it was over to be honest. 6 out of 10