Dark Beauty

Dark Beauty

4.4 5
by Taryn Browning
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For fifteen-year-old Seeker, Isabelle Crowe, ridding the Houston streets of the undead is an inherited duty, passed down from her Cherokee ancestors. During her first night without her mentor, she encounters Abram, a more experienced Seeker from Chicago looking to avenge his cousin's death. Isabelle quickly learns she must work with Abram to protect her city. With one

Overview

For fifteen-year-old Seeker, Isabelle Crowe, ridding the Houston streets of the undead is an inherited duty, passed down from her Cherokee ancestors. During her first night without her mentor, she encounters Abram, a more experienced Seeker from Chicago looking to avenge his cousin's death. Isabelle quickly learns she must work with Abram to protect her city. With one Seeker already dead, Isabelle's love of the hunt becomes a fight to survive.

Prequel to Dark Seeker novel.

Praise for DARK BEAUTY...

"YA fans of fresh, edgy urban fantasy are going to love Dark Beauty. Taryn Browning is a rising star. This is one author you'll want to keep your eye on as she shoots straight to the top of the charts!" —Kari Lee Townsend, National Best Selling Author of The Samantha Granger Experiment & The Fortune Teller Mysteries

“Get ready for a new breed of vampire slayers! Browning has created an intriguing world that promises many interesting surprises to come. A terrific start to a new urban fantasy.” —Artist Arthur, author of The Mystyx Novels

"Fans of Cassandra Clare and Stephenie Meyer are going to love this prequel to Taryn Browning's DARK SEEKER novel!" —Michelle Madow, author of Remembrance

Editorial Reviews

Naughty Book - Brent Taylor
"Taryn Browning is a master writer. DARK BEAUTY is thrilling and beautiful, and follows only one trend: good story-telling."
Electrifying Reviews - Alex Bennett
"Once I started Dark Beauty, I couldn’t stop. From the nonstop action to the well thought out mythology, I found something exciting and new with every page. If Dark Beauty is any indication of what’s to come, I have no doubt that Browning will soon be one of my favorite authors."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940013145795
Publisher:
Taryn Browning
Publication date:
07/28/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
35 KB

Meet the Author

TARYN BROWNING graduated with a BS in Education from Towson University and went on to earn a MS in Reading from Hood College. She lives in Virginia with her husband, two young sons and their dog. When she's not writing, she enjoys reading, spending time with friends and family, dancing, music, movies, and the beach. Visit her at www.tarynbrowning.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Dark Beauty 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Book_Bite_Reviews More than 1 year ago
I really, really loved this prequel. I read it in one sitting in about thirty minutes tops, and was SO upset when it was over. Isabelle's character seems super independent and tough, and not afraid to pick a fight, adding that type of character with a steamy, arrogant guy who purposely pushes her buttons and you've got me hooked. I couldn't get enough of this story and i absolutely cannot wait to read Dark Seeker, which is the official first book in the seeker series. I recommend this prequel to anyone interested in the seeker series, anyone into YA, and anyone who loves vampire slayers.
Read_A_Book More than 1 year ago
From Goodreads: For fifteen-year-old Seeker, Isabelle Crowe, ridding the Houston streets of the undead is an inherited duty, passed down from her Cherokee ancestors. During her first night without her mentor, she encounters Abram, a more experienced Seeker from Chicago looking to avenge his cousin's death. Isabelle quickly learns she must work with Abram to protect her city. With one Seeker already dead, Isabelle's love of the hunt becomes a fight to survive. _________________________________________________ Browning has created a very unique, interesting vampire tale, complete with both traditional vampires, and what Isabelle refers to as the Daychildren, those that can walk in the sunlight and are stronger and faster than anything Isabelle, or her mentor, have ever come up against. I especially enjoyed the fast-paced nature of this short prequel to Dark Seeker, as it ropes the reader in and gives some great background knowledge concerning the Daychildren and the Seekers' never-ending job in ridding the world of such evil. I thought Isabelle and Abram were a very interesting juxtaposition of character, one cool and collected, one angry and looking for a fight. Though their personal backgrounds are only briefly touched upon, Browning peaks the readers interest by alluding to the special makeup of the Seekers, one in which they continually recycle their ages, between 15-18, and must move to different cities every four years as to not be noticed. While the reader isn't given much more information concerning the age changes or how the Seekers originally came to be, enough is given to whet the reader's appetite, especially through the many action scenes in which Isabelle and Abram work together to rid their city of vampires. I am looking forward to continuing the series with the first book, Dark Seeker, which recently released on September 27th, especially as it introduces new characters, and hopefully re-introduces Isabelle and Abram. Four stars.
ParaBooks More than 1 year ago
I've been a longtime fan of the short story. It's such a great way to be entertained when you don't have time to devote to a full-length book. Some shorts can be too short, and not give you enough of the characters or even have a clear, thought out plot. I tend to like more action and romance when reading, and I was really impressed with Dark Beauty. It had it all, and didn't feel as if I was reading a short, but it wrapped everything up into a tight package by the end. Isabelle was a completely developed character. I got a sense of her personality and past right away, and I related to her. Abram, yes please! Loved him. He's what I want in a cocky guy. Strong, smart, and he knows it, but his feelings for Isabelle, who he calls Dark Beauty, are so endearing. I love when the macho guy falls for the girl and she's the one to make his gentler side show through. A perfect romance building between these two and I want more. I can't tell you how hard it is to work a full plot into a short story. It's a painful process. But Browning masters it. She's created a world full of mythology and well-developed characters. And I thought her take on a popular paranormal creature was fresh and just plain out cool. I'll definitely be on the lookout for more of her stuff. This is a short, action-packed read, great to get lost in for the afternoon. Can't wait for more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dark Beauty is an action-packed story, featuring a strong and sarcastic main character, and an attractive male protagonist. My favorite part of the story was undoubtedly the chemistry between Isabelle and Abram. Abram appears to be a bit of a player, and Isabelle just wants to be far, far away from him. She is not going to get what she wants though, which is for the best because watching these two fall in love will be a great treat for readers. Dark Beauty is the prequel to Dark Seeker, and judging by the prequel, it will certainly be an action-packed story. If you are looking for romance, action, vampires, and a little bit of mystery this is a great story to check out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have no idea if this book is good or not but my name is taryn too!